Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    The graphics and sound fit nicely into the world of Middle Earth. The music is soft and unobtrusive but adds a soothing element to the gameplay. I did notice some lag when scrolling in some portions of the game and it can sometimes take a while to load, but other than that I'd say it performs well.
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    Kingdoms of Middle-earth may be a competent release, but it's also a soulless one.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    59
    A very long game, that needs lots of time –and money, if we are inpatients– but that won't offer anything new. If you're familiar with this kind of free-to-play titles and The Hobbit doesn't appeal to you, you can keep on searching.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    55
    The Hobbit: Kingdoms of Middle-earth lures you in with the promise of a strategic city builder, but once you’re on the hook, the fun dissipates as you are repeatedly penalized unless you keep a steady stream of costly mithril flowing through your city. I like strategic city-building games, and I like Tolkien’s universe. I don’t like The Hobbit: Kingdoms of Middle-earth.
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    50
    A cynical reskin of Kingdoms of Camelot: Battle for the North, The Hobbit: Kingdoms of Middle-earth will be a disappointment to Tolkien fans and experienced freemium city-builders alike.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    This game would be fun if Kabam would address security issues. Multiple hacks coupled with Kabam's indifference has damaged game play & player trust. If you play thus game, do not spend money or connect to Facebook. And if your account is hacked, do not expect a response from customer service. Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2014
    0
    This is a terrible game that's just want your money.
    When I first started playing this game there where few and fair microtransactions, but
    kabam has kept adding more and more microtransactions so now you have to pay at least 100$ a week to be in the to player rank.
    I wasted 1100$ on this game don't be stupid like me and and quit while you have the chance....
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    I found the game very interesting. I am not an avid player but this game has potential. The visuals are great and the sounds realistic, I am sure that my friends who are gamers will enjoy this for Christmas. Full Review »