Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. May 17, 2012
    80
    Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode II isn't quite the blue hero we know him to be, but it's a step in the right direction and a decent platformer for fans of the series and those after a slick platformer.
  2. May 17, 2012
    80
    I wanted to love this game from the bottom of my heart, I was ready to love it like I was a kid again, but the insistence on cheap challenges leaves me just short of unequivocally loving this.
  3. May 17, 2012
    80
    If you're a Sonic fan that can deal with the differences from Sonic's '90s greatness, or if you just like fun platformers in general, Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode II has a lot to offer and is a worthy entry in this new era of classically-inspired Sonic games.
  4. May 17, 2012
    75
    Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode II is a good game hampered by some clunky controls.
  5. May 21, 2012
    70
    One of my biggest gripes is that it takes a little too long for Sonic to get up to full sprint from stationary, so you can see that the simplicity of fastfastfastfastfast makes me happy. And without meaning to be rude dear reader, who are you to judge my happiness? I'm off to enjoy some more speed with Sonic and Tails. Interpret that how you will.
  6. May 21, 2012
    60
    The online multiplayer co-op may have been fun, but try as we did for over 20 minutes, we simply couldn't find a game at all.
  7. May 17, 2012
    60
    Episode 2 disappoints overall, simply because it should have been better than it is. Sega put some good ideas on the table, but the bothersome water segments, tag team maneuvers and uninspired level design left us wanting a lot more. Hardcore Sonic fans, we imagine, will still gobble it up.
  8. May 17, 2012
    50
    While a generation of gamers dreams of better days, Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode II is an unpleasant reminder of how far the series has fallen since its glory days.
  9. May 28, 2012
    40
    There's no doubt that you'll find a lot of praise for Episode II out there, since it addresses the physics issues with the first episode so well, but games™ can't honestly recommend a game so under-developed on quality controls alone.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 18, 2012
    8
    There are undeniably some flaws, but Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II isn't a game I regret purchasing. Having read a few less-than-flattering reviews beforehand though, it's a game I almost avoided, despite my excitement leading up to the release; I took a risk and downloaded the game anyway despite those poor reviews and I'm glad that I did. Some of the tunes are in fact pretty catchy, especially that of the Oil Refinery levels, though I have to agree with the general consensus of the boss battle theme being downright awful. Animation is slick and there are a few moments of brilliance sprinkled throughout the adventure. It saddens me that there likely won't be an Episode III due to the mediocre reviews that this game is getting, but I look forward to revisiting Episode II from time to time. MY GRADE: 8/10! Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    In my opinion, this is a much more solid game than the first episode. Thankfully, the physics are better and simply running around is more fluid. It's also nice to see the game get the retina display that the first episode did not get.

    Overall, the level design of this game is much better than the first episode and also present more of a challenge. Back from Sonic Advance 3 is the concept of tag action. You can use Tails to help you fly to higher locations or do a massive spin dash that is great to use, but will more often than not, lead you to your death. There was one ice level that was based off the the double spin dash though that is particularly frustrating. Whoever thought that level would be great fun was horribly wrong.

    Anyway, special stages are made more closely to Sonic the Hedgehog 2, but as things have come a long way graphically, the special stages are wider, which means you don't have to worry about what's around the corner anymore. Woohoo.

    Then there's the boss battles. They look great, and they're huge. They play awfully. There was not a single enjoyable boss battle. Often, strategies involve using tag action in obscure ways. Considering how unwieldy the double spin dash is and how vulnerable flying around is, you're going to lose your rings again and again until you die. The timing of things is very minute as well. You often have a very small window of opportunity and the lack of precision with tag action becomes very apparent here.

    All in all, much better than the first episode. However, this game is heavily weighed down by imprecise tag action maneuvers combined with awful boss battles.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    6
    I don't understand by any stretch of the imagination how this got lower than episode one. This had MUCH better graphics and level design. The music still sucked but im much more pleased with this rather than episode one. the special stage is also much better. Is it worth $4.99? No but it is something to play on those rainy days. Full Review »