Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    94
    A fantastic excuse to jump back into a truly great game. [Dec 2012, p.92]
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    88
    Is it possible to tell a deep, touching story about a bunch of emo teens? Yes, and the 30-hour campaign of The World Ends with You is the proof.
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    90
    Full of variety, truly innovative, and uncompromisingly willing to mix things up, The World Ends With You: Solo Remix is a game every iOS RPG fan should have, and one every fan of the series should have all over again.
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    The iOS conversion is pretty good, even despite the screen restrictions, and it's all forgiven when you're wrapped up in the storyline so much. It's an expensive purchase but one that will offer you dozens of hours of memorable gameplay.
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    The game itself is fantastic - it has a rich story with several big surprises, fun gameplay, and plenty of content.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    Yes, the price tag is rather astronomical when compared to bargain-bin, $0.99 titles but there's a reason for that. The World Ends With You: Solo Remix is not a game built for five-minute diversions; it's a solid game, one meant to leave a permanent impression.
  7. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    The World Ends With You is a stellar RPG regardless of platform, and we're glad it made its way to iOS.
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    95
    A love-letter to Japanese youth culture and a staggeringly deep RPG with style in abundance. It's an iOS must have. The high price might give you pause, but do your best to let it slide and enjoy this one; it's unique & very special.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Although I had never played the DS version of TWEWY, I decided to hop on board after the release of the Solo Remix edition. If you are afraid that TWEWY:Solo Remix will be inferior to the DS version, fret not, as it is a perfectly streamlined experience that works incredibly well. Quite frankly it is debatable that the Solo Remix edition is superior, having fantastic new HD graphics and superb controls. If you have never played TWEWY before, and are at all a fan of anime or Action RPG's, you should buy this game. The $13 price point may seem high for an iOS game, but in the grand scheme of things this is reasonably cheap. The game will last you a good 30 hours, getting you more than your moneys worth for a game that still costs $20 to buy on the DS. The story of this game is captivating and fantastic. It is incredibly unique, I have never seen anything like it. It is all a huge mystery that slowly unravels, and comes to a supremely satisfying conclusion. You will find yourself hungry for more after you have completed the main storyline. The gameplay is just as superb. Controls are fantastic, the best of any iOS ported game I have ever played. The only complaint I have about combat are the huge difficulty spikes. There are 3 difficulty levels that you can change on the fly, easy, medium, and hard. While I could easily get through standard enemies on hard mode, boss battles were insane, to the point where I would die within seconds of the fight starting. Luckily they have a feature that lets you retry the same fight on easy mode, but then the sense of challenge is gone. If you die once against a boss, just start it up on easy mode and it practically beats itself. There is also a surprisingly little amount of gear enhancement a game with such heavy RPG influence. Although some gear is better than others, you will find that you can barely equip anything due to a strange stat requirement that makes so even once you have beaten the game you still cannot equip that t-shirt you got 5 hours into the game. Even once you can equip better gear, you realize how fruitless it is, as simply wearing all of the same brand of gear, regardless of how good it is, will essentially provide you with double damage. Overall though, these flaws are easy to overlook as the game is full of exciting content and a great story that you will remember for weeks after you have seen the final screen. Full Review »
  2. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    This is my favorite game of all time on the DS. Love the way it's been adapted for the ios with touch screen controls, though if I had to pick which version was better I would have to go with the chaos of the dual screened original. My only real complaint is that the new sound tracks that have been added are total garbage in comparasion with the original soundtrack, and I just wish that their was a option to revert the game to the original soundtrack. The new soundtracks seem like clunky background music, and seems like at times the music is randomly inserted to test the new music. So if you own the original maybe give it a try if your a die hard fan, If you don't own a ds try it. Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Now, I can review this game in two ways. a) as a remake of the DS game that I have played and have completed all (save for pin completion) and b) as an iOS with no regards to the fact that it is a remake... I will attempt to do both. a) As a remake of the DS games i would have to give this game something along the lines of a 7 or 8, let's go with 7.5 for the sake of argument. For starter's, the positives come in the way of the upgraded graphics, better quality music, and the fact that it is essentially the same game with the same story, characters, unlockables, and pin system. At the same time the integration of Twitter to hear certain thoughts from random people in the internet, plus wireless connectivity (which is easier on the iOS since more people own this than they did a DS) add a new feel of usefulness and fun to an already great game. However, after getting used to what is the original TWEWY, there are a few aspects of this Solo Remix which kept it from getting the perfect score I would have given the original. The most noticeable is the partner system. In the original DS game you controlled Nekku on bottom screen with pins and partner on top with the buttons, as iOS only offers one screen and no buttons, they have turned the partner into what is essentially just another pin with special powers, which also eliminates a lot of the difficulty that the original game brought as well as the accustomed way of reading the health meter. At the same time, the new fonts make the game a little awkward once used to the anime type fonts used in the original, and the removal of some small features have a larger impact on the game than i thought (cut scenes show less, in stranger angles, or take longer to happen. and some icons are also missed for the sake of simplicity).

    b) as a standalone iOS game, I believe this game earns a 10. "But sir, the game is really expensive?!" some of you may say...
    My answer: "So?... "
    While I agree that a price tag of $18 seems pretty hefty, I must start by pointing out this isn't your typical iOS game with simple controls, simple comedy based story, where the goal is to get the highest score and beat your friend or get achievements. This is a full fledged JRPG on the iOS. And despite being a remake, it remains fresh (it's not a port like some Final Fantasies and other former AAA titles on the app store) and takes advantage of the iOS. It has beautiful smooth graphics compared to most other iOS games, and is guaranteed to keep you entertained for hours wishing to find out what happens to the characters as any JRPG would, and then hoping to out-complete your friends or best them at tin pin slammer! It also has what is perhaps the best "original" soundtrack on the app store, and it is guaranteed to be worth the price so long as you treat it as what it is: a full fledged game rather than just another casual game for your iOS system.

    Lastly.. I recommend this highly, and if you purchase it, take heed to the character's words. The message this game has is perhaps one of the best messages a JRPG has offered Western audiences.
    Full Review »