Tiny Heroes iOS

Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Stream On
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    100
    A fun iPhone app to play and one I will definitely keep.
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    I can't say enough about Tiny Heroes. It's a fantastic game, with few flaws to speak of. Challenging, but rarely frustrating, it had me returning to levels again and again to improve my score. By turning genre conventions on their heads, Tiny Heroes succeeds brilliantly.
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    100
    Though it has a few quirks, Tiny Heroes provides one of the best experiences in dungeon crawling this side of a Game Master's screen.
  4. Jan 21, 2012
    90
    I cannot recommend Tiny Heroes enough, its brilliant art work and gameplay is supreme in the tower defence genre. The only thing missing is a sound track, but it's odd that while playing this superb game won't miss a sound track at all.
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    90
    Tiny Heroes is an excellent game, but with a few caveats: there's no iPad version (and this would be perfect for an iPad), placing traps/weapons precisely can be difficult, and sometimes the levels are just too hard.
  6. Dec 19, 2011
    80
    A fun tower defense-game, where you play as the bad guys, trying to stop the heroes from stealing your treasures by using monster, magic and traps.
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    80
    With the glut of tower defense games on the App Store, it can be hard to stand out, but a decent premise backed up by solid gameplay can do wonders for making your mark.
  8. Sep 22, 2011
    80
    Mixing elements of Plants vs. Zombies with variable path mechanics and clever AI, Tiny Heroes brings frustratingly fun gameplay to a medieval setting.
  9. Sep 15, 2011
    80
    Tiny Heroes draws its charm from all the chaos. There's always something to do; you'll constantly be throwing down new traps and replacing old ones at a frenetic pace. It's challenging and fun.
  10. Sep 12, 2011
    80
    Fans of defense games and the geoDefense series will enjoy this.
  11. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    If you're a fan of tower defense games but have grown tired of the same ol' TD experience, Tiny Heroes delivers that something special you've been holding out for.
  12. Sep 15, 2011
    70
    Well produced and highly addictive, Tiny Heroes will find favour with fans of the genre – providing they don't expect anything startlingly original.
  13. Oct 21, 2011
    60
    Sure, it's yet another tower defence game, but a surprisingly fresh and delightful one.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    As someone who's not a big fan of the typical tower defense game, Tiny Heroes caught my interest due to the way it approaches the genre. NotAs someone who's not a big fan of the typical tower defense game, Tiny Heroes caught my interest due to the way it approaches the genre. Not only does Tiny Heroes allow the Heroes to follow multiple paths (which may or may not lead to their death) but it also casts you as the "bad guy".

    Game play is pretty straight forward with the tutorial being spread out over several levels. While I've seen a few places point this out as being too long, if someone is completely new to the tower defense I feel the flow of essential gameplay elements is spot on. You're shown what you need to know when you need it. Never once did I come across a point where I was thinking, "OK, but now what was that for again?"

    For those who are familiar with tower defense, a fun little curve ball comes in the form of you earning new defenses as opposed to ways to level up previous ones. Early on this means you'll be able to bring every defense you have in to a level but in later levels, the choice of what defense you bring is just as much of the strategy as where you place them.

    Another refreshing side effect of this is that the various defenses all have their own personality. Sure some are obvious upgrades from earlier versions but you never get to a point where you feel as though you're picking one over another just based on damage or cooldown timers alone. Of course leaving the selection of the defenses up to the player opens up the door to all sorts of community challenges beyond the built in Achievements system.

    All in all, I would recommend Tiny Heroes to anyone who's a fan of tower defense style games. If they're what you love, then you should be very pleased with the purchase. If tower defense really just isn't your thing, I would still recommend Tiny Heroes due to it's unique approach to the genre. I could easily see someone new to the tower defense scene falling in love with Tiny Heroes due to the easy learning curve, various layers of strategy, and ultra high replay value. Tiny Heroes has been a great game so far and I for one can't wait to see what new levels we'll see added in the future.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    I can't stop playing this game! It's one of the best I've ever run into on the app store. Lots of levels, lots of different strategies toI can't stop playing this game! It's one of the best I've ever run into on the app store. Lots of levels, lots of different strategies to try, and the graphics are excellent. The early levels are easy enough for kids to play, but keep the interest of adults with all the different possibilities, too. Then it gets harder after that, but everything is still well-balanced. I especially love the slime defense and the lightning towers! I'd recommend this game for all ages. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    A wide variety of defenses, fun level design, and great artistic character make for a totally addictive experience! Btw, epic wizards hauntA wide variety of defenses, fun level design, and great artistic character make for a totally addictive experience! Btw, epic wizards haunt my dreams. :D Full Review »