Wayward Souls iOS

Wayward Souls Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wayward Souls is an action-adventure dungeon crawler with randomized levels and permanent death. It features quick, twitch-based combat where tactics, positioning, and timing matter, controlled through touchscreen gestures. Two years in the making, it’s designed for quick playthroughs andWayward Souls is an action-adventure dungeon crawler with randomized levels and permanent death. It features quick, twitch-based combat where tactics, positioning, and timing matter, controlled through touchscreen gestures. Two years in the making, it’s designed for quick playthroughs and lots of replay value. Expand
Stream On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 24, 2014
    100
    Wayward Souls is a roguelike-inspired action-RPG that sets a high bar for other games to compare to.
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Stunningly beautiful, jam-packed with replay value and secrets, and loaded with tons of great action, Wayward Souls is an absolute must-have.
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    100
    Wayward Souls is easy enough for anyone to pick up, hard enough to make even the most seasoned players pull out their hair, and a must-play for hack-'n-slash enthusiasts.
  4. Games Master UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    88
    A charming and challenging mobile roguelike, with plenty of depth to justify the cost of admission. [Aug 2014, p.76]
  5. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    It isn’t perfect, but for anyone who likes action-RPGs or a worthy challenge, Wayward Souls is a solid choice.
  6. May 8, 2014
    80
    Intense, engaging and devilishly hard Roguelike RPG granted with a very atmospheric 16 bit feeling.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    Wayward Souls is teeth-grindingly hard, thanks to some loose controls and punishing perma-death, but high replayability and a smart progression system tease you back into the fray.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Wayward Souls is ridiculously enjoyable! The style just oozes SNES-era Final Fantasy, the mechanics and sounds are very Link to the Past-like,Wayward Souls is ridiculously enjoyable! The style just oozes SNES-era Final Fantasy, the mechanics and sounds are very Link to the Past-like, the energy system is reminiscent of Secret of Mana, and the random generation of levels plays into that Roguelike replayability we're seeing in some recent awesome PC titles like Nuclear Throne. There are secret and special areas, tons of useless but entertaining hats to find and wear, interesting and well-designed enemies, and a strangely compelling narrative, given the randomness.

    Because it's such a challenge, I'd love to use a controller. I think I'll probably also get it on PC for this reason once it's out. Still, Rocketcat did their best with the (invisible) touchscreen controls, and for a Roguelike on a touchscreen device - heck, for *any* game on a touchscreen device - this is top-notch stuff. It's my go-to on iPhone when I'm out, or waiting, or if someone else is using the PC when I want to play Dark Souls 2.
    Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    Awesome, what every game on iOS should aspire too, not freemium city building & candy crushing tripe. Rocketcat is a great team and deservesAwesome, what every game on iOS should aspire too, not freemium city building & candy crushing tripe. Rocketcat is a great team and deserves our support. Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    This game gets better with every attempt! Honestly, at first I was kind of confused and considered quitting but all the positive reviews keptThis game gets better with every attempt! Honestly, at first I was kind of confused and considered quitting but all the positive reviews kept me playing until I got what this game is all about. The style and gameplay is perfect for the iPhone. The characters offer lots of depth and upgrade potentials. It's quite a difficult game, but within that lies the challenge and ultimately the fun. I'm between a 9 and 10. Considering they are planning multiple updates that will surely improve the game I'm going with a 10! Collapse
  4. Jan 30, 2016
    10
    A perfectly executed rogue-like, and finally, a real challenge! This game reminds me of the old classics, where you can't just walk throughA perfectly executed rogue-like, and finally, a real challenge! This game reminds me of the old classics, where you can't just walk through the game, even on the harder difficulty. You really have to earn it, and you'll love every second of it. The difficulty is challenging without seeming totally impossible. You get farther and farther and it keeps you wanting more. The story is fantastic, which is rare these days, and I enjoyed how it unfolded through the plot lines of all six main characters. The game-play is intuitive and feels very natural, which is something lacking from a lot of action games out there right now. The graphics are phenomenal. It's as if they managed to modernize retro graphics - beautiful, yet nostalgic. The lighting in the game is my favorite pack; it gives it a very haunting touch. Replay value is outstanding on this title. The rogue-like nature of the games keeps every play-through different and exciting. Some play-throughs are fairly uneventful, and in others you will stumble across a secret door loaded with treasure, special dialogue, or unique monsters to battle. The hats are surprisingly fun to collect, and now the game features temporary pets as well, which leads me to another replay-value point: the developers are STILL actively releasing MEANINGFUL updates. New features, new dungeon layouts, the pets feature, more hats (I believe), and they are planning to release a new character in the spring with a whole new story line. Best of all, the new content will cost you nothing. This game is 100% pay and play - no in-game advertising or purchase whatsoever. None. This is an all-around fantastic game, and one that is well worth the money! Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2014
    7
    In TA's reviews they say that this game is similar to Dark Souls....and it is. But the thin is...if you've already played dark souls and youIn TA's reviews they say that this game is similar to Dark Souls....and it is. But the thin is...if you've already played dark souls and you have that option available, this game probably isn't that fun. I played this for about an hour. It does seem to have a lot of depth. and its not easy. Seems to be a lot of ways to upgrade this, and attack with this and defend with that. There are many characters to play with as well. Its probably more fun than I had if I played more too. Its just I put down Dark Souls 2 down just awhile ago, and I haven't beat it yet, so I think I'd rather play that before I beat a game that is similar but not as good. Expand

See all 6 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2014 Image
    Published: December 17, 2014
    Inside, we rank the 25 best-reviewed iOS games of the year.