Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    100
    Wayward Souls is easy enough for anyone to pick up, hard enough to make even the most seasoned players pull out their hair, and a must-play for hack-'n-slash enthusiasts.
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    It’s the kind of game you’ll sit down to play one session of, and the next thing you know you’ve killed the battery on your phone.
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Stunningly beautiful, jam-packed with replay value and secrets, and loaded with tons of great action, Wayward Souls is an absolute must-have.
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    100
    One of the finest action-adventure experiences you can have on any device, let along mobile, Wayward Souls is an essential purchase.
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    100
    Wayward Souls is a roguelike-inspired action-RPG that sets a high bar for other games to compare to.
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    90
    Wayward Souls blend of action and mystery is a compelling mix that instils a sense of determined curiosity every time I pick it up for another round of dungeon crawling. Players that enjoy RPGs and action games will find the challenge, tactical depth and intrigue-laden plot and characters highly rewarding, however a measure of patience is recommended.
  7. May 14, 2014
    90
    Wayward Souls is another hit from Rocketcat Games: a demanding, frustrating but wonderfully executed roguelike that stands out as one of the best mobile games of the year.
  8. May 9, 2014
    90
    It just goes to show that games with bold design and content-rich features can find a home on any platform.
  9. Apr 30, 2014
    90
    Wayward Souls offers engaging gameplay mixed with an expansive world to create a must buy iOS gaming experience.
  10. Jun 29, 2014
    88
    A charming and challenging mobile roguelike, with plenty of depth to justify the cost of admission. [Aug 2014, p.76]
  11. Apr 28, 2014
    88
    Wayward Souls is a fun, very demanding and deep roguelike that should give you plenty of satisfaction.
  12. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    It isn’t perfect, but for anyone who likes action-RPGs or a worthy challenge, Wayward Souls is a solid choice.
  13. Jun 7, 2014
    80
    An extremely enjoyable rogue-like that works really well on iOS (but still, Vita version please). [Issue#249, p.76]
  14. May 8, 2014
    80
    Intense, engaging and devilishly hard Roguelike RPG granted with a very atmospheric 16 bit feeling.
  15. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    Wayward Souls is an intense challenge, but that only makes the feeling of reward all the greater when you finally succeed, and unlock the next multi-floor deathtrap to explore.
  16. May 7, 2014
    78
    The fact that Rocketcat have so aptly nailed the ratio of bitter to sweet is an achievement unto itself: rarely does a game as punishing as Wayward Souls bear up so well under repeated playthroughs.
  17. Apr 25, 2014
    75
    You probably haven’t played anything on iOS to prepare you for Wayward Souls, even its spiritual successor. Some will try this game once and never play it again, while others will revel in the bloodbath.
  18. Apr 30, 2014
    70
    Perhaps the closest there’ll ever be to a portable version of Dark Souls, but the unreliable controls make the punishing difficulty harder to bare.
  19. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    Wayward Souls is teeth-grindingly hard, thanks to some loose controls and punishing perma-death, but high replayability and a smart progression system tease you back into the fray.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    Awesome, what every game on iOS should aspire too, not freemium city building & candy crushing tripe. Rocketcat is a great team and deserves our support. Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    In TA's reviews they say that this game is similar to Dark Souls....and it is. But the thin is...if you've already played dark souls and you have that option available, this game probably isn't that fun. I played this for about an hour. It does seem to have a lot of depth. and its not easy. Seems to be a lot of ways to upgrade this, and attack with this and defend with that. There are many characters to play with as well. Its probably more fun than I had if I played more too. Its just I put down Dark Souls 2 down just awhile ago, and I haven't beat it yet, so I think I'd rather play that before I beat a game that is similar but not as good. Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    This game gets better with every attempt! Honestly, at first I was kind of confused and considered quitting but all the positive reviews kept me playing until I got what this game is all about. The style and gameplay is perfect for the iPhone. The characters offer lots of depth and upgrade potentials. It's quite a difficult game, but within that lies the challenge and ultimately the fun. I'm between a 9 and 10. Considering they are planning multiple updates that will surely improve the game I'm going with a 10! Full Review »