Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: •• SPECIAL INTRODUCTORY OFFER! •• Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing is $1.99USD/£1.19GBP for the next two days only!! On June 25th the offer ends and the price returns to $4.99USD/£2.99GBP. It’s our way of saying “thank you” to our fans!•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• Your favorite SEGA characters come together to battle it out in an adrenaline-fueled race to the finish line!•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• The world’s fastest hedgehog, Sonic, and the SEGA All-Stars are zooming on to your iPhone and iPad for the ultimate party racing showdown. Race as your favorite character across 15 white-knuckle courses in a frantic race to the finish line. Stay ahead of the pack by dodging traps, firing missiles and, if all else fails, wreaking havoc with your All-Star moves! Whether racing on your own, or battling it out with friends, anything can happen in this crazy competition where winning is only part of the fun!MEET THE ALL-STARSRace to the finish as one of 10 iconic SEGA characters and take to the track by car, monster truck, bike, plane and even a banana! Each vehicle has unique handling characteristics, and each character’s All-Star move will speed you to victory!START YOUR ENGINESRev up your skills with 25 missions then outrun the competition in three Grand Prix Cups. Not satisfied yet? Hand out a glove slap and demand satisfaction in the dueling Battle Mode!TWO'S COMPANY, BUT FOUR'S A PARTYChallenge a friend over local Bluetooth or up to three friends online. Party like the All-Star that you are!THE VICTORY LAPNow with integrated Game Center and Open Feint. Measure up and climb the ranks to be number one.•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• Check out these other great SEGA titles on iOS!-Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I-Sonic the Hedgehog 1 & 2-Super Monkey Ball 1 & 2-ChuChu Rocket!-Streets of Rage 1, 2, and 3-Golden Axe 1, 2, and 3 Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    100
    An exhaustive and, more importantly, finely balanced release, Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing offers up a watershed moment for karting on iPhone.
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    100
    It would be a disservice to call this a port or cash-in. Sega has proven that they're serious about making top-quality iOS games instead of just emulating relics. Plus, you can get Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing for a measly $1.99, making it one of the best deals on the App Store.
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    100
    It's an outstanding experience regardless of which control scheme (tilt, virtual slider) you use. Kudos to Sega for releasing such an excellent port that instantly became the best kart racer on the App Store.
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    90
    With smooth controls, impressive visuals, a huge variety of race modes to choose from, a good number of characters and tracks to unlock, and challenging AI in later levels, Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing provides the best kart racing experience on the App Store.
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    90
    Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing has all the best qualities that Mario Kart initiated years ago and features controls tailored to the portable iOS devices. As such, this is certainly one of the best iDevice racers you'll play this year.
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    80
    Sonic And Sega All-Stars Racing is the most fun karting game on iOS, and an update taking care of those online hiccups can only make it more essential.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    65
    A good looking portable kart racer that is fun in short bursts, but is ultimately hampered by its awkward control methods and lack of true creativity within the genre.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    this is a great game i am not playing alot on the i phone but my brother very like that he playes all the time and the multi player is great i dont now about the price but ts worth it Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    This game is really cool. fully console-level gaming on my ipad. i bought it this morning after reading a review and ended up playing it for like 5 hours. I had to stop using the touch screen control scheme because my thumb got raw. full on multiplayer racing tastyness. my only complaint is that you cant play as Shadow! (yet?) Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Fantastic conversion of a fantastic kart racer! A must buy! Thanks Sega and Thanks Sumo for treating this with the respect it deserves. I've a feeling this is going to be my most played app for a while.... Collapse
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    5
    So let me get this straight, this game got a composite score of '75' when reviewed for the '360, but now gets an '89' from the IOS reviewers?
    Something tells me the professional review Sphincters have been drinking the Apple toilet water they're being fed from Jobs.
    These Apple reviews are disgraceful.
    Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2012
    0
    I don't want to criticize the iOS version of Allstars Racing too much, but when you think about it, the game becomes a nuisance half the time. Glitches are hard to avoid when playing causing strange problems that annoy. The character range is too short. Why couldn't they add in the other characters like Ulala or even Amy Rose? The controls aren't bad, but the brake button is frustrating. Items aren't very varied. The tracks are brilliant and are unique and fun. Overall, it's a generally good port, not worthy enough to spend your cash on, but since it's free for a limited time, you might want to check it out. Expand

See all 6 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month

    iPhone/iPad Games Guide: What to Buy This Month Image
    Published: July 5, 2011
    Our roundup of the best iOS games released in June includes an action-puzzle title starring a jiggly pudding, and a port of "Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing."