Banjo-Kazooie Nintendo 64
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 166
  2. Negative: 6 out of 166

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Banjo Kazooie is a masterpiece on the Nintendo 64. It has very fun gameplay and platforming that you just cannot find anywhere else except probably Tooie. The levels are all fun with very fun missions and cool things to collect; It has some good challenges and puzzles and level designs. However, it's not just the gameplay that makes this such an amazing game, it's also the wit and humor this game has to offer. The characters are so unforgettable and awesome and you will probably find plenty of moments in this game that are full of good comedy. Banjo-Kazooie is one of the greatest platformers ever made, I honestly thought it was way better than Super Mario 64. This game is a must-own for any Nintendo 64 owner; it's such a shame that Rare can't make anymore quality games like this anymore. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Beautiful game, colors, sound, and gameplay, Banjo Kazooie is the best platformer for the nintendo 64, and one of the best of all time. Despite being a collectethon, it makes no difference because the game is based around it. Whenever you discover anything in Banjo, you get rewarded with a variety of prizes. Grant Kirkhope composed one of the best soundtracks in any game, from the start screen, to the final boss music, any song is atmospheric, and creative. Banjo captures the golden age of Rare, one without Microsoft, and what it means to be truly creative Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best adventure/platformer ever made. I have played and beaten this game sooo many times, I've lost count. Super Mario 64 made 3d platformers what it is today and this game takes all those ideas and perfects them.

    I can honsetly not think of a single flaw this game has, not a single annoying aspect I would change. And that has not happened to me before or ever since. So this
    is as close to a perfect video game as you're gonna get, Imo.

    I you haven't experienced the greatness, fun and entertaining value this game has to offer, then you're missing out on the best the video game industry has to offer. Well done Rare!
    Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Oh man, this game was and still is brilliant. I just wish games like this were still produced. I mean the worlds were just so atmospheric and immersive, the humor was witty, And Oh boy the music! God, by far my favorite video game soundtrack eva! It suited each world perfectly and added that much more to the atmosphere of the game. I really can't think of a single negative point about it. Dare I say this game holds the spot for my personal favorite game of all time. Oh you better believe it.
    R.I.P Rare.
    Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    At the time of release the graphics were excellent. It has a fantastic soundtrack and brilliant level design. However, when compared with the other "big" platformer on the console Mario 64, it does not get even close. Although with both game being very early on in terms of 3d platformers, and they both played large roles in setting the standards for future platformers, Mario 64 wins out. This is because in Banjo Kazooie, particularly now (but I remember having problems in the past) has awful controls. Theres something about it the just seems slow, almost unflowing. Especially when swimming. However, the nostalgic feel plus the awesome gameplay still allows Banjo to stack up as one of the greatest platformers of all time Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    It was the first game I've played and maybe it's just the nostalgia, but it was already the best. Yes this is my favorite game of all time, and I think this status will never have another game for me, except of the sequel 'Banjo Tooie', but they are equally good.
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    Banjo Kazooie is one of the best platformers of its time and even to this day. Offering a unique storyline that has several humorous twists, revolutionizing gameplay, incredible sound track, and amazing graphical display Banjo Kazooie is bound to take you away from the usual adventure platforming that you were used to from playing Super Mario if you were interested in platforms before or will introduce you to a whole new world of a gaming experience which to this day proves that there are better platformers out there than Mario. Enjoy Nine distinct worlds and a even bigger outerworld as you journey through the world of Banjo Kazooie! Expand
  8. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I have no words for this game. It stands as a masterpiece in many gamers' hearts, as well as mine. Many who say, "Oh, it's just another Mario 64," get your cranium checked. Yeah, it was a collect-a-thon much, but it isn't derogatory in the case of Banjo-Kazooie. It was built around the idea of collecting objects to progress further, which added a deep sense of progression. RareWare may be dead now, but this game should still remind us that they can indeed make great games. Expand
  9. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    If you love Super Mario 64, I bet you'll heart this as well. Even though Banjo Kazooie can be a bit childish at times, it is actually a fun and rewarding game that surprises even the biggest critics. Story (7): could be better, this is where the childish aspect shines. The witch is pretty annoying and the least bit scary. Graphics (9): For its time Banjo Kazooie offered some of the richest graphics. The world diversity is similar to Mario 64, and in some parts is even more detailed. Sound (7): Some of the environments sound ok but most of the music and noises get repetitive. Gameplay (9): Feels similar to Mario 64 with a little more diversity, being able to play as 2 characters. You will notice the controls are rather responsive. The game-play surprisingly is where this game shines, the world is fun to explore and collect the extras. Endgame: (8) The game will take some time to complete, and there is a lot of secrets to go after. Some sort of multi-player support would have been nice. Overall Banjo Kazooie was a worthwhile experience, and even though the witch was annoying she sure was a ***** to kill at the end. Overall: 8 Expand
  10. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    An outstanding game made by one of the greatest developers on the planet: Rareware. The amount of moves Banjo and Kazooie have at their disposal is just staggering. The difficulty and the graphics might scare away younger gamers, but for its time, this game was a masterpiece. The graphics themselves are vibrant and colorful, albeit simple. The stages provide quite a challenge, especially the last ones (Rusty Bucket Bay comes to mind). The final battle with Gruntilda is difficult but satisfying. Great game. If you think you can get past the outdated controls and visuals, you owe it to yourself to play this game. Expand
  11. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    I loved this game as a kid, playing it at my grandparents' house on weekdays after school. Recently, I got an N64 again and tried the game again. I found it to be just as magical of an experience as it was back then. Banjo-Kazooie is an inspired platformer with great game-play that differs a lot from the other platformers of the N64 era. Similar to Mario games, this game will have you running around trying to collect puzzle pieces to unlock even more incredible levels and it never gets boring. Expand
  12. May 22, 2012
    10
    Another N64 classic. Is very Super Mario 64-like, but that's something good. This game brings its own mechanics. There are lots of skills that allow you to gain access to new levels as you learn to use them. There are lots of levels, enemies and tasks. In general terms, is a beautiful and very funny game. Must play.
  13. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    I don't know how this game does it. You have to collect 100 notes, 10 jigsaws, 5 jingos, etc. in each level. It seems like the concept of just collecting various little trinkets scattered across the level would be boring and repetitive but it's the complete opposite. The art style, the music, the humorous story, everything about this game is awesome, and I'll be replaying it years from now.
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Who needs Super Mario 64 when you can play as a bear teamed up with a bird in a back-pack in Banjo-Kazooie? Banjo-Kazooie may had the same concept gameplay as Super Mario 64 did, but the game did offer really creative levels, a quirky style and a different take in the gameplay to make the whole experience in Banjo-Kazooie acceptable. Rareware did a magnificent job creating these humorous characters that quickly became charming and fun throughout the game. The presentation in visuals is outstanding for a 1998 game on the N64 and the overall game soundtrack is extremely catchy to match the Banjo universe perfectly. Like Super Mario 64, Banjo-Kazooie is one of those titles you do not know when to put the controller down. The game is entirely fun with solid puzzle challenges and great exploration through each and every location. However, the game can be really nerve wrecking at times if you plan to complete the game at 100% or playing later portions of the game such as the final boss with Gruntilda. Believe me, beating her to finish the game is pretty difficult. In results, Banjo-Kazooie is a solid platformer containing jigsaw piece to find and birds to fire eggs out of their butts. I highly recommend anyone to get Banjo-Kazooie to any fans of platforming games or video games in general. It's definitely a game you will not get disappointed with. Collapse
  15. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    i still remember clearly the impresions this game caused me when i played it for the 1st time, it had never seen before graphics, a lot of moves, so many things to do, amazing sense of freedom.....but not better than super mario 64 IMO
  16. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    Great game but a little choppy. the reason i gave it a seven is that i just don't like a lot. i should like it. its right up my ally, but theres just this element to it i find "un-fun"
  17. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  18. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Banjo-Kazooie is in my opinion one of the greatest games ever made. The graphics are amazing for it's time, playing it today just really gets you into that nostalgic feel! How the characters act and sound is pretty much unique to this game, the hilarious bosses and the wide range of maps, challenges, upgrades, transformations and terrain makes this game simply amazing. The soundtrack is also exceptionally good!

