The World Ends with You: Solo Remix Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Shibuya, a mishmash of attitudes and styles in the heart of Tokyo. A boy named Neku awakens in a crowded intersection, alone & unaware of how he got there. He receives a weird text: "Clear this mission...or face erasure." With that, Neku is injected into a life-or-death Game thatWelcome to Shibuya, a mishmash of attitudes and styles in the heart of Tokyo. A boy named Neku awakens in a crowded intersection, alone & unaware of how he got there. He receives a weird text: "Clear this mission...or face erasure." With that, Neku is injected into a life-or-death Game that sends him scrambling down streets paved with one riddle after another...What is the Reaper’s Game? Why is Neku a Player, and what is he playing for? Will the Game really end if he survives all 7 days? Another mystery is always around the corner. Expand
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    Yes, the price tag is rather astronomical when compared to bargain-bin, $0.99 titles but there's a reason for that. The World Ends With You: Solo Remix is not a game built for five-minute diversions; it's a solid game, one meant to leave a permanent impression.
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    100
    The World Ends With You is a stellar RPG regardless of platform, and we're glad it made its way to iOS.
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    95
    A love-letter to Japanese youth culture and a staggeringly deep RPG with style in abundance. It's an iOS must have. The high price might give you pause, but do your best to let it slide and enjoy this one; it's unique & very special.
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    The game itself is fantastic - it has a rich story with several big surprises, fun gameplay, and plenty of content.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    The iOS conversion is pretty good, even despite the screen restrictions, and it's all forgiven when you're wrapped up in the storyline so much. It's an expensive purchase but one that will offer you dozens of hours of memorable gameplay.
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    88
    Is it possible to tell a deep, touching story about a bunch of emo teens? Yes, and the 30-hour campaign of The World Ends with You is the proof.
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    80
    This is among the finest RPGs available on the platform.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. May 16, 2016
    10
    The World Ends With You is one of the best games I ever played. It counts with a solid gameplay, based on taps, swipes, drawing circles, etc.,The World Ends With You is one of the best games I ever played. It counts with a solid gameplay, based on taps, swipes, drawing circles, etc., a very interesting story, good characters, all of that to make a great-to-play game! The Nintendo DS version was developed for two-screens gameplay, so the developers had to make a way to convert it to a single screen, and they've done it perfectly! For the veterans, it may look even more easier, but is one of the attractives of the game: to gain new players. If you don't have played the DS version, now is your chance to experience this great game! Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2016
    10
    The World Ends With You is a phenomenal game, both on DS and Smartphones. The smartphone version, however, is far superior to the DS versionThe World Ends With You is a phenomenal game, both on DS and Smartphones. The smartphone version, however, is far superior to the DS version in almost all aspects.
    The rerelease of the game features many improvements from the original release. The graphics and music receive a much appreciated step up from the DS version, taking advantage of the higher specifications of most devices. The graphics are a huge improvement, with the tiny sprites from the DS being redrawn in HD. This includes backgrounds and pins, which look beautiful in HD. The music and sound effects have also had a drastic increase in quality, and this version even includes some songs not available in the DS version.
    The gameplay, however, is often considered inferior to the DS version. Unlike the DS version, TWEWY (SR) has you control only one character, removing the unique feature that the DS game had. This is a common complaint about this rerelease, however, it is not necessarily a bad thing. The new combat system is a lot more accessible for new players, and the much larger screen than the DS is great for this 1-character system.

    The story in The World Ends With You is my favourite part of the game. In TWEWY, you are dead, and you must compete in a series of trials to prove that you’re worthy of a second chance. These trials take place over the course of a week, with the main character, Neku, participating in three of them. It sounds simple, but over the course of the game, you start appreciating the messages the game tries to put across, and the different characters with a large amount of depth. TWEWY has my favourite story in any video game of all time.

