Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    75
    Thor: The Dark World is definitely a pretty game, and a fun one at that. Though the graphics never approach anything like Infinity Blade’s gorgeous visuals, it’s still a graphically-impressive title that stays true to the aesthetics of its source material and is a treat on Retina displays.
  2. Nov 9, 2013
    60
    Thor: The Dark World is a very interesting MOBA style RTS, packed with lots of minions, allies, powers and missions to unlock. What a shame it also sports a very aggressive freemium approach.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    60
    Laden with clunky controls, messy visuals, and shallow combat, Thor: The Dark World is not the marvel we expected.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    It’s got the looks to be the game that Thor deserves; it just still doesn’t nail the feel.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    50
    As lunk-headed and clumsy as a drunken Viking, Thor takes a hammer to the action-RPG genre with its clunky controls and cynical IAP system.
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    40
    Thor: The Dark World epitomizes the problems with movie tie-ins, and freemium style to deliver a rudimentary experience that isn’t worth your time.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    Good looks and a blockbuster movie tie-in don't save Thor: The Dark World from its sloppy battles and lame freemium model.
  8. Nov 4, 2013
    40
    Visually noisy and mechanically unreliable, Thor: The Dark World is a confused free-to-play hack-'em-up which reduces its lead character to a club-footed spectator.
  9. Nov 4, 2013
    40
    It's repetitive, it's missing its final world, and it's buggy.
  10. Nov 1, 2013
    40
    Had Gameloft just charged a flat fee and offered a virtual joypad control set-up, Thor: The Dark World would've fared much better in the final analysis. Instead, it simply feels like a bit of a chore. Save your cash for the film.
User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Dec 20, 2014
    2
    I very much like playing Thor TDW and find it fun and challenging.
    I like to complete a level acquiring all three stars before moving on to
    I very much like playing Thor TDW and find it fun and challenging.
    I like to complete a level acquiring all three stars before moving on to the next arena.
    However, I feel there are certain arenas that are set up to make it impossible to complete and get all three stars. Like mission 53 in Vanaheim World where the final objective is to kill 30 enemies in 3 minutes.
    How can Thor accomplish this task when there is an army of Einherjar growing to help Thor?
    Even when I purposely un-equip myself from Einherjar so I, Thor can kill as many as he can the game is set to keep Einherjar growing, which keeps Thor from accomplishing the third task and acquiring the third star.

    Also, in Asgard missions 58, 61, & 64 the third task is to finish with the weapon Destroyer, which requires to complete "Arena Season 29" to unlock????
    What's that???

    And in Asgard Mission 62 the second goal is to "Kill 5 Baslinks". I have spent over an hour playing this mission killing over a dozen basilisks and the game is not recognizing that I killed at least 5, which inhibits me from acquiring a third star for that mission.

    Mission 65 requires to finish the mission with "Beta Bell Ray" armor yet needs to be unlock with "Arena Season 31"????
    What's That????

    "Dark World Casual" armor is required to finish Mission 68, yet needs to be unlocked with "Arena Season 33"???
    What's That?!!!!

    And in Asgard Mission 70 the game shuts off and closes automatically before I am finished.

    In another I need "Classic" Armor to finish which requires 200 stars, which I would have already if the above mentioned glitches weren't in place.
    And "Old Thor" armor requires "Arena Season 30"??to be unlocked.
    Again, what's that?!!!
    I am playing up to mission 70 and nowhere is there mention of Arena Seasons....

    The part where the game shuts off is terribly disturbing to the point I wish to remove it from my phone and post a review over the Internet to discourage others from downloading this app which is set up for you not to accomplish all the goals.

    Disappointed,

    Evvrick
    Full Review »