Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Sonic 4 Saga continues in Episode II with the return of a beloved side kick and fan-favorite villains!Following the events of Episode I, Metal Sonic has returned to form a formidable alliance with Dr. Eggman! To face this new evil, Sonic will have to call upon an old friend to help him save the day! Now joined by Tails, race across four brand new Zones and take down fearsome new badniks with deadly combination moves in order to put an end to this dastardly duo’s plans! New and ImprovedEpisode II features an all-new engine; bringing you gameplay with updated physics and Zones in stunning Retina Display.Collaborative PlayTeam up with a friend via Bluetooth and take control of Sonic and Tails as they battle against Dr. Eggman and Metal Sonic!Tailored for iOSEpisode II features Gamecenter, accelerometer support, and is universal! Buy once and play across all your iOS devices with enabled Cloud Saves!Lock-on with Episode MetalUsers who own both Episodes I & II will unlock an exclusive scenario featuring Metal Sonic! Explore four Acts across four reworked Zones from Episode I and experience the story of Metal Sonic's revival after his defeat in Sonic CD!" Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. May 17, 2012
    80
    If you're a Sonic fan that can deal with the differences from Sonic's '90s greatness, or if you just like fun platformers in general, Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode II has a lot to offer and is a worthy entry in this new era of classically-inspired Sonic games.
  2. May 17, 2012
    80
    I wanted to love this game from the bottom of my heart, I was ready to love it like I was a kid again, but the insistence on cheap challenges leaves me just short of unequivocally loving this.
  3. May 17, 2012
    80
    Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode II isn't quite the blue hero we know him to be, but it's a step in the right direction and a decent platformer for fans of the series and those after a slick platformer.
  4. May 21, 2012
    70
    One of my biggest gripes is that it takes a little too long for Sonic to get up to full sprint from stationary, so you can see that the simplicity of fastfastfastfastfast makes me happy. And without meaning to be rude dear reader, who are you to judge my happiness? I'm off to enjoy some more speed with Sonic and Tails. Interpret that how you will.
  5. May 21, 2012
    60
    The online multiplayer co-op may have been fun, but try as we did for over 20 minutes, we simply couldn't find a game at all.
  6. May 17, 2012
    60
    Episode 2 disappoints overall, simply because it should have been better than it is. Sega put some good ideas on the table, but the bothersome water segments, tag team maneuvers and uninspired level design left us wanting a lot more. Hardcore Sonic fans, we imagine, will still gobble it up.
  7. May 28, 2012
    40
    There's no doubt that you'll find a lot of praise for Episode II out there, since it addresses the physics issues with the first episode so well, but games™ can't honestly recommend a game so under-developed on quality controls alone.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    Honestly people are so unwilling to give Sonic a chance. This game murders Episode 1, and exceeds in every way that Episode 1 did and didn't. Even though Im a fan Im NOT going to lie, of course the game isn't perfect, for example the music is really high pitched and jingly (sounds like a concoction of bells), and on boss fights there is an insanely amount of rings provided which kills all the difficulty the boss brings(even though you will appreciate this later when you get all the chaos emeralds hence Super Sonic )!! But the game gives you some nice trade-offs, in return you get superb graphics, great platforming, and lots of speed (not as fast as the Classic Sonic from Generations though)! I love this game because it introduces things I've never seen before in the series. It has some slight downfalls that keep it from being great, but it's a solid sequel this time around that I will play over and over, and in my opinion that's the definition of a good game... ;) Collapse
  2. May 18, 2012
    8
    There are undeniably some flaws, but Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II isn't a game I regret purchasing. Having read a few less-than-flattering reviews beforehand though, it's a game I almost avoided, despite my excitement leading up to the release; I took a risk and downloaded the game anyway despite those poor reviews and I'm glad that I did. Some of the tunes are in fact pretty catchy, especially that of the Oil Refinery levels, though I have to agree with the general consensus of the boss battle theme being downright awful. Animation is slick and there are a few moments of brilliance sprinkled throughout the adventure. It saddens me that there likely won't be an Episode III due to the mediocre reviews that this game is getting, but I look forward to revisiting Episode II from time to time. MY GRADE: 8/10! Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    In my opinion, this is a much more solid game than the first episode. Thankfully, the physics are better and simply running around is more fluid. It's also nice to see the game get the retina display that the first episode did not get.

    Overall, the level design of this game is much better than the first episode and also present more of a challenge. Back from Sonic Advance 3 is the concept of tag action. You can use Tails to help you fly to higher locations or do a massive spin dash that is great to use, but will more often than not, lead you to your death. There was one ice level that was based off the the double spin dash though that is particularly frustrating. Whoever thought that level would be great fun was horribly wrong.

    Anyway, special stages are made more closely to Sonic the Hedgehog 2, but as things have come a long way graphically, the special stages are wider, which means you don't have to worry about what's around the corner anymore. Woohoo.

    Then there's the boss battles. They look great, and they're huge. They play awfully. There was not a single enjoyable boss battle. Often, strategies involve using tag action in obscure ways. Considering how unwieldy the double spin dash is and how vulnerable flying around is, you're going to lose your rings again and again until you die. The timing of things is very minute as well. You often have a very small window of opportunity and the lack of precision with tag action becomes very apparent here.

    All in all, much better than the first episode. However, this game is heavily weighed down by imprecise tag action maneuvers combined with awful boss battles.
    Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    6
    I don't understand by any stretch of the imagination how this got lower than episode one. This had MUCH better graphics and level design. The music still sucked but im much more pleased with this rather than episode one. the special stage is also much better. Is it worth $4.99? No but it is something to play on those rainy days. Expand