    Thank you, Rare, Thank you so very much.
    Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Who needs Super Mario 64 when you can play as a bear teamed up with a bird in a back-pack in Banjo-Kazooie? Banjo-Kazooie may had the same concept gameplay as Super Mario 64 did, but the game did offer really creative levels, a quirky style and a different take in the gameplay to make the whole experience in Banjo-Kazooie acceptable. Rareware did a magnificent job creating these humorous characters that quickly became charming and fun throughout the game. The presentation in visuals is outstanding for a 1998 game on the N64 and the overall game soundtrack is extremely catchy to match the Banjo universe perfectly. Like Super Mario 64, Banjo-Kazooie is one of those titles you do not know when to put the controller down. The game is entirely fun with solid puzzle challenges and great exploration through each and every location. However, the game can be really nerve wrecking at times if you plan to complete the game at 100% or playing later portions of the game such as the final boss with Gruntilda. Believe me, beating her to finish the game is pretty difficult. In results, Banjo-Kazooie is a solid platformer containing jigsaw piece to find and birds to fire eggs out of their butts. I highly recommend anyone to get Banjo-Kazooie to any fans of platforming games or video games in general. It's definitely a game you will not get disappointed with. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Unfortunately, the sound is pretty much a mix of "Mario 64" and "Diddy Kong Racing" leftovers. A grunt here, a guffaw there, it's all been done to death.
  2. Banjo-Kazooie isn't going to win any awards for originality, but who really cares? If you have to borrow a little to make a fun, absorbing adventure, so be it.
  3. 96
    Features the best graphics we've seen on the console, it one-ups Mario 64 in terms of gameplay, it sounds astounding and it may just be the most clever title we've ever played.