• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 14, 2001
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FredB.
    May 1, 2003
    10
    IT ROCKSSSS!!!!
  2. EJN.
    Oct 27, 2001
    9
    Awesome, the best rpg n64 has yet!!
  3. Johnr
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    i hate reading all the negative comments floating about concerning this game.. the n64 only has soomuch potential.. you have to consider, this game is huge, theres alot of dialoge, and theres manny items, weapons, and different types of monsters to fight. the game play and story is alittle slow and drawn out at first.. which is probably why it gets a bad reputation.. players who are used i hate reading all the negative comments floating about concerning this game.. the n64 only has soomuch potential.. you have to consider, this game is huge, theres alot of dialoge, and theres manny items, weapons, and different types of monsters to fight. the game play and story is alittle slow and drawn out at first.. which is probably why it gets a bad reputation.. players who are used to zelda and others are spoiled by pretty visuals.. those games are nice and crisp looking.. where aidyn is a bit muddy and has a blended look to it.. however there is alot to make up for it.. the storylike is amazing.. the people who say it sucks and doesent draw you in, must not know how to take there time and read or something.. there is alot in this game that makes it unique and worth playing.. other games such as final fantasy dont compare to this game.. i personally got verry annoyed with the cutscenes and music in the line of ff games.. the legend of zelda was great though.. this game is turned based.. and they have done a fantastic job of balancing everything out.. the music here has a deep and natural feel to it.. theres no techno, or modern musical sounds.. it all fits.. the music sounds natural in the sence that theres drums,, chanting, flutes and other sounds.. instead of the gutar, and other sounds.. another way to sum up just how this game feels.. its not a happy jump around and dance game.. its a game for deep meaningfull intellegent people who have the time to appreciate something.. if you are a fan of games where you rent it and beat it in a night or two games.. you will be sadly dissapointed.. i am a verry experienced Zelda OOT player and aidyn player.. oot takes me about 2 days to beat.. aidyn takes about 4... if it was your 1st time playing OOT id say it would take about a week.. so doubble that for aidyn :D to sum up how i feel.. this game is the best singleplayer game for n64. as a little tip.. try this game on emulators if you can.. it looks much better and cleaner on computer.. you can enable aa and af.. and you get better framerates. there is no gamepack corruption.. so takeaway all the bugs and flaws.. if you can emulate it.. u Expand
  4. DanielV.
    Jan 9, 2002
    10
    The best game ever!!!
  5. NickW.
    Jun 19, 2002
    10
    I think it was one of the best games I have ever played and Craig A. can kiss major butt because he dont know what he is talking about and any followers like Craig can follow him. Oh... and if you are reading this creater of one of the best games ever made[Aidyn Chronicals:The First Mage] I just want to say I am looking for this game.
  6. I_skateboardbecause_its_fun
    Jul 23, 2002
    9
    This is a really great game for somebody who wants to sit down at 8 or 9 when you are doing nothing. This is one of those games that you don't finish in two weeks (cough cough zelda cough) and you don't follow the same road every time you play it so to speak. yes the controlls are hard to figure out, but unless you are a dumbass (namely those gameshark dudes) it's not that This is a really great game for somebody who wants to sit down at 8 or 9 when you are doing nothing. This is one of those games that you don't finish in two weeks (cough cough zelda cough) and you don't follow the same road every time you play it so to speak. yes the controlls are hard to figure out, but unless you are a dumbass (namely those gameshark dudes) it's not that hard to open a f...ing instruction book and read a couple pages. THAT'S WHY THEY MAKE INSTRUCTION BOOKS! Expand
  7. JohnW.
    Sep 22, 2004
    9
    This game is great, the battles were a little too long at first but after you get your dexterity up it goes much faster, the people who made this game knew there way around fantasy, some people are saying that there's not many secrets to find in the world of aidyn,they are not looking hard enough because i found many.i think this game is made for people with soul.
  8. TreborR.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    This was the first RPG video game I played and fell in love with it. Great storyline--(who wrote the script?) great imagination and execution. If I had to change anything would be I'd like to have had voice talent preferably from a British Cast. The graphics were simple but effective as were the music and sound effects. This is a nugget of a game that will grow on you like a classic. Enjoy!
  9. B-NIZ
    Nov 20, 2001
    10
    This game is awesome!!!
  10. KevinM.
    Oct 17, 2001
    9
    Hmmm..... I thought this was a great game, with a few exceptions. I loved how large the game was and the fact that I could explore the vast lands in the game. The only thing that I really couldn't stand about this game was that once one of the characters were killed, they didn't come back. This made me constantly save before almost every battle in fear that one of my characters Hmmm..... I thought this was a great game, with a few exceptions. I loved how large the game was and the fact that I could explore the vast lands in the game. The only thing that I really couldn't stand about this game was that once one of the characters were killed, they didn't come back. This made me constantly save before almost every battle in fear that one of my characters would die. I thought the story was great and well thought out. I also appreciated the combat system, which was a refreshing change from standing in a line and attacking. This system made me think at least a little bit. I think that newbie RPGers who can't get past the horrible graphics and sound and missing out on a great RPG, maybe my favorite RPG behind FF7 and FF9. This could have been an immensely popular title if THQ had waited a little longer and tweaked the sound and graphics of the game. Too bad. I thought this was an overall great game. Expand
  11. AlexT.
    Jun 1, 2001
    10
    Awesome!!
