Threes! iOS

Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
Stream On
  1. Mar 10, 2014
    100
    We’ve rarely had this much fun with a game as simple as Threes!. Everything about it just works, from the visual execution to the deep gameplay and funny sound effects. Hours become minutes with this game.
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    100
    Threes! is at once nicotine and soul food, magnificent and deadly, a machine for playing. It is flawed and broken and perfect and you must start playing it today.
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    100
    The simple mechanics, deep strategy, and stacks of charm are balanced so perfectly together that it’s impossible to imagine a single change that could really improve upon what Sirvo has created.
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    100
    Never has sliding tiles around a 4x4 grid been as charming - or as fun - as it is in Threes!
  5. Feb 6, 2014
    100
    Threes!' engaging mechanics add up to iOS puzzle perfection.
  6. Feb 6, 2014
    100
    Threes is a puzzle game with absurd amounts of charm.
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    100
    In the end, here's Threes! in three sentences: Threes! is about as close as it gets to a perfect mobile game. Threes! is a game you need on every iOS device you own. Threes! is a game you need to tell your iPhone owning non-gamer-but-plays-some-games friends about.
  8. Feb 18, 2014
    99
    This is the best puzzle app you can find right now on the App Store. If you have an iDevice, go ahead and buy it.
  9. Feb 17, 2014
    98
    Threes! is not only a brilliant game, but an instant classic too. It's simple to learn but hard to master, it's graced by a gorgeous style and it's absolutely charming. Nothing can improve a game that is nothing more nor less than perfect.
  10. Mar 4, 2014
    92
    Threes! is simply one of the best puzzle games of the last 10 years. Believe the hype.
  11. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Despite some frustrating chaotic elements, Threes! is a dashing, intelligent, and deceptively simple treat. This is your next essential puzzler.
  12. Mar 1, 2014
    90
    Simple, smart, funny and addictive.
  13. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    The game rewards strategy and patience time and time again, and you’d be doing yourself a disservice by not having it on your iOS devices.
  14. Feb 10, 2014
    90
    Threes! has all the makings to be the next App Store phenomena as it’s an expertly crafted app that delivers a completely engrossing puzzle mechanic making it a must buy.
  15. Feb 13, 2014
    85
    Threes is a great mix of simplicity, style and fun. Even if you hate math and numbers, you’ll dig this.
  16. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 9, 2014
    80
    Threes is the sort of game that exists purely to ruin your life, to make you regret ever buying your damn smart phone. [May 2014, p.83]
  17. Feb 11, 2014
    80
    Don't let the appearance of maths fool you, Threes is a deceptively addictive game of sliding, matching and growing the puzzle with every move.
  18. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    Threes is uncommonly sweet, though it can feel a little insubstantial.
  19. Mar 28, 2014
    75
    If you love number puzzles, Threes is a must-play.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    0
    theres gotta be major corruption going on with these critics ratings....its just a tile game and its not that fun...i think its barelytheres gotta be major corruption going on with these critics ratings....its just a tile game and its not that fun...i think its barely passable. i kept playing for like 2 hours to justify the high critics rating...to hopefully discover what they were raving about....and I like math, i like strategy games, i like sudoku, i like tetris, i like chess, i like words with friends and scramble with friends. Unfortunately, I like fun too, and If it were funner, i'd still be playing it, but its pretty easy to put down. In fact, you'll be annoyed you wasted time on this at all. Who likes this game that is a real person? someone who had issues with their math teacher and is trying to prove they know multiples of three? Seriously? Someone who has a fetish for the number 3? Hoplite, Out There, hero academy, sorcery, words with friends, scramble, puzzle fighter, tetris and the gameboy,, infect them all 2, plants vs zombies original...those are fun games. this is like one of those miserable pointless card games, like Pazzak, in Knights of the Old Republic, made to be a very minor distraction. I really wish I could get my money back because I was seriously suckered and tricked by these critics into wasting my money which I forced myself to play for 2 days b/c i felt i better get some value out of my money. This is game is not fun and not entertaining. There has got to be some SERIOUS corruption going on to get so many high ratings. The designer must have got his whole family and his whole company to vote and write positive reviews for this. Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    2
    I honestly have no idea why this game is ranked so highly. It's not charming, it's not particularly fun, mind stiffening, puzzeltadtic.I honestly have no idea why this game is ranked so highly. It's not charming, it's not particularly fun, mind stiffening, puzzeltadtic.

    It's a tile game, with numbers. It's simple and I was bored within five minutes. Granted I've never played candy crush saga, but if this is the new that, u guess that's one I won't play either.

    I could probably think of about 20 quick fix games that are more enjoyable.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    1
    A simplistic and throw away time waster, just like most other smart phone games really. Not terribly engaging or addictive. In fact I wouldn'tA simplistic and throw away time waster, just like most other smart phone games really. Not terribly engaging or addictive. In fact I wouldn't call this a game in the traditional sense at all. Its more something to fiddle with while waiting for the bus. It certainly doesn't belong in the same ratings category as a proper video game does. This being rated higher than traditional video games like the “Last of Us”, “BioShock” or “Dishonoured” kind of shows up the irrelevance of Metacritic as a pointless grading system, one that has no meaning or point of reference. Full Review »