    The gameplay in TWEWY is very simple. The general idea is that you swipe the screen in different patterns, in order to activate the ‘pins’ that you have collected. This, again, sounds very simple, but with hundreds of combinations available, the game can have some real depth. The game also has a level-up system, which increases your hit point total. In the game, there are a number of methods of affecting item drops, and item drop rates. One of the most interesting of these is the ability to lower your level, which decreases health, but increases the drop rate by 1* for each level you sacrifice. This awards players who do a good job at avoiding damage. Another system this game uses is a difficulty system. Over the course of the game, you unlock different difficulties, which are as follows; Easy, Normal, Hard, and Very Hard. Depending on the difficulty you select, enemies will drop different pins. This also changes the attack and health of the enemies; so higher difficulty levels will reward you with rare pins. This also makes the game very accessible for more casual players.

    The sound in TWEWY is also amazing. The game features a number of different tracks, most of them with lyrics. These songs are incredibly catchy, and play during battles, cutscenes, and in the overworld. Some of these songs are in Japanese, and some in English. Some even have different language versions, but still play in the English version. This adds even more songs to the soundtrack. TWEWY has my favourite music in any video game ever.
    As for replay value, TWEWY does not disappoint. The game features a ‘chapter select’ screen after defeating the final boss. This chapter screen also provides missions for you to complete, each one awarding you with an item and a bit of lore. These are very fun to complete, most of the time, and add a lot to the game. The game also features an additional day, which depicts all of the characters in the story in an alternate universe. This chapter is a light-hearted take on the game, and provides a refreshing change from the main story.

    Overall, TWEWY is one of my favourite games of all time. The graphics are unique and beautiful, the music is perfect, and there’s a ton of depth in the story and gameplay.
    Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2017
    10
    (I played the Android version)

    I bet any and all mixed/negative reviews were due to performance issues. My sincerest apologies, but my must
    (I played the Android version)

    I bet any and all mixed/negative reviews were due to performance issues. My sincerest apologies, but my must tell you that this isn't the appstore; complain elsewhere. You're ruining the user score for what is a gorgeous remaster of the DS classic. Enthralling characters and narrative compel the player to take up the fight against the Noise in what is perhaps the most entertaining ARPG out there. The combat is both slick and customize-able. In no time, you'll find your preferred playstyle, and Neku will fit like a glove... or a pin? Adding to this game's value is its top tier artstyle/graphics, and an eargasmic OST.
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Now, I can review this game in two ways. a) as a remake of the DS game that I have played and have completed all (save for pin completion) andNow, I can review this game in two ways. a) as a remake of the DS game that I have played and have completed all (save for pin completion) and b) as an iOS with no regards to the fact that it is a remake... I will attempt to do both. a) As a remake of the DS games i would have to give this game something along the lines of a 7 or 8, let's go with 7.5 for the sake of argument. For starter's, the positives come in the way of the upgraded graphics, better quality music, and the fact that it is essentially the same game with the same story, characters, unlockables, and pin system. At the same time the integration of Twitter to hear certain thoughts from random people in the internet, plus wireless connectivity (which is easier on the iOS since more people own this than they did a DS) add a new feel of usefulness and fun to an already great game. However, after getting used to what is the original TWEWY, there are a few aspects of this Solo Remix which kept it from getting the perfect score I would have given the original. The most noticeable is the partner system. In the original DS game you controlled Nekku on bottom screen with pins and partner on top with the buttons, as iOS only offers one screen and no buttons, they have turned the partner into what is essentially just another pin with special powers, which also eliminates a lot of the difficulty that the original game brought as well as the accustomed way of reading the health meter. At the same time, the new fonts make the game a little awkward once used to the anime type fonts used in the original, and the removal of some small features have a larger impact on the game than i thought (cut scenes show less, in stranger angles, or take longer to happen. and some icons are also missed for the sake of simplicity).

    b) as a standalone iOS game, I believe this game earns a 10. "But sir, the game is really expensive?!" some of you may say...
    My answer: "So?... "
    While I agree that a price tag of $18 seems pretty hefty, I must start by pointing out this isn't your typical iOS game with simple controls, simple comedy based story, where the goal is to get the highest score and beat your friend or get achievements. This is a full fledged JRPG on the iOS. And despite being a remake, it remains fresh (it's not a port like some Final Fantasies and other former AAA titles on the app store) and takes advantage of the iOS. It has beautiful smooth graphics compared to most other iOS games, and is guaranteed to keep you entertained for hours wishing to find out what happens to the characters as any JRPG would, and then hoping to out-complete your friends or best them at tin pin slammer! It also has what is perhaps the best "original" soundtrack on the app store, and it is guaranteed to be worth the price so long as you treat it as what it is: a full fledged game rather than just another casual game for your iOS system.

