• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the old days man tried to catch a glimpse of the future in the strangest of ways.

    Experience the ancient Swedish phenomena of year walking through a different kind of first person adventure that blurs the line between two and three dimensions as well as reality and the supernatural.
    In the old days man tried to catch a glimpse of the future in the strangest of ways.

    Experience the ancient Swedish phenomena of year walking through a different kind of first person adventure that blurs the line between two and three dimensions as well as reality and the supernatural.

    Venture out into the dark woods where strange creatures roam, on a vision quest set in 19th century Sweden. Solve cryptic puzzles, touch and listen in your search to foresee the future and finally discover if your loved one will love you back.

    Mysteries and clues await everywhere in Year Walk, but to fully understand the events that took place on that cold New Year's Eve, you will have to delve deeper than the adventure and lose yourself between fact and fiction.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    100
    Year Walk is a fantastic experience that’s going to stick with me for a while. It’s haunting, mysterious, and is a must-play for those willing to stomach the dark tale it weaves. This is Simogo’s magnum opus.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    The difficulty of explaining Year Walk without giving its secrets away is self-evident at this point. Anyone reading this who has already played it knows what I mean. For the laymen though, and those who are merely curious, I’ll just say that it’s one of the best adventure games I’ve ever played, and also one of the most terrifying horror experiences in recent and bygone memory.
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    90
    Elegant and artful, Year Walk is an unmissable piece of work - and one that is surprisingly hard to disentangle yourself from once it's done. You can close the app and put down the phone, but the forest may spread beyond its glassy confines, its spindly, silver-skinned trees taking root in your own home, your own dreams.
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    90
    A unique, chilling adventure that illustrates the true potential of mobile gaming. [May 2013, p.88]
  5. Mar 23, 2013
    85
    Year Walk makes shivers run down your spine like you’re actually up to your knees in Swedish snow. An uncomfortable and mysterious experience that’s worth trying for the unique style alone.
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    80
    A brisk and energetic horror novella adventure that evokes the fantastic tones of Limbo and The Room. Though it’s a bit hampered by some overly obscure puzzles, it nevertheless bolsters the iOS library with a much-welcomed dose of mature, adult artistry.
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    50
    Year Walk offers a dark atmosphere and cryptic puzzles, but it requires a whole lot of patience.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Do yourself a favor and download this app in addition to the free Companion app. Read the latter before diving into the former. Steer clear ofDo yourself a favor and download this app in addition to the free Companion app. Read the latter before diving into the former. Steer clear of faqs or walkthroughs. Experience these journies for yourself, firsthand... and always, always stay after the credits. Who knows... you might be able to solve this thing. Good luck. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    best. game. ever.
    I played it on the metro every day until I was able to finish it, with a notebook in hand. Then, when I finished, I played
    best. game. ever.
    I played it on the metro every day until I was able to finish it, with a notebook in hand. Then, when I finished, I played it again. There was one part I was never able to solve, so at some point, I will play it again. This is a game for people who have brains and want to use them.
    Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    This is, by far my favorite IPhone game I've ever played! How the atmosphere blends perfectly with the puzzles is brilliant. Speaking ofThis is, by far my favorite IPhone game I've ever played! How the atmosphere blends perfectly with the puzzles is brilliant. Speaking of puzzles, the puzzles were especially well done and very clever. You don't even want to use a walk through by how smart they are. This is the most interactive game I played all year. This is a must download. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    Year Walk shows an expressive display of back and white to tell its folk lore. The game is chilling with horror and fear, and it is one ofYear Walk shows an expressive display of back and white to tell its folk lore. The game is chilling with horror and fear, and it is one of iOS's best. 95/100 Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    This is such a good game! I completely agree with the reviewer who urged against reading walkthroughs or guides before getting the game.This is such a good game! I completely agree with the reviewer who urged against reading walkthroughs or guides before getting the game. Here's what I suggest: download the free companion app and read through the Swedish folklore. If you're intrigued after that, buy the game and enjoy the short, immersive, unforgettable experience. Collapse
  6. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic game! If you're looking for something scary and fun, you've found it. The whole game lasts about an hour and the overallThis is a fantastic game! If you're looking for something scary and fun, you've found it. The whole game lasts about an hour and the overall effect is that of reading a really fantastic short story. I finished the game this morning and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it.

    Also, be warned, it is quite scary for an iOS game, especially if you don't know what to expect. I was playing this last night, and I literally had to stop because it was freaking me out too much.

    Enjoy.
    Expand
  7. May 23, 2014
    1
    Over-hyped and over-rated. Beautiful graphics, beautiful sound, story sucked, gameplay sucked- wish I had passed on it. This is a hollow gameOver-hyped and over-rated. Beautiful graphics, beautiful sound, story sucked, gameplay sucked- wish I had passed on it. This is a hollow game with pointless riddles and puzzles that have nothing to do with furthering the story. It also substitutes cheap surprises (like "Boo! Gotcha!" moments ) for true horror. This game is very silly and lame and about as much fun as solving a math problem for homework. PASS ON IT. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.