Wild Blood iOS

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    70
    In its finest moments, Wild Blood is a full fledged RPG experience of the same calibre as the greatest ones for the consoles. Unfortunately, bad controls and camera put the damper on all the good fun.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Despite its great graphics (thanks to the use of Unreal Engine 3), 3D battles, and RPGish features, we were ultimately letdown by the clunky controls, silly puzzles, unclear objectives, and persistent hand-holding that dumbed down the gameplay.
  3. Sep 14, 2012
    70
    This seems to be the perpetual theme of Wild Blood: every positive seems to be counter-balanced by an unnecessary negative. The controls, story, gameplay -- even the visual engine itself, all seem to work against the elements that Gameloft do succeed in implementing. It's a shame because Wild Blood has the potential to be a must-have iOS title. Unfortunately, as it stands now, it's a mixed bag.
  4. Sep 12, 2012
    70
    Wild Blood leaves me both hungry for more, and cold for it at the same time. At it's core there is a great hack 'n slash experience, up there in fact with Gameloft's Hero of Sparta series, and at times even God of War (the definitive slasher). However, the constant badgering to spend more money through in-app-purchase leaves a bad taste in the mouth.
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    Wild Blood got my attention thanks to its incredible visuals, but it kept my attention thanks to its varied and satisfying combat. But frustrating camera and control issues hold the title back from greatness.
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    A flawed but enjoyable romp, saved in part by a fun multiplayer mode, Wild Blood isn't vintage Gameloft, but it's entertaining in small chunks.
  7. Sep 12, 2012
    65
    Wild Blood is pure Gameloft standards, and not in a good way: while excellent in terms of graphics and content, the game lacks in originality and sheer fun.
  8. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Despite excellent graphics, Wild Blood suffers from a repetitive, uninspired and superficial gameplay. Unreal Engine and a funny plot aren't enough.
  9. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    If all you want to do is rush in and bash some monsters' skulls, the game satisfies on some level, but considering the problems, it's tough to recommend.
  10. Sep 14, 2012
    50
    Wild Blood is a typical Gameloft product, with extras offered by Unreal Engine. Passionate gamers soon will discover a title that has little to say and that didn't want to adapt the gameplay to the absence of physical controls.
  11. Sep 14, 2012
    50
    On the subject of feeling dated, Wild Blood's multiplayer mode reminds me of a PC game called Rune. This is a high compliment. Rune's multiplayer was sweet and I have tasted nothing like it for years, and while I wouldn't call Wild Blood a spiritual successor, I will say its multiplayer mode was a very pleasant surprise.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    5
    Graphics are okay, compared to some games, the graphic isn't detailed much. The main menu music is good, and addicting. I didn't like the gameGraphics are okay, compared to some games, the graphic isn't detailed much. The main menu music is good, and addicting. I didn't like the game idea. It just feels like 3 Gameloft old games - Backstab, Dungeon Hunter, and Six Guns mixed together, only with a new story, and with a new graphic engine. Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Graphics are good - although compared to Infinity Blade, the details are lacking. Frame-rates slow down all of a sudden sometimes, which isGraphics are good - although compared to Infinity Blade, the details are lacking. Frame-rates slow down all of a sudden sometimes, which is really annoying, and boss fights are either too easy or long and boring. It feels like a mix of six-guns and backstab and dungeon hunter. Cuts-cenes are awkward. If you are downloading it just because it used unreal engine, you will probably be disappointed. However, killing demons in a few well created maps is fun enough. Multiplayer might be much more enjoyable than Single Player. Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    very good game dont know why people hating on it i have been looking for a med-evil type action rpg game finally found it its great graphicsvery good game dont know why people hating on it i have been looking for a med-evil type action rpg game finally found it its great graphics are great gameplay is good but not great story is good music is very chilling and epic multiplayer is great too. The combos and boss fights are sweet overall a great hack and slash game Full Review »