Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Threatened by an unknown enemy, the Earth's governments unite to form a secret paramilitary organization, known as XCOM, to combat this extraterrestrial attack. As the commander of XCOM, you control the global defense team and its resources in a battle against the terrifying alien invasion.Threatened by an unknown enemy, the Earth's governments unite to form a secret paramilitary organization, known as XCOM, to combat this extraterrestrial attack. As the commander of XCOM, you control the global defense team and its resources in a battle against the terrifying alien invasion. XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a reimagining of X-COM, the classic strategy game from 1993, and developed by the award-winning creators of Civilization. You will control the fate of the human race by creating and managing a fully operational base, researching alien technologies, planning combat missions, and controlling soldier movement in battle. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    100
    Everything that we knew about the console version has been brought over with love, affection and a true knowledge of how to use the touch-screen, as well as the sheer power of the iPad, to its absolute potential...XCOM: Enemy Unknown isn’t just one of the best iPad games available, it’s one of the best games available, full stop.
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    100
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is an absolute must buy that officially has changed the entire iOS platform, and our expectations going forward.
  3. A game that looks very nearly as good as did on my Xbox 360 and in some ways plays even better, thanks in large part to intuitive touch screen controls that prove a fine fit for the game’s turn-based action.
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    90
    Not only is XCOM: Enemy Unknown one of 2012s best strategy games, it's also one of the most faithful iOS ports I've ever seen.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    86
    A fantastic strategy sci-fi blast sumptuously, if not gracefully, ported to mobiles. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    85
    Even without the multiplayer or DLC features, it offers more depth than you'll find in most, if not all, other strategy titles in the App store.
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    80
    Despite the lack of multiplayer (we expect this to be added in future updates) XCOM: Enemy Unknown offers an astronomical amount of content, spanning more than one genre. Having said that, the game is not without problems. Game-breaking bugs are frequent and frustrating when they befall you during important missions.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This is the way X-COm should be played. With touch controls, retina graphics for detailed maps and characters, and quicker loading times. TheThis is the way X-COm should be played. With touch controls, retina graphics for detailed maps and characters, and quicker loading times. The 19.99 price is justifiable for all the work that has been done on the console version and for the successful iOS port. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    Having a big price and huge GB taken away from your ios device, XCOM enemy unknown is simply the best game ever made for the ios platform.Having a big price and huge GB taken away from your ios device, XCOM enemy unknown is simply the best game ever made for the ios platform. Stunning visuals, great graphics and engaging sci fi story lives up to its merits. Collapse
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    I have never played any other version of XCOM but the reviews this has been getting made me pay the higher than usual price for IOS version. II have never played any other version of XCOM but the reviews this has been getting made me pay the higher than usual price for IOS version. I am really enjoying it. Its very slick good graphics and really makes you think. The controls can be a little fiddly but because its turn based they are never an issue not like when you are under pressure in RTS. Why should the work that goes into a tittle of this quality not be reflected in the price .I don't call that capitalism I call that business. Simple supply and demand if your principles are that strong don't buy it at the price but miss out on a cracking game Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    As of 12/17/2013, seems like a good port so far. Controls are fine so far, shooting aliens is still as fun as ever, and the graphics are okay.As of 12/17/2013, seems like a good port so far. Controls are fine so far, shooting aliens is still as fun as ever, and the graphics are okay. Honestly, I don't care about the graphics too much.

    Price tag is a little high(same price as console/PC), there is no Enemy Within, but IOS users have the Second Wave difficulty modifiers. Multiplayer occasionally gives you a free win/lose if you are unable to send a turn(try to send a turn and it fails), but thats only happened once so far, so I'm not sure. Xcom Heroes are still in this port, but you have to sign into My2K to use them, which isn't the end of the world.

    Interrogation cutscenes are gone, but the game is already 3 GB, so thats understandable. The game is pretty much one of the few real strategy games on the App Store. Other strategy games on the app store are "Tap to do this job and lose 5 energy." Occasionally when moving a trooper, the game thinks I want to select a different soldier, which can get frustrating.
    Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    My mistake, in my eagerness to review this title I mistakenly posted it on iOS, I have PC. Unfortunately metacritic don't give anyway toMy mistake, in my eagerness to review this title I mistakenly posted it on iOS, I have PC. Unfortunately metacritic don't give anyway to delete a review only to edit what it says... btw the PC version is good. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2013
    6
    This game is almost too simplistic as turn-based tactical games go. The missions are very repetitive. The AI is a bit quirky. My biggestThis game is almost too simplistic as turn-based tactical games go. The missions are very repetitive. The AI is a bit quirky. My biggest complaint was with line of sight issues. Why can't a see an alien twenty feet in front of me standing out in the open? I did finish the game so it had enough draw to keep me playing but at no time did I get that satisfying feeling like when I played Silent Storm years ago. Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    0
    Fantastic game, but completely unplayable. Paid $20 for it on my iPad and it crashes constantly. Erases all your data to your last save point,Fantastic game, but completely unplayable. Paid $20 for it on my iPad and it crashes constantly. Erases all your data to your last save point, and makes you watch a 90 second intro that you cannot skip. When it crashes at least once every 10 minutes, making you lose all saved data, and watch the same long intro for the 100th time that day, the game is frustratingly and unbearably unplayable. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for June 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for June 2013 Image
    Published: June 27, 2013
    Is this the month that iOS became a serious gaming platform? Acclaimed ports of "XCOM: Enemy Unknown" and "Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic" top our roundup of June's best iPhone and iPad games.