• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 14, 2001
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarianS.
    Jun 14, 2001
    3
    This game BLOWS!!! The graphics are laughable even at high res. The gameplay stinks, and I don't think they planned out the battle scenes very well because they are pretty F$@%&*!G retarded.
  2. Jessie
    Jun 20, 2003
    1
    This is the worst RPG ever. The only reason I played through it was because it was so stupid it was funny. It wasn't even worth the five bucks I spent on it aside from laughing at it.
  3. Auenfjeewefa.k.a.zz
    Jun 20, 2003
    1
    This game just sucks. The only reason I played through it was because its stupdity was to the point of humor. It wasn't even worth the five bucks I spent on it, besides the laughs it gave me. The whole game is focused around then main character getting poisoned, and every person he runs to sends him on a mini quest to seek out someone who can else help him, who in turn can't This game just sucks. The only reason I played through it was because its stupdity was to the point of humor. It wasn't even worth the five bucks I spent on it, besides the laughs it gave me. The whole game is focused around then main character getting poisoned, and every person he runs to sends him on a mini quest to seek out someone who can else help him, who in turn can't help him so the send him somewhere else, and so on. After awhile you get so annoyed you just end up wishing he'd just go ahead and die. The speed that the poison takes affect is so slow, you start to wonder if he was even poisoned at all. Combat is horrible. The inabilty to revive a dead character is not really as annoying as combat in general. Sometimes you can't get a swing at an enemy much less a decent hit for a bunch of turns. And each battle is so slow. It'd be okay if there weren't hundreds of people to fight. Another thing is the sound. There's hardly any background noise or music, but when a character dies it makes a horribly loud deah screech which is not necessary at all. The graphics are so bad sometimes I couldn't tell what was what. Anyway, if you're an RPG-er who'd like a laugh and have time to blow, I'd definitely recommend this game to you, if you can borrow it from someone. Just don't spend money on it. Expand
  4. CraigA.
    Jun 11, 2001
    3
    This game really sucks. It is way easy to get killed when you have a hit ratio of 2 to 10, while monsters hit more like 5 of 10.
  5. TomB.
    May 5, 2008
    3
    I played this game with the knowledge that it was an RPG with a strong fantasy sense. After reading reviews like those above from users from various game sites, I thought this game would be fantastic. This is sadly not the case, if anything the gameplay is boringly slow. The trudging over this "massive" world is more tedious than fun when compared to other massive games. The mechanics and I played this game with the knowledge that it was an RPG with a strong fantasy sense. After reading reviews like those above from users from various game sites, I thought this game would be fantastic. This is sadly not the case, if anything the gameplay is boringly slow. The trudging over this "massive" world is more tedious than fun when compared to other massive games. The mechanics and the limiting movement in battle mars this title's possible accomplishments. It doesn't lack story or graphics to much degree, but the gameplay at it's core is unbelievably boring and trivial. This game should not be given a ten based on simple things like graphics or amount of characters. Skip this game. Expand
  6. GamerG.
    Jul 27, 2001
    2
    This game is horrible. The graphics are primitive and the layout is frustrating. Battle is extremely slow and time consuming. Just a little more thought could have improved the poor battle layout.
  7. JoeC.
    Feb 26, 2003
    2
    This game isn't worth a minute of your time. The overall plot was actually okay. presented horribley and trying to make a games elements real while forgetting all the rest like the fricken combat 9if you've played for that long) felt like you swing hit them or miss them half the time showing mercy I'd say this game was rotted by bad development come on. THQ hasn't ever This game isn't worth a minute of your time. The overall plot was actually okay. presented horribley and trying to make a games elements real while forgetting all the rest like the fricken combat 9if you've played for that long) felt like you swing hit them or miss them half the time showing mercy I'd say this game was rotted by bad development come on. THQ hasn't ever come up with a game that wasn't a snorefest. Expand
  8. Jan 19, 2014
    3
    This game crushed my soul. It's got a dead, massive, empty world. The combat is painstakingly awkward. The graphics are so terrible that they make you want to gouge your eyes out, and inserting the expansion pack only gives you framerate stutter for some reason. The music isn't great, and it's usually not present any. There are almost no sounds except for your own headache-inducingThis game crushed my soul. It's got a dead, massive, empty world. The combat is painstakingly awkward. The graphics are so terrible that they make you want to gouge your eyes out, and inserting the expansion pack only gives you framerate stutter for some reason. The music isn't great, and it's usually not present any. There are almost no sounds except for your own headache-inducing footsteps for hours on end. And for all of your effort wandering around the bland world aimlessly, fighting banal monsters over and over again, your main character never stops looking like an embarrassing dweeb. Still, I might be insane, but the story was actually passable. If it could be remade with modern graphics, filled with sidequests, some way to let you know what to do next, and a good battle system, I see it being extremely enjoyable. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. It's a shame that Aidyn's slow pace and plodding combat mean many of its pluses will be discovered only by the most stubborn players out there.
  2. After prodding through this journey over the past week, I can assure hopeful N64 players that this game isn't worth your time, money, or effort.
  3. This attempt to add strategy to combat brings the entire gaming experience (slowly) crashing down, and ruins any chance of the gamer enjoying the story being presented.