User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    A decent port looking very crisp. Everything here's except multiplayer, which is a real shame. However this will always be my last port of call for Terraria play simply due to the usual reason when playing almost all touchscreen games : awkward and difficult controls. Going from my xbox controller to using a touchscreen feels like playing the game with one arm tied behind my back.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    Whilst not quite being able to hold a candle to the origInal due to some serious frame rate issues on earlier devices and moments of clunky control right when you don't want them, this handheld version of one of the best creative games available is still worth the cash, along as your device is current enough to run it.
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    Extremely addicting game, and your imagination is the limit. However, this game is not really one at last, after about 4 days or so of playing you get bored and move on from the game. But other than that, great game.
  4. May 29, 2014
    3
    there are a LOT of bad things about this game. first of all, ITS FREAKING BORING, its just so hard to get into. Second of all, the mining, kiiiiiiinda sucks. the cursor doesn't have the fluency and speed of the mouse on a computer. you don't get the same kind of equipment as the PC edition that confuses the hell out of you when you check their stats. Another thing i preferred over the Xbox edition is the crafting, you could craft on the go. this game makes you open the pause button, scroll to the craft screen, find the correct section, and then make the item then you don't even know how many torches, platforms or whatever you made. sorry Re-digit, Terraria is just better for PC. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    Not being familiar at all with the PC version, i can't compare but one thing that got me from the get go, was the fact that there is no real objective. The tutorial goes through the basics but i mean basics, it doesn't go out of its way at all to explain what to do.

    When it comes to the main game, plenty of choice in the character selection and a fairly reasonable three slots available
    for characters and created worlds.

    The game is addictive, the first week i had this game i think i logged 80+ hours. In saying that it has declined but the game has that certain sandbox addictiveness that i haven't experienced since Mine-craft.

    Controls work fine for a touch screen and there is the option to use a controller but i have not tested this feature. Graphics work wonderfully and sound and game play definitely wrap this little gem up. It's worth the $3 or whatever it is in the app store. A must for any casual / hardcore gamer.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    78
    Unwieldy controls and missing multiplayer modes let down an otherwise impressive port. [Dec 2013, p.76]
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    If you like to explore a randomly generated world, mine and harvest everything your eyes can see and build any type of weird structures, Terraria is the right game for you. If you loved the PC version you will love the iOS version too, despite the lack of multiplayer and the size of the map.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    While by no means a replacement for the full PC version of Terraria, this pint-sized iteration is an effortless recommendation.