Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jul 4, 2011
    100
    This is one of the best games of 2011. Never thought I'd be saying that about an iPhone title.
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    100
    The music takes what it already a really good game and helps make it great.
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    100
    Sword & Sworcery is an incredibly unique composition that almost makes you want to analyze it as if it were a movie rather than a video game, which not too many iOS games have ever made me do.
  4. 100
    At its core it could be classified as a point'n'click advenutre, but the combination of wonderful graphics, great sound and a fascinating, gripping, funny and thought-provoking story makes it something much, much more. Sword & Sworcery is an audiovisual journey unlike anything else. Buy it. We need more games like this.
  5. Mar 28, 2011
    100
    A game that takes real chances to stretch the gaming medium without sacrificing the joy of play and discovery that makes the medium great. It's a bold experiment in having the adventure game genre take a meaningful, humorous and fun look at itself. Gaming doesn't need to find its Citizen Kane, but it may have discovered its Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead without even trying.
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    100
    Playing Sword and Sworcery is like watching a spectacularly weird animated indie film, and we want to recognize these kinds of creative leaps on the iOS platform. We recommend picking up Sword and Sworcery for the music and visuals alone, but sometimes the gameplay isn't up to the same "mythopoetic" standards.
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    95
    It's obscure, it's "arty" and it surely is old fashioned. And at the end of the day, Sword and Sorcery is surely a unique experience.
  8. Mar 24, 2011
    95
    A must-have game for your iPad...The unity of sight, sound, and touch is something special, and it's something that makes perfect sense on a device like the iPad. Please make it a hit. Because I wouldn't mind seeing this EP become a full-fledged album.
  9. Apr 29, 2011
    94
    Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery is an astonishing example of art direction, with gorgeous pixel art graphic style combined with one of the most incredible soundtracks in videogames history. The gameplay is probably not on the same quality level, but the final result is absolutely a must buy on any iOS device.
  10. May 5, 2011
    93
    Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP is a masterpiece, an indispensable game for your iPhone/iPad. It's an atypical, exciting action-adventure with a superb soundtrack and incredbile graphics.
  11. Apr 8, 2011
    91
    There's a level of creativity, ambition, and polish here that's unusually high for an iPad game, and even in spite of that, the developers have created a modern artistic game that challenges a lot of ideas about what a game can be while feeling retro at the same time.
  12. May 27, 2011
    90
    This is a unique game, both for visuals, sound and gameplay, although it is a shame it hasn't been localized to more languages.
  13. May 4, 2011
    90
    A point-and-click adventure at its core, Superbrothers seeks to create a meaningful and fulfilling experience in addition to a fun and engaging mobile game. Mission Accomplished!
  14. Apr 28, 2011
    90
    If you can say "interactive avant-garde iPad gaming" with a straight face then you'll want to give Superbrothers: Sword and Sworcery EP a go.
  15. Apr 22, 2011
    90
    The music is amazing in creating an atmosphere for the game, the pixel graphics add a unique artistic level of flair, both simple and complex at the same time, and the experience as a whole is one that every iPad owner should try for themselves.
  16. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    One of the Ipad's best games that offers a unique atmosphere and engaging gameplay.
  17. Apr 8, 2011
    90
    With a beautiful soundtrack, lovely retro-visuals and a perfectly narrated story, Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP is a game you should absolutely own on you iPad. Maybe you'll like it, maybe not, but you can't deny the stunning quality of this act of love to the adventure genre.
  18. Apr 1, 2011
    90
    The experience is just so overwhelmingly great, that it is absolutely worth playing, worth seeing and experiencing for yourself.
  19. Oct 19, 2011
    89
    Has it flaws when it comes to gameplay, but it more than makes up for them with its atmosphere, artistic tricks and some genuinely breathtaking moments. [Sept 2011]
  20. May 3, 2011
    87
    It may be bizarre but its beautiful and anyone looking or willing to trying something different will not be disappointed. Be it game or not, I'm unlikely to forget Superbrothers anytime soon.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    This is the game i was waiting for on the iPad.

    Every time developers released pre-announced iPad games i ended up disappointed, nothing was
    immersive enough, nothing could keep me tapping on the "touchtronic device" for more than 20 minutes, nothing was as good as they described it.

    S:S&S EP really came through for me; like the other times i was watching the movies online and the hype was building up despite some reservations due to previous delusions.
    I couldn't be more wrong, this time everything i was looking for is acknowledged, this game is full of sensations, every scenario, every bit of music, every sentence is full of inspiration and if you can look at it in the right way you can't avoid to stare at the whole thing in awe.

    The gameplay is wonderful as well but it doesn't really matter for me, the story brings you to a point where you just don't care about the "how" but you focus more on the story and everything that's happening around you by moving naturally around, and i think this is a very good achievement for the developer, controlling the game just feels right, nothing is off.

    I was even scared at a certain point, running away from something, thinking how they could have managed it by putting it toghether some pixel and some very well-made music.

    This is the best iPad game to date, and it's gonna take a lot of effort for other developers to move it from the top.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    6
    Interesting concept. The art style, psychology aspect, and rave reviews attracted me to the game. I appreciate the wtf aspect and humor of the game and having to figure out what is going on and how to play. To me it just wasn't that fun to play though. Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2012
    1
    Don't know what happened to my last review. However, let me summarise. This game is terrible and can hardly be called a game. The so called artwork is "nostalgic" yes, I appreciate it would have taken effort to create and that's what lured me, but really the artwork is limited to what you see in the screen grabs it is only repetitive and uninspiring once you get playing. And by playing I mean finishing the game in around an hour. Look at the walkthoughs online if you don't believe me, there really is no content to this game. The puzzles and game play verge on non-existant and are frankly completely unrelated to the plot. Think clicking inanimate items in a specific order on screen in order to solve them. The sound that is being talked up is really very average, like a student put it together with a keyboard and sound board. The high scores here should not be believed. Please don't purchase this game as I have done, I would rate atari 2600 games above this. Full Review »