Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 6, 2013
    90
    Command your crew of space cadets to explore the unknown in this lovingly crafted sci-fi simulation game.
  2. May 2, 2013
    90
    Star Command ($2.99 , Universal) delivers the total package that creates a can’t miss experience. There’s just so much to appreciate, making it a must buy that you will end up savoring every minute of, while playing at warp factor fun.
  3. May 8, 2013
    80
    If you're looking for a strategy title on the iOS that will keep you on your toes, Star Command should more than suffice.
  4. May 30, 2013
    80
    Star Command is a very unique iOS experience that I hope to see a lot more of in the future. The biggest problem I have with this game compared to FTL is that you aren’t going to see a lot of variety in your play experiences because, unlike FTL, there is a full story here that takes about four hours to run through so you’re pretty much tied to the same path every time you play with very little branching.
  5. May 6, 2013
    70
    Star Command is an addictive sci-fi simulation experience, provided you're willing to stick it out until the second playthrough to get to the real meat of the game.
  6. May 7, 2013
    80
    FTL did the punishingly difficulty space-faring genre better last year, but for that type of experience on the go Star Command is your best bet.
  7. May 7, 2013
    60
    It’s rarely elegant – a horde of zombie cosmonauts exited our ship as quickly as they entered after arriving next to a hull breach – but in battling back from the brink of obliteration there are moments you’ll feel like a surrogate Kirk. Crashes, glitches and repetition break the spell, but when it’s time for some thrilling heroics Star Command proves itself a worthwhile enterprise.
  8. May 23, 2013
    78
    While I can’t help but point out some notable missteps, I also can’t deny Star Command’s irresistibility, and I happily recommend it to fellow sci-fi enthusiasts.
  9. Jun 1, 2013
    75
    Star Command doesn't offer exploration through space or missions on exotic planets, but does provide you with rough confrontations with aggressive space ants, burning hallways, screaming crew members and a tantalizing story. The gameplay often doesn't surpass the manically tapping of pixilated characters on a burning ship and strangely enough that's enough to make you feel like a captain. Engage!
  10. Jun 26, 2013
    77
    This is a smooth and engaging time-eater. [Aug 2013, p.79]
  11. May 10, 2013
    70
    Persevere beyond the obfuscation and awkwardness of the opening act and everything begins to click into place: your finely-tuned vessel becomes a labour of pride, and deliberating how best to distribute tokens rewarded post-conflicts – the in-game currency used to build, staff and upgrade facilities – becomes genuinely involving.
  12. May 6, 2013
    80
    If you’re looking for a simple strategy game that’s funny, frenzied, and dripping with style, you’d have a hard time doing better than Star Command. And besides – if you won’t travel the stars to introduce humanity to a surprisingly hostile galaxy, who will?
  13. May 9, 2013
    67
    Star Command’s intense, frenetic battles are a lot of fun… at first. But sheer repetition and a lack of any real depth drag down the experience. It looks great, sounds great, and for a brief time even plays great, but it runs out of fuel quickly.
  14. May 16, 2013
    53
    Star Command couldn't live up to the expectations it set for itself. The great visual style and sharply written dialogue form the shell of a failed Kickstarter-project. Star Command lacks diversity, the entertaining space battles quickly become repetitive, the artificial intelligence is bad, it isn't well balanced and succumbs to a wealth of bugs.
  15. May 6, 2013
    90
    Star Command's violent romp through the galaxy is equal parts challenging and clever, making it a must-play for sci-fi strategy fans.
  16. May 2, 2013
    80
    It is a genuinely tense game that will leave you with a frozen grin of terror on your face as you desperately try to preserve the last remaining wisps of your hull, while fighting to deliver the final blow yourself. In short, there's nothing else quite like it on the App Store.
  17. May 10, 2013
    65
    A repetitive sequence of identical star battles, usually frustrating and without a strategic method. A fanciful diversion for the Star Trek fan but not the simulation you are looking for.
  18. Jun 13, 2013
    63
    Star Command could've been the most epic iSpace adventure, but unfortunately the game falls short. Real-time is the biggest downer, after an über-boring start, the game generates itself in to an super fast-paced. Style and ambition exceed the use of logic. [June 2013]
  19. May 2, 2013
    70
    While blasting aliens out of the sky can be fun, Star Command lacks the depth of true space sim.
  20. May 13, 2013
    75
    When you get past the disappointment of what Star Command could have been, there is some fun to be had here.
  21. May 2, 2013
    90
    But the core idea, the thrill of pinning a captain's badge to your chest and piloting your own ship through the starry depths, remains intact in the form of an addictive and brilliantly chaotic experience.
  22. May 3, 2013
    80
    You don’t have to be a space fanatic either to enjoy the game, it’s gameplay, wit and ability to be picked it up in minutes heavily outweigh its space setting for the non-believers out there.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 7 out of 11
  1. May 4, 2013
    4
    A triumph of style and ambition over sense, logic and good design. In other words: it’s pretty but I found it painful to play. My quick verdict: don’t bother, and get FTL instead.

