Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Terraria, every world is unique -- from the floating islands in the sky to the deepest level of The Underworld. Adventure to the ends of the earth, and defeat villainous bosses along the way. The world is your canvas!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    While by no means a replacement for the full PC version of Terraria, this pint-sized iteration is an effortless recommendation.
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    This is the full version of Terraria built from the ground up for iOS, if you loved it on PC or consoles, you’ll love it here.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    90
    Few games manage to port from PC to iOS so well as Terraria.
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    lthough Terraria requires a big investment of time, it'll open up your creative side. The control scheme works great on mobile devices, and the presentation is slick enough to make the game stand out over the competition. If you need a break from Minecraft: Pocket Edition, this should be your next stop.
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    Terraria has not made the transition to iOS unscathed, but its cocktail of 2D crafting and exploration is still as engrossing as ever.
  6. Oct 20, 2013
    78
    Unwieldy controls and missing multiplayer modes let down an otherwise impressive port. [Dec 2013, p.76]
  7. Sep 3, 2013
    60
    For fans who already play and love Terraria on another platform, the iOS port is a decent supplement if you need a fix away from home. But due to control issues and the lack of multiplayer, a supplement for the real thing is all it will be.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    Extremely addicting game, and your imagination is the limit. However, this game is not really one at last, after about 4 days or so of playing you get bored and move on from the game. But other than that, great game. Collapse
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    Whilst not quite being able to hold a candle to the origInal due to some serious frame rate issues on earlier devices and moments of clunky control right when you don't want them, this handheld version of one of the best creative games available is still worth the cash, along as your device is current enough to run it. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    A decent port looking very crisp. Everything here's except multiplayer, which is a real shame. However this will always be my last port of call for Terraria play simply due to the usual reason when playing almost all touchscreen games : awkward and difficult controls. Going from my xbox controller to using a touchscreen feels like playing the game with one arm tied behind my back. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    Not being familiar at all with the PC version, i can't compare but one thing that got me from the get go, was the fact that there is no real objective. The tutorial goes through the basics but i mean basics, it doesn't go out of its way at all to explain what to do.

    When it comes to the main game, plenty of choice in the character selection and a fairly reasonable three slots available for characters and created worlds.

    The game is addictive, the first week i had this game i think i logged 80+ hours. In saying that it has declined but the game has that certain sandbox addictiveness that i haven't experienced since Mine-craft.

    Controls work fine for a touch screen and there is the option to use a controller but i have not tested this feature. Graphics work wonderfully and sound and game play definitely wrap this little gem up. It's worth the $3 or whatever it is in the app store. A must for any casual / hardcore gamer.
    Expand
  5. May 29, 2014
    3
    there are a LOT of bad things about this game. first of all, ITS FREAKING BORING, its just so hard to get into. Second of all, the mining, kiiiiiiinda sucks. the cursor doesn't have the fluency and speed of the mouse on a computer. you don't get the same kind of equipment as the PC edition that confuses the hell out of you when you check their stats. Another thing i preferred over the Xbox edition is the crafting, you could craft on the go. this game makes you open the pause button, scroll to the craft screen, find the correct section, and then make the item then you don't even know how many torches, platforms or whatever you made. sorry Re-digit, Terraria is just better for PC. Expand