• Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: May 30, 2013
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 58
  2. Negative: 7 out of 58

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    TWO WORDS! TOUCH SCREEN! No controller support! I hate touch screen games! I hate touch screen games! I hate touch screen games! I hate touch screen games! I hate touch screen games!
  2. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This game being released on iPad got me so excited that I went out and bought a iPad. I was not disappointed, the game ran as smooth as it did 10 years ago and maybe even better. Graphics were enhanced and the Controls are just perfect for a iPad
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    5
    Not a terrible game by any means but not a patch on the PC version. Why? The controls. If you aren't super dexterous with thin, strong fast moving fingers this "slide to move" adaptation rapidly becomes a complete pain the the rear end. The rest of the game might well be great but 20 minutes smashing into objects and failing to get through doors was enough for me to uninstall the gameNot a terrible game by any means but not a patch on the PC version. Why? The controls. If you aren't super dexterous with thin, strong fast moving fingers this "slide to move" adaptation rapidly becomes a complete pain the the rear end. The rest of the game might well be great but 20 minutes smashing into objects and failing to get through doors was enough for me to uninstall the game and download the PC version from Steam (which is a lot cheaper than this Ipad version as well..less than 1/2 the price the day I got it) Works flawlessly and you cen enjoy the great game rather than be constantly frustrated by its awkward control system Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    Played the game on my PC years ago and then on my Mac some time ago and when I saw it came to the App Store I just couldn't believe it. And it came seemingly out of nowhere! I was refreshing the store like crazy when I read the news that it was out. Hot stuff!
    Aspyr have done really great job with this port, the game plays like charm. It's even better than it was on the PC or Mac, as the
    Played the game on my PC years ago and then on my Mac some time ago and when I saw it came to the App Store I just couldn't believe it. And it came seemingly out of nowhere! I was refreshing the store like crazy when I read the news that it was out. Hot stuff!
    Aspyr have done really great job with this port, the game plays like charm. It's even better than it was on the PC or Mac, as the interface is so suitable for the touchscreen. Some have said that there were some movement issues, but there are none for me. You just need to swipe to run, and then there is the almighty pause button anyway and it's very accessible. Nothing more to say here, really. A great port, plays like it did ten years ago but on the iPad(!), which is more than awesome for me. Some have complained about the graphics not having been improved, but what for? The game looks great anyway and it's not the graphics that make it the classic it has been from the release day.
    Overall impression: epic story, great gameplay, great replay value, cheap (for what it is), an instant buy!
    Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    After a long long time, my Favorite Star Wars franchise tie in has come on iOS platforms. Star Wars Knights of the old Republic it just gorgeous, stunning story visuals, and good graphics is just some things to watch out for. With a hard 9.99 price is costly but a must buy.
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Played this game a little on Xbox years ago and enjoyed it. This version, although not definitive, is truly excellent. It's a fully fledged RPG which is something the app store lacks. Mobile gaming is on the up and with a release like this it's something of a defining moment. The movement controls are not superb but they are not awful either, very workable. The game has been hailed asPlayed this game a little on Xbox years ago and enjoyed it. This version, although not definitive, is truly excellent. It's a fully fledged RPG which is something the app store lacks. Mobile gaming is on the up and with a release like this it's something of a defining moment. The movement controls are not superb but they are not awful either, very workable. The game has been hailed as a classic many times and rightly so. If you like RPGs, Star Wars or simply very good games then buy it. Collapse
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This is what i have been waiting for, after i couldnt play it on PC cause i got Windows 7 I had hoped of another way and 2 weeks later....BOOM its on IOS, it runs very smoothly on updated phones and ipods, nothing has changed an absolute beauty to have on your phone it takes up 1.8 GB and it goes up to 2.3 GB but its an absolute worthy game to have, I got it when the price was brought downThis is what i have been waiting for, after i couldnt play it on PC cause i got Windows 7 I had hoped of another way and 2 weeks later....BOOM its on IOS, it runs very smoothly on updated phones and ipods, nothing has changed an absolute beauty to have on your phone it takes up 1.8 GB and it goes up to 2.3 GB but its an absolute worthy game to have, I got it when the price was brought down to 4.99 but its still worth getting take me word for it Expand
  8. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    An awesome version of a superb game. The touch interface is ideal for the menu and combat systems. I don't understand why people are having such a bad time with the swipe movement - if you've ever played any games other than angry birds or candy crush saga on your ipad then you should have no problem coping with this. I have not had had any problems at all, no smashing into objects orAn awesome version of a superb game. The touch interface is ideal for the menu and combat systems. I don't understand why people are having such a bad time with the swipe movement - if you've ever played any games other than angry birds or candy crush saga on your ipad then you should have no problem coping with this. I have not had had any problems at all, no smashing into objects or failing to get through doors here. Played this on xbox when it came out and much prefer this version. Expand
  9. Dec 8, 2014
    8
    I've been playing SWTOR for two years now and I still love it. I've also been a SW fan since '77 so being able to play a game in that "mythology" is fantastic.
    Is the game perfect? Hecks no.
    Character creation is lacking. PvP is lacking and not leveled correctly. A level 55 D Bag can attack and kill a level 24. Not right and it's stupid. You should be docked for it. I don't do it with
    I've been playing SWTOR for two years now and I still love it. I've also been a SW fan since '77 so being able to play a game in that "mythology" is fantastic.
    Is the game perfect? Hecks no.
    Character creation is lacking.
    PvP is lacking and not leveled correctly. A level 55 D Bag can attack and kill a level 24. Not right and it's stupid. You should be docked for it. I don't do it with my 55's and neither should anyone else. The argument with these guys is, "don't be on a pvp server then." Again, I like PvP but that's rediculous. If you can take a dude down within 5 levels of you, good for you and you should be awarded.
    Your ship...it would be nice to be able to modify it in some way. Instead they gave you a house on a planet to do that with. Lame.
    Those are really my only complaints but it doesn't keep me from playing the game.
    Expand
  10. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Wow what a game