  12. KafkaF.
    Jan 31, 2002
    9
    I am a hardcore gamer, having played nearly every game known to human kind, I would have to say those top mags are full of "stuff". Though Aidyn Chronicles may be slow paced to some, anyone who has played, ACTUALLY played a D&D game would understand that RPG's by definitine are slow, and boring to all you sugar-poppies. The soundtrack was strange enough to promote the same ambiance I am a hardcore gamer, having played nearly every game known to human kind, I would have to say those top mags are full of "stuff". Though Aidyn Chronicles may be slow paced to some, anyone who has played, ACTUALLY played a D&D game would understand that RPG's by definitine are slow, and boring to all you sugar-poppies. The soundtrack was strange enough to promote the same ambiance as ancient games like Ultima or D&D silverblade and pool of radiance. I would have given this game a 10, but the game lost fraction points for HIGH RES problems, but the game is still very good in low res. The best part of the game is the lengthy, but intellegent battle systems. The worst part is I haven't figured out how to revive character (without a gameshark of course) Expand
  13. Beavarius
    Apr 4, 2002
    10
    As someone who loves to play D&D and any RPG game that is good, which limits me to FF7 and FF9, I really enjoyed Aidyn. Aidyn Chronicles is essentially D&D as a video game. One of it's little flaws are that you can't revive dead party members and the game crashes sometimes. Other than that you have a great adventure with a story that is different from the usual RPG "Kill the As someone who loves to play D&D and any RPG game that is good, which limits me to FF7 and FF9, I really enjoyed Aidyn. Aidyn Chronicles is essentially D&D as a video game. One of it's little flaws are that you can't revive dead party members and the game crashes sometimes. Other than that you have a great adventure with a story that is different from the usual RPG "Kill the evil guy and marry the king's daughter". It's about a young squire named Alaron who is poisened by goblins and must find a cure. It sounds shallow but I'm not in the mood to write a long review. Any RPG lovers dream game and a game that might make someone who despises RPG's start to like them. It's excellent, 'nuff said. Expand
  14. BobF.
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome!!! Even though I don't know that much about RPG's I do know a thing or two about fantasy. When you can take a game and make people feel like they're part of it. It is something very interesting indeed. Oh and one more thing. All you a...holes who are dissing on this game because of freaking graphics really need to get a life. If you are such a hard This game is awesome!!! Even though I don't know that much about RPG's I do know a thing or two about fantasy. When you can take a game and make people feel like they're part of it. It is something very interesting indeed. Oh and one more thing. All you a...holes who are dissing on this game because of freaking graphics really need to get a life. If you are such a hard player you would know that image isn't everything. Besides this games for N64 of course the graphics aren't going to be as good as a PS2 or X-box game. Expand
  15. Glacier
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    I just bought the game and i like it so far.
  16. JohnM.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    Ok to sum it all up dont play this game if you are the type of gamer who likes fast paced games but if you have time on you're hands GET THIS GAME!!! i am in love with this game it is my favroite game i even have dreams about playing this game i even bought 2 copy's just incase i lost 1 or something happend to one GET THIS!!!!
  17. Quincy
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    This Is One Of the Best Games Ever . the world is the BIGGEST one i have ever seen in any game and the music is really great. i really love that you can choose about 13 palyable chararters and that you can train them however you whant. i also love the great storyline . The only thing i did'nt liked where the graphics but the game is so amazing that it doesn't really notice. i This Is One Of the Best Games Ever . the world is the BIGGEST one i have ever seen in any game and the music is really great. i really love that you can choose about 13 palyable chararters and that you can train them however you whant. i also love the great storyline . The only thing i did'nt liked where the graphics but the game is so amazing that it doesn't really notice. i really recomened this game. Expand
  18. JohnS.
    Apr 28, 2007
    9
    Pros: Immersive world that is huge! It also contains plenty of hidden secrets, which are very well hidden. Every aspect of the character can be customized. Dialogue fits each character. Slow but fun combat system. The world itself is gorgeous. Enemies can be seen on the world map and the world just flows into itself nicely, fans of Hyrule Field in OOT will be amazed at how seas blend into Pros: Immersive world that is huge! It also contains plenty of hidden secrets, which are very well hidden. Every aspect of the character can be customized. Dialogue fits each character. Slow but fun combat system. The world itself is gorgeous. Enemies can be seen on the world map and the world just flows into itself nicely, fans of Hyrule Field in OOT will be amazed at how seas blend into mountains blend into forests all with textures that match OOT. Cons: The characters for the most part are lacking. Animation also seems rather lacking. The game is a bit hard at first, but it eventually levels out. Expand
  19. JustinF.
    Jul 14, 2001
    10
    It's a cool castle game.
  20. CaedenH.
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    This is a very good RPG for patcient, laid back RPG fans. It has a wonderfuly complex storyline, a huge world, and the potential for a great remake. It is also VERY unique as far as storyline and gameplay go. There isn't a game like it. Its too bad that the big critics gave it such a bad rap. I love the game and would like to see a remake. I would say the only problem is that the This is a very good RPG for patcient, laid back RPG fans. It has a wonderfuly complex storyline, a huge world, and the potential for a great remake. It is also VERY unique as far as storyline and gameplay go. There isn't a game like it. Its too bad that the big critics gave it such a bad rap. I love the game and would like to see a remake. I would say the only problem is that the graphics give me a headache but they really arent that bad for n64. In short it was a good game made at the wrong time for the wrong crowd. I wish they would remake it for Xbox with all the errors fixed. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. It's a shame that Aidyn's slow pace and plodding combat mean many of its pluses will be discovered only by the most stubborn players out there.
  2. After prodding through this journey over the past week, I can assure hopeful N64 players that this game isn't worth your time, money, or effort.
  3. This attempt to add strategy to combat brings the entire gaming experience (slowly) crashing down, and ruins any chance of the gamer enjoying the story being presented.