The Room Two Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Follow a trail of cryptic letters from an enigmatic scientist known only as "AS" into a compelling world of mystery and exploration.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jan 18, 2014
    100
    The Room Two is a beyond worthy successor to the original in all ways. There is no reason to not play it. Here’s hoping that Fireproof Games can take what seems to be a great story, and more thoroughly flush it out in sequels to come.
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    100
    The Room Two isn’t just a game, but an experience that is not to be missed as it greatly expands upon an already outstanding game. It’s one of the best experiences you can play on the iPad to engross you in a mesmerizing touch centric challenge that is an absolute must buy.
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    90
    A great game only let down by its inability to encourage replayability. If you’re up for a puzzle experience that goes bump in the night, you should definitely pick it up. Well done to Fireproof for satisfying its fans’ anticipation. [Issue 1, February 2014]
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    86
    The Room Two is a great puzzle game that every fan of the genre should enjoy.
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    85
    Easier than its predecessor, except for the final chapter. But The Room Two retains all the charm and mysticism that makes it unique.
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    The Room Two might not have the stunning first impression offered by The Room, but it's still a mighty impressive game with stunningly interactive puzzles.
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    65
    After beating the game, the was one puzzle I couldn’t solve — why the The Room Two was such a disappointment.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    It takes time for one to register the pure, unbridled ingenuity that The Room 2 provides. As a sequel to my favorite App Store game, it seemed impossible that it could live up to the overwhelming expectations its predecessor set. But, once again, I was treated to another three hours of gaming bliss, discovering uncharted worlds, solving intricate puzzles, and having my mind blown time and time again. Not only is The Room 2 the greatest app ever made, it is quite possibly the greatest puzzle game ever conceived. Like The Last of Us, this game leaves me in a state of blissful confusion, unable to accurately portray the unbelievable experience that I just took part in. In short, The Room 2 is not a recommendable game. It is a necessity. Anyone who misses out on this cinematic, atmospheric, and downright beautiful journey through a mind-boggling landscape is doing themselves a disservice. Believe me when I say, this game redefines the genre, and the player that enters will never be the same as the player that leaves.

    10/10

    Follow me on twitter @cbeers2513.
    Expand
  2. May 11, 2014
    9
    If you have even the remotest interest in puzzles, run to the nearest mobile device and download The Room 1 and/or 2. Both are beautiful-looking puzzlers in which you find yourself in one creepy room after another. In each space, you spin the camera around one or more objects that need to be studied closely. To move on to the next room, you will have to to find levers, switches and compartments containing keys or other loose components. Those parts can then be used elsewhere to uncover even more levers, switches and compartments with parts.

    The spaces you find yourself in are vaguely unsettling and there is a Lovecraftian feel to them. Though there is no way to go except forward, by solving one puzzle after the next, you get the feeling that you are heading into something bad. There is something horrific lurking behind a dark portal in your future. Not helping your nerves, are notes left by a researcher who went before you, and who experienced a mounting despair. The researcher was looking into something called the Null element, which is a substance with mysterious, otherworldy properties. This substance also figures into the puzzles, as you soon come across a lens that reveals the presence of the null-element. It changes your perception, and reveals clues.

    More chapters in this series seem a given, as the games have received a lot of critical praise and have been selling well. Though its particular way of puzzling definitely becomes very familiar, and less capable of suprising you the more you play, it doesn’t bore at all. Tinkering with the virtual objects stays fun throughout and this kind of gameplay is perfectly suited to touchscreens. Playing on a Pad is recommended though, as some of the important details may be hard to spot on the small screen of a phone. Occasionally you will feel stumped and stupid, but generally you’ll be able to figure things out and feel clever about it.

    The games have a great hint system. You’re free to ignore it, but it’s good that it’s there for the rare occasion that your patience wears thin. If you don’t figure out the next step for a while, a sound will announce that a hint is available. Click the hint-icon, and you first get a very vague hint, pointing you to the right area. Then, afer a while, a second hint is offered, more specific, and then again after a while, a third and final hint that all but spells out the solution.

    To me, the second game seemed slightly easier than the first, even though the second one complicates things by having multiple objects per room to interact with. Sometimes you’ll need to switch back and forth between them to get anywhere. There are still one or two times that a vital part of the puzzle is hard to spot, but generally if you look hard enough, while not forgetting about the bigger picture, you’ll figure things out. The process also get easier once you figure out the internal logic of the games and get into the groove.

    The second game seems to wrap up the initial arc of the ominous tale that serves as the backdrop to the tinkering, while making it clear there is more to tell. The first game didn’t really end so much as just stop, but the second one has a short cinematic and even a voice-over. I have good hope that more of these carefully crafted, Lovecraftian horror-puzzles are to follow. Even if they lead to gloom and doom, I will be unable to resist. @PopCultJunk
    Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Wow! I even enjoyed this one better than the first! I like how they kept the core aspect of the game the same yet added more scope to the game. It was a perfect formula in my opinion! The atmosphere in this one blew me away, they really improved it. It has some of the best production values for an IOS game. I hope they continue this series. Its one of my favorites on the iPad. Collapse
  4. Aug 21, 2014
    8
    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.