Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    75
    Whether plowing through breakable walls, spinning along a corkscrew tunnel, or frantically running toward the finish line after grabbing Sonic's trademark power-up (his running shoes), Sonic the Hedgehog 2 is all but a non-stop thrill-ride.
  2. Feb 21, 2011
    75
    Sonic the Hedgehog 2 is a direct port of the Genesis classic and nothing more. Its controls, difficulty, and slight bugginess, however, will turn some people away.
  3. Feb 21, 2011
    70
    Yes, I do hate inconsistent framerates, but the original gameplay still shines though.
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    60
    With performance and control issues, Sonic The Hedgehog 2 is a sweet classic turned sour.
  5. Feb 21, 2011
    60
    If you have a iPhone 3G of previous device, and haven't played Sonic 2 before, don't let this be your first experience with the game.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    60
    Despite everything that made Sonic 2 the top selling game for the SEGA Genesis being left in this iPhone port, it just can't stack up to the original 20 year old console system that defined a generation of gamers.
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    55
    Sonic the Hedgehog 2 is a wonderful gameā€¦ on other platforms. The iPhone edition suffers due to imprecise controls (partially out of SEGA's hands) that make it difficult to truly appreciate what an achievement Sonic 2 was on the Genesis.
  8. Feb 21, 2011
    55
    At best, it's an alright game, but everything good about it was good in 1992. The iPhone itself has added nothing, and you could get five better games on iTunes for the cost of one mediocre Genesis port.
  9. Feb 21, 2011
    20
    Sadly, Sonic the Hedgehog 2 has little to no redeeming value. Considering the cost, you should get your retro fix elsewhere.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    This game is fun BUT i need to see all the screen and use a Real controller. i have the Genesis version (real, not "genisis collection" or anything) its so much easier that having a small screen a small pad and no contoller. Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    There's no words to describe the pure joy that I felt coming home to see that Christian Whitehead had finished with the remastered version of Sonic the Hedgehog 2. No longer is this port buggy, full of frame rate issues, or poor audio quality, but now, it's at the top of it's game.

    This was the first video game I ever played as a child, when my cousin thought I would enjoy it. She was right. Sonic the Hedgehog 2 is my favorite in the Sonic franchise, and it maybe just my childhood nostalgia speaking, but it truly is an excellent game for anyone to play.

    This game introduces us to Tails, Sonic's new sidekick. They run through a vast number of worlds trying to take down Robotnik from taking all their animal friends. They blaze through all sorts of environments that are full of beautiful colors and deadly traps to stop him.

    What really sets the latest iOS update apart from the other ports and the original is that you now have more choice of how you want to play it. You can either choose to use a save state, or go the classic route and use no save state. Then, you can choose if you want to play as just Sonic, just Tails, Sonic and Tails, or even Knuckles. The world zooms by at 60 FPS, and the widescreen view allows for more of the action to be in view, helping you avoid fatal mistakes in your platforming. The special stages are much easier on the eye being much more polished, making rings and traps easier to see coming: a very welcome improvement.

    There's also a time attack mode added for each stage and there's even a challenging boss attack mode. Perhaps the biggest addition in the latest remastered Sonic game is the Hidden Palace Zone. It's great to see scraped levels making a comeback, and hopefully, this trend will continue. They've even added the multiplayer parts of the game into an online experience. You can play with random people or with friends.

    Overall, words cannot express my appreciation to Christian Whitehead for making this buggy port into something much more than even the original.
    Full Review »