Diddy Kong Racing Nintendo 64

Diddy Kong Racing Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Timber the Tiger's parents picked a fine time to go on vacation. When they come back, they're going to be faced with an island trashed by the spiteful space bully Wizpig - unless the local animals can do something about it! So join Diddy Kong as he teams up with Timber the Tiger, Pipsy theTimber the Tiger's parents picked a fine time to go on vacation. When they come back, they're going to be faced with an island trashed by the spiteful space bully Wizpig - unless the local animals can do something about it! So join Diddy Kong as he teams up with Timber the Tiger, Pipsy the Mouse and Taj the Genie in an epic racing adventure unlike anything you've ever experienced before! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Diddy Kong Racing is almost too good to be true. It is an exquisitely animated, color-rich racing game that bubbles over with character and charm. A triumph.
  2. 100
    Take Diddy for a test drive and you'll be hooked. It's the smoothest ride you can buy this holiday season.
  3. 100
    "Mario Kart's" (at least the original one, anyway) biggest strength was its multiplayer mode and of course DKR does what Nintendo did but better.
  4. Buy Diddy Kong Racing for the very good Adventure mode, but don't expect multiplayer action on the same level as the Mario Kart series.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    DKR looks better than "Mario Kart," but it's a little too cutesy for us. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  6. 84
    Diddy Kong Racing is an excellent follow-up to the somewhat controversial "Mario Kart," improving on all of the game's weaknesses and inventing a few new additions of its own. It's the best kart game we've ever seen.
  7. Artificially lengthening games by making you do the same thing over and over again is my vote for the worst trend in gaming … even though this is a much better game than Kart 64 ever was.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Aug 1, 2016
    10
    This game is nostalgic and amazing. I think its better than Mario Kart 64 and that is most of the time said the best racer on the N64 but thisThis game is nostalgic and amazing. I think its better than Mario Kart 64 and that is most of the time said the best racer on the N64 but this game has more and is MORE nostalgic. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    This is really hard for me to say but its the truth, this game is way better than MarioKart 64. I think that it was just so much better than aThis is really hard for me to say but its the truth, this game is way better than MarioKart 64. I think that it was just so much better than a simple kart game. This was a weird, creepy, and the best part tons of fun! The whole point of this game was to kill a pig king or some really lame story that no one really carries about, but the thing that people really liked was the way you raced. I was like a 6 year old the last time I played this game and will always love the fact that you can pick a character that really you never heard of other than diddy, banjo, and the other monkey girl that was DK's sister, other than that the characters were all unknown and that was the best cause it felt like an original game even tho really this characters were over shadowed by the giant blue elephant genie that was always in my nightmares and will never leave. The actual races were the best you moves from the road to the sky and the water, this game was very awesome and it only took almost twenty years for Mariokart to steal this and make it there own. I love this game and I hate racing games, one of the greats for one of the best systems ever. Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2017
    10
    At a first glance, Diddy Kong Racing doesn't look all that special but there's a good reason it has stayed my all time favorite racing gameAt a first glance, Diddy Kong Racing doesn't look all that special but there's a good reason it has stayed my all time favorite racing game for this long. DKR is jam packed full of content. Tons of characters, maps, battle stages, collectables, and more make DKR feel as much like a single player adventure as it does a multiplayer racing game. When your add the mirrored courses and silver coin missions to the mix, there is a ton of content in the main campaign. I haven't even mentioned the multiple vehicles, which not only add variety to the game overall, but to each stage as well as many stages are designed around multiple vehicles with alternate routes and shortcuts to discover. The stackable powerup upgrades are also something that makes this game more fun and unique. Great music, graphics, gameplay, and variety makes this game special. Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2011
    9
    What a great game. You could spend hours and hours on this and not notice. A great game to play on your own or with a group of friends. One ofWhat a great game. You could spend hours and hours on this and not notice. A great game to play on your own or with a group of friends. One of the best games of the N64 era. Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    A copy-cat of Mario Kart 64 , nether-less is a packed fun game with more interactions and more diversity in the tracks. In fact, it could beA copy-cat of Mario Kart 64 , nether-less is a packed fun game with more interactions and more diversity in the tracks. In fact, it could be even better than Mario Kart 64. The music tunes reminds good times for those that played back then. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    First off I love this game! It's just as fun as Mario Kart, but with carts, hovercrafts, and planes. The gameplay is fun, the music rocks, andFirst off I love this game! It's just as fun as Mario Kart, but with carts, hovercrafts, and planes. The gameplay is fun, the music rocks, and the graphics are beautiful.

    Diddy Kong Racing is just awesome. Score: 4/5.
    Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2011
    6
    Have any of you played through the full adventure mode? Okay this game is fuun, and adds alot more to mario karts formula. but the singleHave any of you played through the full adventure mode? Okay this game is fuun, and adds alot more to mario karts formula. but the single player adventure gets SO BORING! if i remebre, you have to beat like every track 4-5 times just to beat the adventure mode... and i did. Oh and when you do that, you can do adventure 2... all of the tracks are just backwards... ADVENTURE HO! Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1997
#5 Most Shared N64 Game of 1997