Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    100
    Swordigo treads the line between slavish homage and love-letter to a genre and style of action-adventure that remains exciting thanks to its almost unstoppable pace that keeps you hooked the entire way.
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    100
    Replay value is very good, as subsequent playthroughs give you the opportunity to explore areas you may have missed previously, allocate XP in different ways, and use alternative weapons and spells from your first attempt.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    100
    Swordigo is a love letter to platforming/adventure games, giving iOS gamers another detailed world of fantasy to explore.
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    So while there are frustrations and a handful of small bugs, they're blips in a solid eight hours of entertainment.
  5. Oct 13, 2012
    89
    Swordigo is by far one of the best platformers seen on iDevices. The controls are sharp and they are coupled with marvelous level design. And the price is down right cheap as hell. [Aug 2012]
  6. May 17, 2012
    82
    Beyond the mediocre graphics, Swordigo's got a lot of content: it's fun, challenging and enjoyable. A very nice action platform with some RPG elements, definitely.
  7. May 30, 2012
    80
    At first glance Swordigo is simple and ugly. But under the surface you'll find a competent and challenging adventure, that reminds you of early Zeldas: A lot of combat, a lot of exploring, the occasional puzzle and a huge world.
  8. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    A likeable tribute to a genre now sadly out of vogue, Swordigo provides a welcome helping of enjoyable action RPG brilliance.
  9. Mar 28, 2012
    80
    Despite its generic nature, Swordigo is an enjoyable game in the spirit of classic console games delivered in a handheld package perfect for long play sessions or quick bite-sized moments.
  10. Mar 28, 2012
    80
    What Swordigo lacks in revolutionary ideas, it more than makes up for that with hours of nostalgic fun.
  11. Mar 23, 2012
    80
    While some aspects did annoy me with the combat and platforming, overall this is an extremely enjoyable action-RPG experience. The classical elements are there but it's not overwhelmingly retro, and it is definitely worth checking out.
  12. Jun 28, 2012
    75
    Swordigo is a prehistoric platformer without a single new idea; a hardcore journey through dark fairytale worlds, and a bow to arcade hits of the 90s.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    It's a good game with clear reference to 16 bit classics. I've got it for free but it's worth a dolar or more. Controls can be a littleIt's a good game with clear reference to 16 bit classics. I've got it for free but it's worth a dolar or more. Controls can be a little problematic but I assume that it's the matter of touch screen instead of the buttons. Either way Swordigo is wort to check out. I give this game 8 but for some reason I can't use the score slider under IPad's safari browser :) Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2012
    9
    This is a great game and easily one of the best on the system. Now, if you did not like the old NES/SNES versions of Metroid and Zelda, thenThis is a great game and easily one of the best on the system. Now, if you did not like the old NES/SNES versions of Metroid and Zelda, then you won't like this game. While not as deep as those two games, Swordigo easily makes up for that with great gameplay. I have had some issues with the controls as they've been unresponsive at times, which have caused some of the enemies in the game to be a bit more difficult than they should be. However your doing yourself a disservice by not playing this game as it's easily one of the best on the iPhone right now. Especially if you could have picked it up for free, like I did a few days ago. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    I usually have quite the short attention span when it comes to iOS games. But, for whatever reason this game has held my attention quite aI usually have quite the short attention span when it comes to iOS games. But, for whatever reason this game has held my attention quite a bit. It's a great little game with excellent controls and a charming style to it. If you enjoy iOS action games with a hint of RP in them, you can't go wrong with Swordigo. Full Review »