• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: May 24, 2012
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    90
    Tennis is a glamorous and refined sport, and Virtua Tennis Challenge serves up a VIP pass to all of the action.
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    80
    Although it lacks official licenses from the ATP, it offers quite a compelling gameplay and enough control options to satisfy every player.
  3. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    It's got a distinctive charm about it.
  4. May 31, 2012
    80
    So yes, Virtual Tennis Challenge has some issues, and it would have been nice to see actual players instead of made-up dudes, but it's still an entertaining and at times intense sports game with attractive graphics and a fairly deep tournament mode.
  5. May 30, 2012
    80
    Sega releases a great title, focusing on gameplay in simple and straightforward, also presenting an excellent graphics engine.
  6. May 30, 2012
    80
    Even without much real-life influence, Virtua Tennis Challenge accomplishes one key goal: portable tennis action. It may be pricier than most mobile games, but if you enjoy hitting the fuzzy green ball, it'll be well worth your time and cash.
  7. May 30, 2012
    80
    Virtua Tennis Challenge doesn't reach a golden set standard, but despite heavy requirements it's still the Arcade title we've come to know and love.
  8. May 27, 2012
    80
    All the thrills and excitement of its console brothers, with surprisingly dependable controls. A lack of modes and almost useless multiplayer dampens the fun, though.
  9. Jun 15, 2012
    76
    Virtua Tennis Challenge it´s not an amazing tennis game, but it does its job. Tennis fans will enjoy playing this arcade title.
  10. May 31, 2012
    50
    What's there is fun, but at five dollars it's difficult to support Sega's apparent decision to treat Virtua Tennis Challenge as an afterthought.
  11. May 31, 2012
    50
    The biggest challenge in this version of Virtua Tennis is working with the controls.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    I am pretty sure ive purchased every iOs tennis game since the app store was launched. This is the first truly good one. Good enough, in fact,I am pretty sure ive purchased every iOs tennis game since the app store was launched. This is the first truly good one. Good enough, in fact, that i no longer feel the need to play tennis on the PC. The career mode is excellent, qnd although I didn't care for the standard swipe control scheme, I was able to switch to a virtual controller. Its perfect, and very fluid / responsive Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    I am pretty sure ive purchased every iOs tennis game since the app store was launched. This is the first truly good one. Good enough, in fact,I am pretty sure ive purchased every iOs tennis game since the app store was launched. This is the first truly good one. Good enough, in fact, that i no longer feel the need to play tennis on the PC. The career mode is excellent, qnd although I didn't care for the standard swipe control scheme, I was able to switch to a virtual controller. Its perfect, and very fluid / responsive. Full Review »