Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    90
    Uplink is a classic that works really well on the iPad. I still prefer playing it on a PC though, as it connects closer to the subject matter. At times the game feels a bit too real, and too serious and I really just want to disconnect. This is the main problem with this kind of game: it takes commitment, and can't be played casually.
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    90
    Uplink is a sublime game that hasn't aged a bit, paying the same tribute to the mainstream perception of Hollywood hacking culture that persists today through those same fondly remembered films.
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    82
    Don't let its looks put you off. [Sept 2012, p.111]
  4. Jun 24, 2012
    80
    A mostly text-based affair, Uplink's minimalistic interface still manages to create more tension and excitement than most games we've come across.
  5. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Uplink was a fantastic breath of fresh air 11 years ago and it still feels just as exceptional now. It's the kind of experience that reminds you why gaming can be so rewarding.
  6. Jun 18, 2012
    70
    The things that some people will find clever and immersive about Uplink, others are going to find strange and confusing, but if you fit into the first camp it's a blast of historical futuristic fun.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Ever dreamed to be the "romantic version" of an hacker? To make the good and arrest the bad ones? And, by the way, save the world from a majorEver dreamed to be the "romantic version" of an hacker? To make the good and arrest the bad ones? And, by the way, save the world from a major conspiracy? Or, on the other hand, make it collapse and return to middle ages? Well, that's the object of this game, the best of its kind. The original game, that this port version clones to the limit of perfection, are today somewhat dated. But i still play it some day or another. It was great play the game once more, in a more portable device, and feel the same sensations of the good "bad guy". I only regret that the onlink mod (don't know if it exists anymore) wasn't included, but it was an official mod, so... To the dev, my deepest thanks for the port and two thumbs up! Full Review »