User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 24, 2011
    6
    Have any of you played through the full adventure mode? Okay this game is fuun, and adds alot more to mario karts formula. but the single player adventure gets SO BORING! if i remebre, you have to beat like every track 4-5 times just to beat the adventure mode... and i did. Oh and when you do that, you can do adventure 2... all of the tracks are just backwards... ADVENTURE HO!
  2. Jan 24, 2011
    9
    What a great game. You could spend hours and hours on this and not notice. A great game to play on your own or with a group of friends. One of the best games of the N64 era.
  3. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    This game is one of those classics you have to have for n64. it was one of them that you drift in. i love it. maybe its just because i grew up with it. maybe.................................FILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfillerFILLERfillerfilllerfillerfiller Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    A copy-cat of Mario Kart 64 , nether-less is a packed fun game with more interactions and more diversity in the tracks. In fact, it could be even better than Mario Kart 64. The music tunes reminds good times for those that played back then.
  5. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    Real fun to play and easy better then mario kart 64 with the graphics and all the vehicles in it.
  6. May 29, 2012
    9
    Mario Kart-style racer with the characters from Donkey Kong. Long and funny game, very addictive. Although it copies Mario Kart, also DKR knows how to bring some new ideas like planes (so you can fly instead of just drive). Very good game in general terms.
  7. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    Not all companies can make as fun of a kart racer as Nintendo did with Mario Kart, but Rare was a very close second on the N64 with Diddy Kong Racing. As with other competitive "racers," such as Mario Kart and 1080, this game will have you screaming in joy as your friends pass you again after you just barely nudged ahead. The controls are very fluid and work well even with the N64's oft-awkward controller. Rare made another blockbuster with this game. Expand
  8. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    This is really hard for me to say but its the truth, this game is way better than MarioKart 64. I think that it was just so much better than a simple kart game. This was a weird, creepy, and the best part tons of fun! The whole point of this game was to kill a pig king or some really lame story that no one really carries about, but the thing that people really liked was the way you raced. I was like a 6 year old the last time I played this game and will always love the fact that you can pick a character that really you never heard of other than diddy, banjo, and the other monkey girl that was DK's sister, other than that the characters were all unknown and that was the best cause it felt like an original game even tho really this characters were over shadowed by the giant blue elephant genie that was always in my nightmares and will never leave. The actual races were the best you moves from the road to the sky and the water, this game was very awesome and it only took almost twenty years for Mariokart to steal this and make it there own. I love this game and I hate racing games, one of the greats for one of the best systems ever. Expand
  9. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    First off I love this game! It's just as fun as Mario Kart, but with carts, hovercrafts, and planes. The gameplay is fun, the music rocks, and the graphics are beautiful.

    Diddy Kong Racing is just awesome. Score: 4/5.
  10. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    Diddly kong racing is a great racing game it's like mario kart but it's different in the same way. You race in karts ,boats and planes The level design is great and it's an amazing game buy it now
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Though it tries to be Kiddy Kong, Diddy Kong Racing is not a kiddie game. This is challenging, full blown racing at its best.
  2. Diddy Kong Racing is almost too good to be true. It is an exquisitely animated, color-rich racing game that bubbles over with character and charm. A triumph.
  3. All I can say is that this is what Mario Kart 64 should have been. Awesome.