Sonic CD iOS

Sonic CD Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic CD bridges the gap between his oldest adventures and his new digital exploits.
Stream On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    If you're a fan of Sonic games and you haven't finished Sonic CD you owe it to yourself to check out this title - scratch that... if you're a fan of platformers, this remastered version is something you need to own.
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    All told, Sonic CD was a masterpiece long before it appeared on the App Store. This wonderful mobile version only helps solidify its standing as one of the greatest video games of all time.
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    Sonic CD is a terrific port of a great, under-appreciated Sonic game.
  4. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Well bad news for a-holes, but good news for Sonic fans: Sonic CD is on iOS, lovingly recrafted, and you can all enjoy the hell out of it.
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    90
    Featuring your favorite characters, retro visuals, and lightning fast speeds, Sonic CD is a particularly well-developed port that easily exceeds our expectations.
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    90
    A faultless conversion of what is arguably Sonic's most accomplished adventure, Sonic CD on the iPhone combines amazing presentation with a surprising degree of depth and playability. This peerless 2D platform escapade is a must for any self-respecting iPhone gamer.
  7. Dec 21, 2011
    65
    Sonic CD was a great game in 1993. Today we can't put two hands in front of our eyes and ignore its flaws. Sega does a great job in mantaining the same old running atmosphere, but are we sure that it can still give to a 2011 user what he wants?

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Sonic CD for iOS is an incredible game. It plays and feels just like the original from 1993, but better. This version was ported by ChristianSonic CD for iOS is an incredible game. It plays and feels just like the original from 1993, but better. This version was ported by Christian Whitehead ("The Taxman"), a long time Sonic fan and game development guru. It retains the classic graphics, with improved effects. The gameplay and controls are also improved, borrowing Sonic 2's speed and spindash. (The original controls are still available as an option for those who prefer them.) The game includes both the US and Japan soundtracks, and has Tails as an unlockable playable character. The achievements are not many, but are a cool addition to the game nonetheless. So are the online Game Center leaderboards. The virtual gamepad is implemented very nicely, and doesn't get in the way even if you're used to playing the game with a joystick. The game can be beaten fairly quickly if you're willing to see only the bad ending, but to get the complete experience, a lot of exploration is involved. I would easily pay $10 for this game, and for the current price, you'd have to be crazy not to get it. Running smoothly at 60FPS at all times, Sonic CD for iOS sets a very high standard for iOS ports. Expand
  2. sdc
    May 23, 2015
    10
    A very unique game that deserves the critical acclaim it got. For starters, the atmosphere is just right, with a pre-apocalyptic setting thatA very unique game that deserves the critical acclaim it got. For starters, the atmosphere is just right, with a pre-apocalyptic setting that really drives in that desperate feeling. The music is catchy as hell, the graphics, while nothing mind-blowing, is still pretty cool, and the gameplay is unique and interesting. Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    The controls are amazing! I don't have to much to say since I did play the sega cd version but this game is great if your bored! Your money isThe controls are amazing! I don't have to much to say since I did play the sega cd version but this game is great if your bored! Your money is worth this game for sure! Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    OK i have played it so hard lately that surely I don't have anything to complain about... it's the best port ever made since those 90sOK i have played it so hard lately that surely I don't have anything to complain about... it's the best port ever made since those 90s old-school Sonic games that I spent so many time playing... BUT i don't know, it's not the same thing playing on the iPad, i miss the real controlpad on platformers, specially quick ones Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    This near perfect game is everything a classic sonic game is. Almost everything about this game is awesome so I'm going to review this game .This near perfect game is everything a classic sonic game is. Almost everything about this game is awesome so I'm going to review this game . Well The main good point is the gameplay, it plays like a generic 2D classic sonic game with good controls all responsive, if your playing this version you will know the controls straight away they are that simple. The graphics are some of the best even though its in 16-bit style and they might even rival grand theft auto ( you never know). Another good point is the music because it is simply some of the best in all classic games I liked the metal sonic rival race music . my only complaints are very minor and they are, the game is way too easy and the bosses are easy as pie. Well overall I say give the game a go if you are a fan of the sonic franchise or not I garantee you will like it but don't expect to be pulling out your hair because this isn't megaman Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    5
    Wow, Fanboy's are us ! I played this the first time around and although it was ok at the time, gaming has moved on, I really dont know whatWow, Fanboy's are us ! I played this the first time around and although it was ok at the time, gaming has moved on, I really dont know what fun people can eek out of this other than thinking "my god I am glad we are not in the 90's aymore". It's Sonic and it still has the same problems that Sonic always had, no real flow to it, unless you are one of the below reviewers and have devoted your life to small spiky blue things, then chances are you will spend most of your time losing your rings and getting frustrated at which path to take. And this one I would say is worse than the others, half the time you don't know where you are supposed to be going, let alone having to deal with the sometimes annoying controls.

    Good for a bit of retro fun, but I certainly wouldn't give it anywhere near 10 out of 10 in the year 2012, I have given it a 5 and 4 of them are because it is nice to see again. The 1 is for the gameplay.
    Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011 Image
    Published: December 20, 2011
    Looking for something to do with your iOS device over the holidays? We recap the best-reviewed iPhone and iPad games of the year.