Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    85
    A noteworthy, yet very expensive game. Its controls are well implemented and the combat is fluid and lag free. Visually spectacular, the only thing we miss is a multiplayer mode that we hope to be included in a future update.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    If you're a fan of the series or of fighting games in general and can live with the lack of Multiplayer for now, then SoulCalibur is still worth the asking price. If Namco Bandai add Multiplayer, expect the score to shoot up to 10.
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    80
    This is currently the best fighting game I have played on iOS by some margin, the graphics really are very good and the control response is fine, but there is one serious issue around SoulCalibur for iOS, and that is its price.
  4. 80
    The lack of any sort of multiplayer is mindboggling, but otherwise this is a wonderful handheld port of one of the best fighting games of all time.
  5. Jan 21, 2012
    80
    While not necessarily as flashy as more recent releases in the fighting genre, SoulCalibur remains a compelling and incredibly varied 3D fighting title despite its age and usual platform-specific concerns (controls).
  6. Jan 21, 2012
    80
    The virtual controls, meanwhile, are much better than we expected.
  7. Jan 21, 2012
    80
    If you can deal with its shortcomings, SoulCalibur on iOS is actually an excellent port. It looks great, runs smoothly, controls as well as a fighting game can without buttons, and offers a decent amount of single player content to play through.
  8. Mar 14, 2012
    79
    Stands up well on iPhone today bar a few inevitable control issues. [Apr 2012, p.90]
  9. Jan 30, 2012
    75
    Soul Calibur once again provides a real first-class gaming experience, with good touch screen controls. Unfortunatly it lacks multiplayer options.
  10. Jan 26, 2012
    75
    Soul Calibur is a good beat'em-up with great touch controls and graphics. The bad? It only comes with short game modes and without multiplayer.
  11. Jan 21, 2012
    75
    SoulCalibur is one of the best console fighting game conversions we've seen, with excellent graphics and control, but without multiplayer it's a hard sell.
  12. Jan 25, 2012
    73
    Soul Calibur is an excellent beat'em-up, with a solid gameplay, great touch controls and graphics. What a pity it only comes with four short game modes and no multiplayer at all.
  13. Jan 24, 2012
    70
    On the one hand, SOULCALIBUR is a 3D fighting game and has really great graphics, fast action, and a high polygon count. On the other hand, SOULCALIBUR is a 3D fighting game and is a complex game system with complex controls.
  14. Jan 23, 2012
    70
    Soul Calibur is a fantastic fighting game, which is harder to recommend than it should be thanks to a high price tag and the omission of any multiplayer modes.
  15. Jan 25, 2012
    60
    SoulCalibur is a stunning exemple of technical excellency in an iOS game. Unfortunatly, the lack of Story and Multiplayer modes, something that makes a difference between a good and a bad game in that genre, can only be considered with regret.
  16. Jan 24, 2012
    60
    Soul Calibur for iOS looks sleek and plays reasonably well, but too many of the original's best qualities have been jettisoned to justify its high price tag. The absence of multiplayer is particularly disappointing, and the exclusion of Mission Mode is another missed opportunity. This might be one to revisit post DLC, but as it stands there's more bang for buck value to be found elsewhere.
  17. Feb 1, 2012
    57
    I love Soul Calibur. Forever. And Ever. But this version not only unifies all downsides from the XBLA-version but also takes away multiplayer while adding hard to use menus as well as sluggish fight controls.
  18. Jan 23, 2012
    50
    A technically sound conversion of the old Dreamcast fighter, but two of its most important features are absent - leaving little more than an empty shell.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 22, 2013
    9
    Despite its short game modes, this is a great game to play and an instant classic at best. Unlike Capcom's Street Fighter x Tekken and Street Fighter IV Volt... this game has every single character from the Dreamcast version of the game. I love this game and its graphics! The touch screen controls are fantastic and hearing the nostalgic sonudtrack reminds me of the days when I use to play this with my father as a child! The question is....are you willing to cough up $15!? The game only gets a 9/10 because it is missing some modes, weapon master mode and tag team mode! Other than that... a legendary masterpiece to play on the go! Full Review »
  2. Jan 25, 2012
    8
    Soulcalibur makes an immensely welcome return this time on the small screen, a port of my all time fave slice-em-up. When I heard this was on its way, I was eager to see if I felt the same feeling I did back in my nostalgic dreamcast owning days, the answer is no, but tt didn't stop me from getting back into the action and enjoying yet again. It all works great, which is one of the doubts I initially had, the controls are layered out, arcade stick style, wasn't long before I was making sushi with my samurai, the action is fast, yet fluid, and the graphics are stunning. You really get the arcade feel here, their are several modes, arcade mode allows for unlocking more characters, making for a decent roster, and variety. Practice mode for brushing up, time attack, and survival mode, beating off endless waves of enemies. This is the best fighting game on iOS, but the one major problem here, would be a feature that this game should of come packed with....multiplayer, but you can't have it all, and who knows maybe one day, it may arrive. The other major question is the price is it worth it? For a fan like me yes, however it may not appeal to everyone. But I'm happy I finally got the chance to replay a classic one again. Full Review »