• Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: May 30, 2013
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    KOTOR. iPad. ‘Nuff Said.
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    100
    An excellent conversion of a sublime game. This is the port you're looking for.
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    100
    As I mentioned at the top of this review, if you've never played Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and you're even vaguely interested in the Star Wars universe or just surprisingly deep RPGs in general, this is a game you need on your iPad yesterday. KOTOR is easily among the best Star Wars games, and on my personal list of top RPGs I've played in my life.
  4. May 30, 2013
    100
    The best Star Wars game of all time has made it to the iPad in a faithful port by Aspyr, and Knights of the Old Republic shines just as brightly as it did ten years ago.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    91
    Experience a bona-fide role-playing classic, on the go. An essential iPad purchase. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    90
    It's a true classic, not only one of the best games ever to carry the Star Wars brand but one of the best RPGs of all time. The ability to carry this classic with you and play it wherever and whenever you choose is proof that we are, indeed, living in amazing times.
  7. Jul 4, 2013
    90
    Still one of the best RPGs around. As great as the port is, though, it'll never quite match using a keyboard or controller. [Aug 2013, p.81]
  8. Jun 24, 2013
    90
    It is largely a known entity, and for those of you who are familiar with the game and want to play again should definitely consider this version. Those of you not in the know, I hope that this brief rundown of the game was enough to entice Star Wars and D&D fans. Knights of the Old Republic is a game that any fan of Western RPGs should give a chance.
  9. May 31, 2013
    90
    Despite some control work-arounds and dated visuals, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic remains a truly exceptional RPG and one of the best Star Wars games ever released on any platform.
  10. May 30, 2013
    90
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is one of the best games of the 2000s, and the iPad version is an uncompromisingly faithful port.
  11. Jun 25, 2013
    89
    This remains a game that everyone who loves RPGs should play, and I'm pleased to say that the iPad version is as good a platform as any to experience it.
  12. May 30, 2013
    88
    Though the iPad version's touch controls make movement clumsy, most of its changes are for the better. If you haven’t played it before, or want to experience it again, this is a great way to do it.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This game being released on iPad got me so excited that I went out and bought a iPad. I was not disappointed, the game ran as smooth as it did 10 years ago and maybe even better. Graphics were enhanced and the Controls are just perfect for a iPad Full Review »
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    TWO WORDS! TOUCH SCREEN! No controller support! I hate touch screen games! I hate touch screen games! I hate touch screen games! I hate touch screen games! I hate touch screen games! Full Review »
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    5
    Not a terrible game by any means but not a patch on the PC version. Why? The controls. If you aren't super dexterous with thin, strong fast moving fingers this "slide to move" adaptation rapidly becomes a complete pain the the rear end. The rest of the game might well be great but 20 minutes smashing into objects and failing to get through doors was enough for me to uninstall the game and download the PC version from Steam (which is a lot cheaper than this Ipad version as well..less than 1/2 the price the day I got it) Works flawlessly and you cen enjoy the great game rather than be constantly frustrated by its awkward control system Full Review »