Whale Trail iOS

  • Publisher: ustwo
  • Release Date: Oct 20, 2011
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Stream On
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    90
    Just an absolute joy. With mechanics that are nearly perfect, and a style that is difficult to out-do, this is a game that must be checked out by anyone who likes endless runner games, or anyone who just likes to feel happy while they play. This game is just fun.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    80
    A charming confection that's impossible not to like, with stellar production values and solid gameplay.
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    89
    Whale Trail is one of the best "endless run" on the App Store, thanks to the fantastic mix between atmosphere and gameplay. A great level design and the particular soundtrack complete an already splendid picture.
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    90
    Whale Trail contains all the components of a hit iOS game – colorful visuals, catchy music, a cute main character, and gameplay that's easy for anybody to pick up but hard to master. But somehow, it manages to not feel forced or contrived.
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    70
    It's a breezily entertaining flight through seven coloured environments, though it never quite generates the same feeling of mastery as its inspiration: reaching the Violet Zone for the second time isn't as significant an achievement as diving down to the undulating surface of Island 9.
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    Simple to play, utterly charming, and completely addictive, Whale Trail has all the makings of a great mobile game.
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    75
    Whale Trail is like a pleasant psychedelic daydream that's over before you know it.
  8. Feb 1, 2012
    81
    Within the overcrowded genre of "endless runners" Whale Trail stands out thanks to its psychedelic artdesign, while the mechanics are similar to the likes of Tiny Wings or Jetpack Joyride.
  9. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    'Been there, done that' isn't quite fair to say of a game like Whale Trail. Although it may seem like yet another endless title, its stellar level of presentation; clever level layout variation; and simple control scheme make it worth checking out, even if it doesn't last forever.
  10. Oct 27, 2011
    100
    One of the finest games we've had the privilege of experiencing. It joins Tiny Wings, Angry Birds and Cut the Rope as a handful of quality titles you must absolutely have on either your iPhone or iPad.
  11. Oct 21, 2011
    90
    Replay value is great, as the endless nature gives you plenty of opportunity to best your score and compete against others.
  12. Oct 26, 2011
    90
    Whale Trail's gameplay is simple yet addictive, making it the perfect kind of game for an iPhone.
  13. Oct 21, 2011
    90
    While the perfectly balanced scoring system encourages replays, it's really the presentation, effort and generally cute 60's vibe that makes Whale Trail stand out, alongside that instantly memorable soundtrack from Gruff Rhys. Whale Trail is a refreshing blast of multicoloured fun that will brighten up even the darkest day.
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Be mindful, though, that beyond the visuals, the game offers little new, so don't expect to still be playing it in a year's time.
  15. 100
    Whale Trail is just plain awesome.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Relaxing music, nice graphics and simple to play. I love this game, one-button side-scrolling game, I would suggest it for kids (4+). If IRelaxing music, nice graphics and simple to play. I love this game, one-button side-scrolling game, I would suggest it for kids (4+). If I would have to put the game in one word, I would use mesmerising. Full Review »
  2. Dec 22, 2013
    6
    Whale Trail is a fun and addictive side scroller. During my time playing it, however, I had one question. Why dies this game exist? There areWhale Trail is a fun and addictive side scroller. During my time playing it, however, I had one question. Why dies this game exist? There are no other games like it. Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    7
    Blubble to reach grumpy Thundtracks with Hyper-up