Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
Stream On
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    80
    Sonic 4 Episode 1 is a strange combination of new and old, some of it works and some doesn't but as a package it still comes together as a more than decent Sonic game that will delight both old fans and newcomers.
  2. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Sonic The Hedgehog 4 is the sequel you always dreamed of - only a bit shorter; this may put off some as it is a flagrant tease, but if Episode I is any indicator the whole ride is going to be an amazing one.
  3. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    The only negative you'll run into with Episode 1 is how quickly it's over. You'll finish up with the four worlds and the bonus stages in about 2-3 hours time, if that. However, there's replay value galore.
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Visually, the game stands apart from its predecessors with sharp and colorful graphics that look phenomenal in high definition. Sega did excellent work bringing each stage to life, making them unique without tarnishing Sonic's legacy. It's a pure joy to watch.
  5. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    I have had a blast with Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1, and I really want to play the next episode right away.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    75
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I is a huge improvement over the iPhone ports of the original games. The action is still fun and frantic, especially when Sonic is catapulting through hellzapoppin stages at breakneck speeds.
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    75
    The first episode of Sega's Sonic the Hedgehog 4 is entertaining, but doesn't match the hype.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I paid 10 dollars for it when it released and it was all worth it. The game plays really well, except with special stages that become veryI paid 10 dollars for it when it released and it was all worth it. The game plays really well, except with special stages that become very annoying because it uses tilting controls. But it never gets old for me to play it, just wished it was more longer. Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2015
    10
    Sonic the Hedgehog has had it rough, but this is the first TRULY great Sonic game. This is something I feel is what the classics had, and itSonic the Hedgehog has had it rough, but this is the first TRULY great Sonic game. This is something I feel is what the classics had, and it overall felt like they finally took notes. Sonic Team, the template Sonic game formula, and Dimps, the contemporary formula founders, merge to make a gem of a game that tells shows the tale of Sonic's final clash for the Islands before universal domination. Well done, Sega. Welldone. Full Review »
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    6
    It was great when SEGA tried bring Sonic back to a more classic style. I don't even care so much that the homing attack made it into theIt was great when SEGA tried bring Sonic back to a more classic style. I don't even care so much that the homing attack made it into the classic style of gameplay. The main things that upset me are the physics that feel slightly off and how infuriatingly difficult the final boss was. I think I've laid down over 100 lives on that annoying thing.

    The level design as a whole isn't entirely satisfying. They aren't bad, but neither do they compare to the classics. Although zones are long, there's usually just one strict path to be taken, and there's not much replay value as a result.

    SEGA could've done better than this, and this game is all in all, a letdown. There are good moments, but none will ever compare to the classics.
    Full Review »