The Room Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ****** Only for iPad2 and up ******Welcome to The Room, a physical puzzler, wrapped in a mystery game, inside a beautifully tactile 3D world."... something of a thriller, The Room doesn't want you to feel safe... what it revealed to us in that time was pretty powerful. The Room knows exactly what it wants to do, which is dish out intrigue, mystery, and unease.""...the music pulls you in, the secrets hold you... the mystery is heightened courtesy of some outrageous production values... Each detail is fully realized... this thing is a looker."Touch Arcade Preview, August 2012******How are you, old friend?If you’re reading this, then it worked. I only hope you can still forgive me.We’ve never seen eye to eye on my research, but you must put such things behind you. You are the only one to whom I can turn.You must come at once, for we are all in great peril. I trust you remember the house? My study is the highest room.Press forward with heart. There is no way back now.AS.******Fireproof Games are very proud to bring you our greatest creation, a mind-bending journey filled with beauty, peril and mystery in equal measure. Be transported into a unique space that blends spellbinding visuals with intriguing problems to solve.* Unsettlingly realistic graphics: The most natural looking visuals ever seen on a mobile device.* Spine-tingling single finger controls: touch controls so natural you can play with one digit, to fully navigate this mysteriously beautiful 3D world.* Fantastical pick-up-and-play design: Easy to start, hard to put down, the secrets of The Room will immerse you before you even know you're playing.* Compelling layers of mystery: think you know what you're looking at? Think again. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 26, 2012
    100
    The Room is a beautiful, mysterious game that any puzzle fan should own.
  2. Jan 26, 2013
    90
    A completely unique, and engrossing iOS experience that is a must buy by offering the total package.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    While point-and-click fans will love every second, The Room is good enough to convert all but the most stringent naysayers to its cause.
  4. Feb 10, 2013
    90
    The Room is a gorgeous, unique, and mentally stimulating exercise in mechanical puzzle-solving that's steeped in atmosphere. It's a gauntlet of challenges worth running through.
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    89
    Fireproof have constructed a contemporary Myst for an ever more discerning gaming audience and we're gagging to see what they come up with for the hopefully inevitable sequel. [Christmas 2012, p.98]
  6. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    While it lasts it's an elegant and engaging game, one that builds an atmosphere of dark experimentation. You don't know quite where your search will take you, but it seems it won't be good.
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    80
    Stand it beside Papa Sangre and they make a strong argument for design that begins with the technology first, refusing to force an idea onto it without contemplation - and this makes The Room feel necessary and unique, providing something unavailable elsewhere.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Absolutely one of the best puzzle games in app store!

    Just wish it would be a bit longer.

    Lots of challenges, the level of details and
    sharpness of graphics is just INSANE!

    I SURE HOPE A SEQUEL IS SOMEWHERE WAITING FOR US!!!
    Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    One of the best IOS games I've played. Great puzzle, deducing logic game, one of the best I've played. My favorite aspect of this game is how the game logic makes sense. You don't have to just randomly try different objects with the environment. And when you figure out a puzzle, its very satisfying. The game also has a great mysterious, creepy atmosphere. I hope they continue this series! Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    I must say, I am a little disappointed. I was promised a journey of tough intellectual challenge and yet the game proved to be quite simple. The progress is mostly a matter of carefully searching the box and checking whether the goggles wouldn't share any new light on the environment. There were actually no puzzles that required any hard thinking, just: find this, plug it there, use your magic goggles, explore, find another thing and then the same all over again.

    That is not to say I didn't like the game, I was just hoping for some more rewarding experience.
    Collapse
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    7
    For a dollar, It's really not that bad of a game. It's a very interesting puzzle game that you will not put down at all until you have beaten it. My only complaint is that there is no replay value, Once you beat it, That's it. Aside from that, It has a ton of potential and could end up being a great series of games. I'd definitely recommend. Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012 Image
    Published: December 20, 2012
    Find out which iOS titles finished the year as 2012's best in our annual look at the top games for Apple mobile devices.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for September 2012

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for September 2012 Image
    Published: October 1, 2012
    The best iOS games released over the past month include a Rayman Origins spin-off, the latest from the folks behind Angry Birds, a few fiendishly difficult indie titles, and a port of the console/PC hit Bastion.