    Lastly.. I recommend this highly, and if you purchase it, take heed to the character's words. The message this game has is perhaps one of the best messages a JRPG has offered Western audiences.
    Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Although I had never played the DS version of TWEWY, I decided to hop on board after the release of the Solo Remix edition. If you are afraidAlthough I had never played the DS version of TWEWY, I decided to hop on board after the release of the Solo Remix edition. If you are afraid that TWEWY:Solo Remix will be inferior to the DS version, fret not, as it is a perfectly streamlined experience that works incredibly well. Quite frankly it is debatable that the Solo Remix edition is superior, having fantastic new HD graphics and superb controls. If you have never played TWEWY before, and are at all a fan of anime or Action RPG's, you should buy this game. The $13 price point may seem high for an iOS game, but in the grand scheme of things this is reasonably cheap. The game will last you a good 30 hours, getting you more than your moneys worth for a game that still costs $20 to buy on the DS. The story of this game is captivating and fantastic. It is incredibly unique, I have never seen anything like it. It is all a huge mystery that slowly unravels, and comes to a supremely satisfying conclusion. You will find yourself hungry for more after you have completed the main storyline. The gameplay is just as superb. Controls are fantastic, the best of any iOS ported game I have ever played. The only complaint I have about combat are the huge difficulty spikes. There are 3 difficulty levels that you can change on the fly, easy, medium, and hard. While I could easily get through standard enemies on hard mode, boss battles were insane, to the point where I would die within seconds of the fight starting. Luckily they have a feature that lets you retry the same fight on easy mode, but then the sense of challenge is gone. If you die once against a boss, just start it up on easy mode and it practically beats itself. There is also a surprisingly little amount of gear enhancement a game with such heavy RPG influence. Although some gear is better than others, you will find that you can barely equip anything due to a strange stat requirement that makes so even once you have beaten the game you still cannot equip that t-shirt you got 5 hours into the game. Even once you can equip better gear, you realize how fruitless it is, as simply wearing all of the same brand of gear, regardless of how good it is, will essentially provide you with double damage. Overall though, these flaws are easy to overlook as the game is full of exciting content and a great story that you will remember for weeks after you have seen the final screen. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    This is my favorite game of all time on the DS. Love the way it's been adapted for the ios with touch screen controls, though if I had to pickThis is my favorite game of all time on the DS. Love the way it's been adapted for the ios with touch screen controls, though if I had to pick which version was better I would have to go with the chaos of the dual screened original. My only real complaint is that the new sound tracks that have been added are total garbage in comparasion with the original soundtrack, and I just wish that their was a option to revert the game to the original soundtrack. The new soundtracks seem like clunky background music, and seems like at times the music is randomly inserted to test the new music. So if you own the original maybe give it a try if your a die hard fan, If you don't own a ds try it. Collapse
  7. Nov 24, 2012
    1
    I tried to play this game on my iphone but it keeps crashing. I've got an iphone 4S with plenty of space on there and the game still does notI tried to play this game on my iphone but it keeps crashing. I've got an iphone 4S with plenty of space on there and the game still does not work on it. I don't know what's going on but till this gets fixed, it's unplayable. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012 Image
    Published: December 20, 2012
    Find out which iOS titles finished the year as 2012's best in our annual look at the top games for Apple mobile devices.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for August 2012

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for August 2012 Image
    Published: August 30, 2012
    A zombified take on Oregon Trail and a port of The World Ends with You are among the past months best-reviewed games for iOS.