• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is four thousand years before the Galactic Empire and hundreds of Jedi Knights have fallen in battle against the ruthless Sith. You are the last hope of the Jedi Order. Can you master the awesome power of the Force on your quest to save the Republic? Or will you fall to the lure of theIt is four thousand years before the Galactic Empire and hundreds of Jedi Knights have fallen in battle against the ruthless Sith. You are the last hope of the Jedi Order. Can you master the awesome power of the Force on your quest to save the Republic? Or will you fall to the lure of the dark side? Hero or villain, savior or conqueror... you alone will determine the destiny of the entire galaxy! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    KOTOR. iPad. ‘Nuff Said.
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    100
    As I mentioned at the top of this review, if you've never played Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and you're even vaguely interested in the Star Wars universe or just surprisingly deep RPGs in general, this is a game you need on your iPad yesterday. KOTOR is easily among the best Star Wars games, and on my personal list of top RPGs I've played in my life.
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    91
    Experience a bona-fide role-playing classic, on the go. An essential iPad purchase. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  4. May 31, 2013
    90
    Despite some control work-arounds and dated visuals, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic remains a truly exceptional RPG and one of the best Star Wars games ever released on any platform.
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    89
    This remains a game that everyone who loves RPGs should play, and I'm pleased to say that the iPad version is as good a platform as any to experience it.
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    85
    An elegant RPG for a more civilized age.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    50
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic ($9.99, iPad) is an exquisite game of the past, but is a mediocre game of the present. The main battle sequences stem from combating the poor touch controls, bland gameplay sequences, and numerous game structure issues. Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is better off not on the iPad, and thus one to skip.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This game being released on iPad got me so excited that I went out and bought a iPad. I was not disappointed, the game ran as smooth as it didThis game being released on iPad got me so excited that I went out and bought a iPad. I was not disappointed, the game ran as smooth as it did 10 years ago and maybe even better. Graphics were enhanced and the Controls are just perfect for a iPad Expand
  2. May 21, 2014
    10
    This game is scintillating. The touch screen controls take a bit of getting used to but once you do, you get immersed in the full K.O.T.O.R.This game is scintillating. The touch screen controls take a bit of getting used to but once you do, you get immersed in the full K.O.T.O.R. experience. I am happy to say that the game has not lost any of its freshness and is as exciting as the PC version was when it first appeared. One of the few games I replay from time to time with undiminished joy! Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Played this game a little on Xbox years ago and enjoyed it. This version, although not definitive, is truly excellent. It's a fully fledgedPlayed this game a little on Xbox years ago and enjoyed it. This version, although not definitive, is truly excellent. It's a fully fledged RPG which is something the app store lacks. Mobile gaming is on the up and with a release like this it's something of a defining moment. The movement controls are not superb but they are not awful either, very workable. The game has been hailed as a classic many times and rightly so. If you like RPGs, Star Wars or simply very good games then buy it. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    Played the game on my PC years ago and then on my Mac some time ago and when I saw it came to the App Store I just couldn't believe it. And itPlayed the game on my PC years ago and then on my Mac some time ago and when I saw it came to the App Store I just couldn't believe it. And it came seemingly out of nowhere! I was refreshing the store like crazy when I read the news that it was out. Hot stuff!
    Aspyr have done really great job with this port, the game plays like charm. It's even better than it was on the PC or Mac, as the interface is so suitable for the touchscreen. Some have said that there were some movement issues, but there are none for me. You just need to swipe to run, and then there is the almighty pause button anyway and it's very accessible. Nothing more to say here, really. A great port, plays like it did ten years ago but on the iPad(!), which is more than awesome for me. Some have complained about the graphics not having been improved, but what for? The game looks great anyway and it's not the graphics that make it the classic it has been from the release day.
    Overall impression: epic story, great gameplay, great replay value, cheap (for what it is), an instant buy!
    Collapse
  5. May 3, 2014
    9
    As always KOTOR is an amazing game with an epic story, and now that it's been brought to ios devices it just got much better. It runs great,As always KOTOR is an amazing game with an epic story, and now that it's been brought to ios devices it just got much better. It runs great, and though the touch screen controls can be a bit difficult to grasp at first and also a little clumsy to use even once you've gotten the hang of it, it's still great, also the turn based combat system really plays to the touch screens advantage and eliminates some of the awkwardness. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    After a long long time, my Favorite Star Wars franchise tie in has come on iOS platforms. Star Wars Knights of the old Republic it justAfter a long long time, my Favorite Star Wars franchise tie in has come on iOS platforms. Star Wars Knights of the old Republic it just gorgeous, stunning story visuals, and good graphics is just some things to watch out for. With a hard 9.99 price is costly but a must buy. Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2013
    5
    Not a terrible game by any means but not a patch on the PC version. Why? The controls. If you aren't super dexterous with thin, strong fastNot a terrible game by any means but not a patch on the PC version. Why? The controls. If you aren't super dexterous with thin, strong fast moving fingers this "slide to move" adaptation rapidly becomes a complete pain the the rear end. The rest of the game might well be great but 20 minutes smashing into objects and failing to get through doors was enough for me to uninstall the game and download the PC version from Steam (which is a lot cheaper than this Ipad version as well..less than 1/2 the price the day I got it) Works flawlessly and you cen enjoy the great game rather than be constantly frustrated by its awkward control system Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for June 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for June 2013 Image
    Published: June 27, 2013
    Is this the month that iOS became a serious gaming platform? Acclaimed ports of "XCOM: Enemy Unknown" and "Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic" top our roundup of June's best iPhone and iPad games.