Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    While by no means a replacement for the full PC version of Terraria, this pint-sized iteration is an effortless recommendation.
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    This is the full version of Terraria built from the ground up for iOS, if you loved it on PC or consoles, you’ll love it here.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    90
    Few games manage to port from PC to iOS so well as Terraria.
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    Even if you've played it elsewhere before, Terraria on iOS is a must-have for on-the-go exploration, building, and adventure.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    If you like to explore a randomly generated world, mine and harvest everything your eyes can see and build any type of weird structures, Terraria is the right game for you. If you loved the PC version you will love the iOS version too, despite the lack of multiplayer and the size of the map.
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    Terraria has not made the transition to iOS unscathed, but its cocktail of 2D crafting and exploration is still as engrossing as ever.
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    lthough Terraria requires a big investment of time, it'll open up your creative side. The control scheme works great on mobile devices, and the presentation is slick enough to make the game stand out over the competition. If you need a break from Minecraft: Pocket Edition, this should be your next stop.
  8. Oct 20, 2013
    78
    Unwieldy controls and missing multiplayer modes let down an otherwise impressive port. [Dec 2013, p.76]
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Apr 30, 2015
    0
    This port is just about the worst thing in the world. It reeks of cut corners and a general lack of care for making the game seem like thereThis port is just about the worst thing in the world. It reeks of cut corners and a general lack of care for making the game seem like there was effort put in or that it actually wants you to play it. Dozens of items from the PC version are excluded, and replaced with idiotic holiday-themed bosses that constantly clip through blocks and bug out. This is, undoubtedly, the worst possible way to play Terraria. There isn't much thought involved in making that proclamation. Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    I had heard that Terraria was better than Minecraft. TI thought "No way!" But my mind changed right after playing it for the first time!I had heard that Terraria was better than Minecraft. TI thought "No way!" But my mind changed right after playing it for the first time! One of the games main features is the variety of bosses - so far I've defeated 6. Just yesterday I took on and defeated the Wall of Flesh! Some of the cooler bosses: Skeletron Prime, the Goblin Army, the Pirate Army, Eater of Worlds and Duke Fishron! This game is truly amazing! Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2015
    4
    Disclaimer: My experience of Terraria comes from the Android port, which at the time of writing lacks a unique page. Either that or im veryDisclaimer: My experience of Terraria comes from the Android port, which at the time of writing lacks a unique page. Either that or im very short sighted all of a sudden.
    While the PC version of Terraria blew people away and did well to encourage high sales, this port had to cut a lot of content. For quite a long time, even Hardmode wasnt added in, but by now Terraria has recieved it's own 1.2 update. And despite only supporting small worlds, these worlds are full of beautifully pixelated biomes. Theres so much to do, and so much to explore. What could go wrong?
    Answer: This is a phone we're talking about.
    Glitches are frequent, mainly odd graphical ones: I once witnessed a crafting menu comprised entirely of doors. Mannequins are very odd around the leg area, NPCs will say some strange things....speaking of NPCs, why wont the Goblin Tinkerer let me reforge? Thats a VERY important feature! Worlds may also not spawn hardmode ores properly. Very annoying to have to make another world and beat the Wall of Flesh again just to get Adamantite.
    But worst of all are the crashes.
    Only a few minutes of play and the game will either crash, or freeze, leading to another crash. These crashes also delete the last few minutes of progress. I had nearly beaten the Destroyer. CRASH! Destroyer is gone. I got a rare banner. CRASH! No banner for me! I had Finally got a Broken Hero Sword.
    CRASH!
    I nearly bludgeoned both myself and the mobile.
    I can only hope 505 fixes this, but for now, I would recommend you avoid the Android version. On iOS you may have better luck, but either way, don't expect roses.
    Full Review »