Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    80
    Sonic 4 Episode 1 is a strange combination of new and old, some of it works and some doesn't but as a package it still comes together as a more than decent Sonic game that will delight both old fans and newcomers.
  2. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    The only negative you'll run into with Episode 1 is how quickly it's over. You'll finish up with the four worlds and the bonus stages in about 2-3 hours time, if that. However, there's replay value galore.
  3. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Visually, the game stands apart from its predecessors with sharp and colorful graphics that look phenomenal in high definition. Sega did excellent work bringing each stage to life, making them unique without tarnishing Sonic's legacy. It's a pure joy to watch.
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    I have had a blast with Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1, and I really want to play the next episode right away.
  5. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Sonic The Hedgehog 4 is the sequel you always dreamed of - only a bit shorter; this may put off some as it is a flagrant tease, but if Episode I is any indicator the whole ride is going to be an amazing one.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    75
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I is a huge improvement over the iPhone ports of the original games. The action is still fun and frantic, especially when Sonic is catapulting through hellzapoppin stages at breakneck speeds.
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    75
    The first episode of Sega's Sonic the Hedgehog 4 is entertaining, but doesn't match the hype.
  8. Feb 21, 2011
    70
    Filled with as many fun moments as mediocre ones, Sonic The Hedgehog 4, Episode 1 is a good start to the revival of the series.
  9. Feb 21, 2011
    70
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a mixed bag, with plenty of good things soured by a sprinkling of bad. While the majority of the game is enjoyable, there are certain aspects that simply should not have been allowed to enter the final product.
  10. Feb 21, 2011
    70
    I myself am disappointed and frustrated with Sonic 4 at times, but there are more rays of light here for the series than any other game in the franchise has shown in the past decade.
  11. Feb 21, 2011
    67
    Even if the game boasts a 4 in its title, SEGA and Dimps have chosen the easiest path taking the levels from the original Sonic The Hedgehog and adding almost nothing to its formula. Moreover, Sonic 4 suffers from a surprising lack of style and personality, a dull soundtrack and some technical issues, while the frame rate slows down even on an iPhone 4. Hopefully, the lack of Retina Display support, achievements and leaderboards will be fixed with the next update of the game.
  12. 60
    This is much better than the usual emulator crap that Sega throws at the iOS audience. It is still not at the top of iOS gaming due to touch controls that arenĀ“t always as good as the competition. Lots of colours, good sense of speed and a fun albeit rather short game. Well worth a buy if it goes on sale.
  13. Feb 21, 2011
    40
    Maybe it's not the developers' fault that this just isn't much fun. Perhaps the formula for a Sonic game simply no longer holds up in the 21st century.
  14. Feb 21, 2011
    25
    All of this is compounded by the too-close camera, made even worse on the iPhone's small screen.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I paid 10 dollars for it when it released and it was all worth it. The game plays really well, except with special stages that become very annoying because it uses tilting controls. But it never gets old for me to play it, just wished it was more longer. Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    6
    It was great when SEGA tried bring Sonic back to a more classic style. I don't even care so much that the homing attack made it into the classic style of gameplay. The main things that upset me are the physics that feel slightly off and how infuriatingly difficult the final boss was. I think I've laid down over 100 lives on that annoying thing.

    The level design as a whole isn't entirely satisfying. They aren't bad, but neither do they compare to the classics. Although zones are long, there's usually just one strict path to be taken, and there's not much replay value as a result.

    SEGA could've done better than this, and this game is all in all, a letdown. There are good moments, but none will ever compare to the classics.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Im giving at a 9 as the fact it is a mobile game. Sheer brilliance for a mobile game! Its basically console Sonic made easy on the phone and much better than the console versions itself. Full Review »