Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    While by no means a replacement for the full PC version of Terraria, this pint-sized iteration is an effortless recommendation.
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    This is the full version of Terraria built from the ground up for iOS, if you loved it on PC or consoles, you’ll love it here.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    90
    Few games manage to port from PC to iOS so well as Terraria.
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    Even if you've played it elsewhere before, Terraria on iOS is a must-have for on-the-go exploration, building, and adventure.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    If you like to explore a randomly generated world, mine and harvest everything your eyes can see and build any type of weird structures, Terraria is the right game for you. If you loved the PC version you will love the iOS version too, despite the lack of multiplayer and the size of the map.
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    Terraria has not made the transition to iOS unscathed, but its cocktail of 2D crafting and exploration is still as engrossing as ever.
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    lthough Terraria requires a big investment of time, it'll open up your creative side. The control scheme works great on mobile devices, and the presentation is slick enough to make the game stand out over the competition. If you need a break from Minecraft: Pocket Edition, this should be your next stop.
  8. Oct 20, 2013
    78
    Unwieldy controls and missing multiplayer modes let down an otherwise impressive port. [Dec 2013, p.76]
  9. Sep 2, 2013
    70
    Terraria's mix of creative crafting and endless exploration will keep you rapt for weeks. But a lack of multiplayer and some wonky touchscreen controls let the experience down.
  10. Sep 2, 2013
    70
    The preeminent 2D crafting game comes to mobile at last, but in a world where those inspired by it have already taken root, is it worth the time?
  11. Sep 3, 2013
    60
    For fans who already play and love Terraria on another platform, the iOS port is a decent supplement if you need a fix away from home. But due to control issues and the lack of multiplayer, a supplement for the real thing is all it will be.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    This game is extremely fun, and works better than minecraft pe (minecraft on phone/tablet) If you don't have consoles this is an amazing gameThis game is extremely fun, and works better than minecraft pe (minecraft on phone/tablet) If you don't have consoles this is an amazing game to get a full portable experience. Full Review »
  2. May 29, 2014
    3
    there are a LOT of bad things about this game. first of all, ITS FREAKING BORING, its just so hard to get into. Second of all, the mining,there are a LOT of bad things about this game. first of all, ITS FREAKING BORING, its just so hard to get into. Second of all, the mining, kiiiiiiinda sucks. the cursor doesn't have the fluency and speed of the mouse on a computer. you don't get the same kind of equipment as the PC edition that confuses the hell out of you when you check their stats. Another thing i preferred over the Xbox edition is the crafting, you could craft on the go. this game makes you open the pause button, scroll to the craft screen, find the correct section, and then make the item then you don't even know how many torches, platforms or whatever you made. sorry Re-digit, Terraria is just better for PC. Full Review »
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    Not being familiar at all with the PC version, i can't compare but one thing that got me from the get go, was the fact that there is no realNot being familiar at all with the PC version, i can't compare but one thing that got me from the get go, was the fact that there is no real objective. The tutorial goes through the basics but i mean basics, it doesn't go out of its way at all to explain what to do.

    When it comes to the main game, plenty of choice in the character selection and a fairly reasonable three slots available for characters and created worlds.

    The game is addictive, the first week i had this game i think i logged 80+ hours. In saying that it has declined but the game has that certain sandbox addictiveness that i haven't experienced since Mine-craft.

    Controls work fine for a touch screen and there is the option to use a controller but i have not tested this feature. Graphics work wonderfully and sound and game play definitely wrap this little gem up. It's worth the $3 or whatever it is in the app store. A must for any casual / hardcore gamer.
    Full Review »