Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    100
    Walking Dead: The Game is Telltale's best adventure game debut on iOS. It blurs the lines between a game and a movie more effectively than any other series.
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    90
    With terrific visuals, impressive voice acting, an engaging story, and choices with long-ranging effects, you'd be hard-pressed to find a more intriguing mobile adventure title than this apocalyptic tale.
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    90
    If you're fond of The Walking Dead and want to play something that takes that source material seriously, and tells a great story while it does it, this game is definitely it. If you're looking for something much more involving from a joystick perspective, you might want to look elsewhere.
  4. Jul 27, 2012
    90
    If you're a fan of The Walking Dead, then this game is simply a must-have for your iPhone or iPad.
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    90
    It's more like an interactive comic book, with believable characters, solid voice acting, attractive cell-shaded graphics and buckets of blood. In all, a thoroughly entertaining undead romp.
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    80
    A great graphic adventure that could be improved by more challenging puzzles.
  7. Jul 31, 2012
    80
    Episode one of Walking Dead: The Game lays a great foundation for a story that follows a new group of survivors - how you choose to play Lee will determine how the story spins out in future episodes, but you'll have to live long enough to make it that far first.
  8. Jul 31, 2012
    80
    A great adventure game with focus on interpersonal relationships, and intense quicktime events. The first episode sinks it´s hooks in deep, and the wait for the next episode is already tormenting me. This comes highly recommended to both fans, and newcomers to the world of the Walking Dead.
  9. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    A fascinating exploration of just how desperate people can get, as well as a gripping thriller of a game. It's the kind of interactive fiction experience that many have been craving for years. For thoughtful gaming, this is the place to go, even if you will only play this once before waiting for the next installment.
  10. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Despite being essentially an interactive movie, The Walking Dead: The Game's convincing cast of characters and meaningful decision making lifts it above Telltale's previous efforts.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    I played the playstation 3 version fist and I was very impressed with the port. It was brilliant. Character development was great and emotional. It really connected you to the game and made me genuinely care about clementines well being. Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. "The Walking Dead: a Telltale Game Series" is a new take-on in "The Walking Dead" Franchise, and Episode 1 A New Day begins this 5-part season. But what do I think of it, let's find out. When I went into "The Walking Dead" for the first time, I played as Lee Everett, a convicted man who's been given a second chance in life to redeem himself as a good man when a zombie apocalypse breaks out and fate puts him in the care and bond of a little girl named Clementine. This game has such an amazing storyline and amazing characters that you meet and bond with who are solid written characters. Why? Because the story adds an emotional touch to it that made me feel like a real person and gives you a better experience in a Telltale game and gives you a more compelling relationship between Lee and Clementine. It makes you relate these characters to yourself and your loved ones. While progressing through the Episode, you meet new people such as a reporter named Carley and a farmer named Hershel (you might be familiar with this character if you are a general fan of The Walking Dead). After meeting with these characters, you feel a lot like you're friends trying to stay together after an apocalyptic break out. Now, the game-play. The game-play is simply amazing, even though this is Telltale's classic point and click format but The Walking Dead in general adds choices to the game. Here is a sequence in the game that allows you to make the choices. When you are in the pharmacy, you have the choice to either save a man named Doug or Carley. If you save Carley, you leave Doug to die and it's the same result when you choose to save Doug instead of Carley. These choices allow for a lot of replay value to see what are the consequences that you have to face after you make these choices. So to recap on the pros, the storyline is amazing due to it's emotional touch, the characters are solidly written and the game-play was great. Now onto the cons of the game. The only complaint I had was that the game has a few goofy moments like when the radio is not working, Carley doesn't know that there are no batteries in the radio. But overall, I highly recommend you play this Episode or the stand alone game on any platform. My final verdict is a 9/10. If there were no goofy moments, this game would be perfect in my opinion but I can't wait to play the 4 remaining episodes on my iPod and play the stand alone game on the PS3. Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Shocked there are no user reviews for this game, I felt compelled to write just my thoughts on this entire series actually.

    I literally
    just finished Ep 5 about 15 minutes ago, and all I can say is, if you're a fan of The Walking Dead in any way, shape or form, or you are a fan of great stories, then this series is for you.

    I would be willing to concede that the game isn't the most impressive visually, or the most innovative, however, this series makes up for it so well in story, and character depth, that I am willing to waive it's (arguable) flaws for it's colossal strengths.

    At the asking price for this game, there is really no excuse to at least check out Episode 1, which I am sure, will impress and lead you to get the remainder of the episodes and be in for a real treat.

    I hope some people may find this collection of my opinions as incentive to try out this gem of a game series. It most certain to keep you interested and attached right to the very end.
    Full Review »