User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    All told, Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery is a magnificent game. It elevates experience of play far beyond the mundane of it's peers, and at many times moves the player emotionally in entirely unexpecting ways. Though easily billed as an "art game", I think such terms belittle the events of the game. It's not a game of irony that most art games are. Rather it's a moving experience that reveals the vast majority of games to be trite, shallow, and unambitious. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    simply amazing, nostalgic, magnificence. the best ios game yet and possibly one of the best games ever. at the 4 dollar price calling it a steal is an understatement. then there's the incredible music. its basically a pink floyd soundtrack over a tolken inspired landscape with hints of myst and earthbound like charm, go buy this now.
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is by far one the best iPad/iPhone adventure games available on the AppStore. Graphics are simply lovely, controls are good, and the script is just too clever and funny. Looking for a challenging and relaxing experience for your iOS device? Just get this game. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    S:S&S EP is one of those games that requires you to sit down in a dark room, put on a set of headphones, and let yourself become absorbed in it's ambience. In return the game provides you with some of the most clever, beautiful, engaging gameplay you've ever seen. Luckily the game is broken up into 20-30 minute long "acts" complete with curtains closing and sending you back to the home screen. It's a refreshing experience to play an iOS (or any OS) game to tell you straight up to take your time and just enjoy the experience. The best part about it though, is the tone. The story is told in the second person, which provides the game with a refreshingly antiquated feel which itself accentuates the art style.

    I don't think I've chuckled or smiled so much while playing a game in years, a definite must buy.
    Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    This is the game i was waiting for on the iPad.

    Every time developers released pre-announced iPad games i ended up disappointed, nothing was immersive enough, nothing could keep me tapping on the "touchtronic device" for more than 20 minutes, nothing was as good as they described it.

    S:S&S EP really came through for me; like the other times i was watching the movies online and the hype
    was building up despite some reservations due to previous delusions.
    I couldn't be more wrong, this time everything i was looking for is acknowledged, this game is full of sensations, every scenario, every bit of music, every sentence is full of inspiration and if you can look at it in the right way you can't avoid to stare at the whole thing in awe.

    The gameplay is wonderful as well but it doesn't really matter for me, the story brings you to a point where you just don't care about the "how" but you focus more on the story and everything that's happening around you by moving naturally around, and i think this is a very good achievement for the developer, controlling the game just feels right, nothing is off.

    I was even scared at a certain point, running away from something, thinking how they could have managed it by putting it toghether some pixel and some very well-made music.

    This is the best iPad game to date, and it's gonna take a lot of effort for other developers to move it from the top.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    95
    It's obscure, it's "arty" and it surely is old fashioned. And at the end of the day, Sword and Sorcery is surely a unique experience.
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    89
    Has it flaws when it comes to gameplay, but it more than makes up for them with its atmosphere, artistic tricks and some genuinely breathtaking moments. [Sept 2011]
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    100
    This is one of the best games of 2011. Never thought I'd be saying that about an iPhone title.