Dark Meadow iOS

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Stream On
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    70
    If you are looking for an intense thriller and have a lot of time (or money) on your hands then you may want to pick this up. For everyone else it's certainly pretty to look at and listen too, but I doubt you'll have the patience or enough encouragement to get to the end.
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    70
    An interesting idea that just doesn't strike the proper chord.
  3. Jan 23, 2012
    61
    Dark Meadow is the least milk-and-water clone of Infinity Blade that popped up in 2011.
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    60
    A game that's at odds with itself. If it had given either of its major components the attention they deserved, we'd be recommending the game without hesitation. But with both sides of it half-baked, it fails to excel.
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    Worth a look if you're flush, but not quite as chillingly effective as it could have been.
  6. 58
    Dark Meadow is an adventure game that delivers a brawny horror experience packed with exceptional graphics and atmosphere, but one that sins as a result of flawed pacing and redundant nature. It's therefore difficult to recommend it, particularly given its high price.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jul 6, 2012
    1
    There is much to like about this game, such as the really excellent graphics and storyline, both points that have been pointed out in otherThere is much to like about this game, such as the really excellent graphics and storyline, both points that have been pointed out in other reviews. I would also like to emphasise the incredibly tedious grinding that this game makes you do. You kill the same dozen or so monsters, which are variations on half a dozen general themes over and over. It is beyond tedious, and surprisingly hard. However, there is a good reason for this. Although you are trapped alone in an abandoned hospital, you somehow have access to a store, where you can purchase more powerful items, with either incredible amounts of your tediously spent time, or cold hard cash. Who runs the store is totally unclear, and has nothing to do with the narrative. It has everything to do with inducing you to spend cash. By the end, when the game's difficulty really ramps up, and you have invested a lot of your time, you may be willing to fork it over, just so that you don't die and wake up in the accursed room where the game started, so that you don't have to work your way through the same tedious corridors to the boss fight. That is a dirty trick. The graphics are nice, but one you've seen them enough times, it doesn't really matter. Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2012
    8
    A much meatier game than many on phones, I really enjoyed the voice-acting and story, top notch stuff.

    The combat was fair and could use a
    A much meatier game than many on phones, I really enjoyed the voice-acting and story, top notch stuff.

    The combat was fair and could use a bit of tweaking, though it is understandably hard to make good combat without a physical controller. I suggest playing with headphones.

    Overall I really enjoyed it, and the devs are regularly upgrading and making changes. DM often is compared to Infinity Blade and I would say its way better than the first Infinity Blade, but seeing as how I haven't yet played the seccond I cant comment on that comparison.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Dark meadow is a quite a unique experience on ios, one of few that can separate itself from the general number of clones hat try to resembleDark meadow is a quite a unique experience on ios, one of few that can separate itself from the general number of clones hat try to resemble other titles, than to be different like this title is. Dark meadow allmost fits snugly on the shelf aside infinity blade, and it's a fresh breeze, cause iOS needs this kind of title. The graphics are dark, and beautifull, and with it the music, and sound adds to the atmosphere. The combat leans in favour like infinity blade, as you face weirdly approaching menaces, when they get close, you swipe in numerous directions, as your blade slices, chipping away at the energy bar. The best way to describe this game is silent hill on rails, it's worth a purchase for sure, worth every penny. I can only hope we get more like it. Full Review »