Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    90
    As brash and carefree as some of its protagonists, The World Ends with You: Solo Remix doesn't make a seamless translation to iOS, but it's worth the entry price all the same.
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    89
    The World Ends with You: Solo Remix is a more than welcome release on the App Store, taking one of the best recent Jrpg to the iOS platform. Even if the original still plays better, the adaptation to the touch screen could be considered a success. Shame on Square Enix for the absurd price, the separate iPhone and iPad versions and the lacking of support for the new iPad Retina Display.
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    Yes, the price tag is rather astronomical when compared to bargain-bin, $0.99 titles but there's a reason for that. The World Ends With You: Solo Remix is not a game built for five-minute diversions; it's a solid game, one meant to leave a permanent impression.
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    TWEWY: Solo Remix feels at home on the iOS platform, retaining the revolutionary combat system of the DS original and pairing it with visuals that are on par with modern 2D console titles.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    100
    The World Ends With You Solo Remix combines two wonderful qualities. Firstly, the original is a near-spotless success. Secondly, this is a quality port, one that has been reworked deeply to blend well with the devices it's on, even enhancing some aspects in the process.
  6. Sep 3, 2012
    90
    It's a pity that the visuals haven't been optimized for the retina display, but nonetheless it is a beauty. Stamped with a hefty price tag you'll get an exceptional roleplaying game that is as fascinating as it was a few years ago on the DS.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    I haven't been this hooked to an RPG in... well, ever. I'm the type of guy who WANTS to play RPGs, but they simply don't hold my attentionI haven't been this hooked to an RPG in... well, ever. I'm the type of guy who WANTS to play RPGs, but they simply don't hold my attention for long. In general I find RPG's too difficult to play casually because they require such a significant time commitment, and simply don't have enough depth to keep me interested. TWEWY is different. It has both dexterity & strategic skill based depth. Not only do you have to find skills that synergize well, but you also have to learn to play proficiently with them. This multifaceted skill requirement really puts this game in a league of it's own. To describe this game another way: It sort of plays like a fighting game, only imagine you were able to select a specific moves that your character could perform, and over time you gained access to different moves. On the pricetag: we have paid $60-$80 for videogames for the past 20 years, and now $20 has become unacceptable? You pay $1 for a game, and more often than not, you are gaining $1 (or less) worth of enjoyment. Many $1 games, such as Tiny Wings, have a lot of depth of skill development, and replayability. However, very few $1 mobile games, if any, have any depth of CONTENT. This game is $20 because it provides 200 hours worth of gameplay, and a massive amount of content and storyline to explore. So really, this game is not over priced, because there's simply more game there. Saying that it should cost $1 is like saying a car should cost $100 because it serves the same function as a bicycle: to provide a person with transportation. The game fires on all cylinders, and is one of the first games I've ever had on a mobile device that I truly want to sit down and dedicate time to, rather than just something to do while I'm taking a dump. Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    This is a great port of an amazing game the came out on the DS years ago. The visuals have been updated for the iPad (although they are notThis is a great port of an amazing game the came out on the DS years ago. The visuals have been updated for the iPad (although they are not at retina resolution), and so have the controls and music. The story and characters are really good and it plays like a dream. I cannot recommend this game highly enough - it is probably the best game that I have played on the iPad. Full Review »
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    The greatest game to ever reach ios, It proves that ios is capable of wonderful titles. It is an incredible port of the ds original game, andThe greatest game to ever reach ios, It proves that ios is capable of wonderful titles. It is an incredible port of the ds original game, and the kind of game that appears once in a decade. A must play for those who love a good experience through gaming. Full Review »