    This is what would happen if you took the aims of FTL (command a starship) and rejected all the great design decisions FTL made, and crammed the result into a very pretty façade that features some of the most tedious micro-management of fiddly-to-control characters I’ve played in a while.

    So many poor design decisions:

    - there’s no tutorial that explains how ship weapons are fired, so look forward to spending at least the first couple of battles struggling to get what you’re supposed to do. Clever stuff.

    - crew can only do one job at a time, and in order to switch their skill you have to slooooooowly march them over to the room that matches the skill you want them to have, then sloooooowly march them back to the area that requires attention. When you’re flooded with invaders and need to fight back, enjoy marching your team through the ship just for a change of wardrobe, then back to the invaders. God it’s tedious.

    - rooms that require the production of specific ammo will not just keep making that ammo for you. You have to re-initiate production after each and every unit they produce. If you forget, which it’s incredibly easy to do, you’re stuffed. Why do this?

    - the text style they chose is hideous and really hard to read. Fits the retro-look, but there’s a reason we don’t present screens of text like that any more: it’s horrible on the eyes.

    - and God help anyone attempting to play this on an iPhone. I know plenty of people are doing, but they must have the patience of a saint, or incredibly high tolerance for frustration.

    And that’s before we get onto the endlessly repetitive missions (go to a planet, sit through the screens of text, enter battle. Every time. No variation), and the fact that it’s perfectly possible to just send all your crew into one room, ignore ALL the damage your ship is taking, even the hull breaches, and wait it out until you grind the enemy shields down eventually.

    But hey, it LOOKS nice…

    In my personal opinion, despite lovely(ish) presentation and a whole heap of atmosphere, it eschews sense and logic to produce a game that just throws one frustration after another at you to draw out the play-time. I’ve no issue with hard games in which dying and starting again is all part of the appeal. That’s why I love FTL.

    But this is just a mess of frustrations and after a couple of games, neither of which were ever much fun, I have no desire to play any more and an overwhelming urge to fire up FTL and run a starship with proper crew who don’t have to change their jersey just to fire a phaser.

    Go get FTL for your PC or Mac, and don’t waste £2 on Star Command.
    Full Review »
  2. May 9, 2013
    0
    I don't know how they've cowed all the developers in to giving them favorable reviews. I just bought the game and have been playing it and can tell you that they are all bogus. Star Command is incomplete, has shoddy controls and I wish there was a return policy for software. A game is not the sum of its screen shots or media outlet reviews, buyer beware.

    I would wait to purchase this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game! Star Command is an absolute gem. It runs flawlessly on my iPad 2, it has ZERO microtransactions (thank lovely 8-Bit style graphics, and a lot of fun. If you've played FTL then you'll already have KIND OF an idea of what the game is like, however, it has less ship component management and more crew management. Its still a very different game to FTL but if you loved FTL (like I did) but wanted some more crew mgmt and more of a Star Trek vibe then give this a shot. Its a bargain at twice its current price! Full Review »