    Not having played the game in the past, I love Star Wars and instant brought this even though I should not of really, this game is fantastic in almost everyway. It is fantastic, This game was made by those that made Mass Effect and other such gems, this is how you do a port of an Ios game. The characters, the dialogue and everything else. The combat takes a strategy
    Wow what a game

    Not having played the game in the past, I love Star Wars and instant brought this even though I should not of really, this game is fantastic in almost everyway. It is fantastic,

    This game was made by those that made Mass Effect and other such gems, this is how you do a port of an Ios game. The characters, the dialogue and everything else. The combat takes a strategy type of combat where it pauses and you select what abilities you want to use and well you use it, you can be anything you want from a Jedi to a smuggler to a blaster all at once. You can be a good guy or a bad guy and it actually has meaning full consequences. I don't want to spoil anything or write a huge review but this is great
    Pros
    + everything
    + the choices you make actually have consequences
    + the combat
    + the companions are fun and creative

    Cons
    - the controls and camera is annoying at times

    Score 94/100
    Expand
  11. May 3, 2014
    9
    As always KOTOR is an amazing game with an epic story, and now that it's been brought to ios devices it just got much better. It runs great, and though the touch screen controls can be a bit difficult to grasp at first and also a little clumsy to use even once you've gotten the hang of it, it's still great, also the turn based combat system really plays to the touch screens advantage andAs always KOTOR is an amazing game with an epic story, and now that it's been brought to ios devices it just got much better. It runs great, and though the touch screen controls can be a bit difficult to grasp at first and also a little clumsy to use even once you've gotten the hang of it, it's still great, also the turn based combat system really plays to the touch screens advantage and eliminates some of the awkwardness. Expand
  12. May 21, 2014
    10
    This game is scintillating. The touch screen controls take a bit of getting used to but once you do, you get immersed in the full K.O.T.O.R. experience. I am happy to say that the game has not lost any of its freshness and is as exciting as the PC version was when it first appeared. One of the few games I replay from time to time with undiminished joy!
  13. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    Played this game a little on Xbox years ago and enjoyed it. This version, although not definitive, is truly excellent. It's a fully fledged RPG which is something the app store lacks. Mobile gaming is on the up and with a release like this it's something of a defining moment. The movement controls are not superb but they are not awful either, very workable. The game has been hailed asPlayed this game a little on Xbox years ago and enjoyed it. This version, although not definitive, is truly excellent. It's a fully fledged RPG which is something the app store lacks. Mobile gaming is on the up and with a release like this it's something of a defining moment. The movement controls are not superb but they are not awful either, very workable. The game has been hailed as a classic many times and rightly so. If you like RPGs, Star Wars or simply very good games then buy it. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    50
    KOTOR has not aged well. A fact which came as a nasty surprise along with horrible playability. For what it’s worth, the story still stands.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    91
    Experience a bona-fide role-playing classic, on the go. An essential iPad purchase. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    90
    It's a true classic, not only one of the best games ever to carry the Star Wars brand but one of the best RPGs of all time. The ability to carry this classic with you and play it wherever and whenever you choose is proof that we are, indeed, living in amazing times.