• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the old days man tried to catch a glimpse of the future in the strangest of ways.

    Experience the ancient Swedish phenomena of year walking through a different kind of first person adventure that blurs the line between two and three dimensions as well as reality and the supernatural.


    Venture out into the dark woods where strange creatures roam, on a vision quest set in 19th century Sweden. Solve cryptic puzzles, touch and listen in your search to foresee the future and finally discover if your loved one will love you back.

    Mysteries and clues await everywhere in Year Walk, but to fully understand the events that took place on that cold New Year's Eve, you will have to delve deeper than the adventure and lose yourself between fact and fiction.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    100
    Year Walk is a fantastic experience that’s going to stick with me for a while. It’s haunting, mysterious, and is a must-play for those willing to stomach the dark tale it weaves. This is Simogo’s magnum opus.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    The difficulty of explaining Year Walk without giving its secrets away is self-evident at this point. Anyone reading this who has already played it knows what I mean. For the laymen though, and those who are merely curious, I’ll just say that it’s one of the best adventure games I’ve ever played, and also one of the most terrifying horror experiences in recent and bygone memory.
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    90
    Elegant and artful, Year Walk is an unmissable piece of work - and one that is surprisingly hard to disentangle yourself from once it's done. You can close the app and put down the phone, but the forest may spread beyond its glassy confines, its spindly, silver-skinned trees taking root in your own home, your own dreams.
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    90
    A unique, chilling adventure that illustrates the true potential of mobile gaming. [May 2013, p.88]
  5. Mar 23, 2013
    85
    Year Walk makes shivers run down your spine like you’re actually up to your knees in Swedish snow. An uncomfortable and mysterious experience that’s worth trying for the unique style alone.
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    80
    A brisk and energetic horror novella adventure that evokes the fantastic tones of Limbo and The Room. Though it’s a bit hampered by some overly obscure puzzles, it nevertheless bolsters the iOS library with a much-welcomed dose of mature, adult artistry.
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    50
    Year Walk offers a dark atmosphere and cryptic puzzles, but it requires a whole lot of patience.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Do yourself a favor and download this app in addition to the free Companion app. Read the latter before diving into the former. Steer clear of faqs or walkthroughs. Experience these journies for yourself, firsthand... and always, always stay after the credits. Who knows... you might be able to solve this thing. Good luck. Expand
  2. Gid
    Oct 19, 2013
    10
    A must buy from Simogo. This combines unsettling atmosphere with perplexing puzzles and unforgettable story and packs it all into a nice neat package. Plus, you rarely get a game where you are interested enough to research what the game is about.

    If you don't know, year walking is part of Swedish folklore which was said to be able to show you the future. The companion app explains it much better, so I won't go into it.

    This game is best played with the companion app, in the dark, with big headphones on and the sound up. This is more of an experience than a video game. And a brilliant one at that.

    There's not much more to say. Other than that Simogo is the one to watch. To be honest, only more good things can come from them.
    Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    This is, by far my favorite IPhone game I've ever played! How the atmosphere blends perfectly with the puzzles is brilliant. Speaking of puzzles, the puzzles were especially well done and very clever. You don't even want to use a walk through by how smart they are. This is the most interactive game I played all year. This is a must download. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    best. game. ever.
    I played it on the metro every day until I was able to finish it, with a notebook in hand. Then, when I finished, I played
    it again. There was one part I was never able to solve, so at some point, I will play it again. This is a game for people who have brains and want to use them. Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    This is such a good game! I completely agree with the reviewer who urged against reading walkthroughs or guides before getting the game. Here's what I suggest: download the free companion app and read through the Swedish folklore. If you're intrigued after that, buy the game and enjoy the short, immersive, unforgettable experience. Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic game! If you're looking for something scary and fun, you've found it. The whole game lasts about an hour and the overall effect is that of reading a really fantastic short story. I finished the game this morning and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it.

    Also, be warned, it is quite scary for an iOS game, especially if you don't know what to expect. I was playing this last night, and I literally had to stop because it was freaking me out too much.

    Enjoy.
    Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    A game where you are a little girl and there are three entries.What do you do?.....Well you get prepared to change your pants.The game is dark and artistic and can make you jump a little and no i do not mean slender jump.More like if you a horror film and jason pops up jump scare.The game can be scary but interesting at the same time.They put so much artistic like things in the game it makes you wanna continue even tho you yourself cause of that goat that's on the front cover.This is my review seeya! Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.