Donkey Kong 64 Nintendo 64
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 102
  2. Negative: 8 out of 102

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    So many items to collect in the game. You play as 5 different DK crew characters: Donkey Kong, Diddy Kong, Tiny Kong, Lanky Kong, and Chunky Kong. There are a lot of fun places in the game and the missions add even more fun to the game, especially the bosses.
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    Okay, this game was so ridiculous and the whole time I kept thinking how retarded the game was....But it was so addicting :D Some how it entranced me to play the game 101 percent through. This game was very fun, addicting, and challenging. A truly great game, just wish it wasn't so corny.
  3. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    Its a good jump ´n run and worth to play but its not overwhelming.
  4. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    For a good 3D game similar to Super Mario 64 it sits well, for a follow up to Donkey Kong Country... not so much. I am a huge fan of the Donkey Kong Country series, DK 64 takes it in a different direction and overall does a decent job. Story (8): Same ol' good ol' story here of King K being a banana thief and reacking havoc on DK's life. Graphics (9) Damn good, pretty much the best 64 has to offer. The island is pretty cool, does feel a bit like DKC and has some rich areas. Sound (8): Some of the music and sounds bring back memories and some other music is pretty mediocre. Gameplay (9): Definitely a fun game to play, the controls are nice and the areas are diverse. There is actually a lot to do, you can interact with other characters as you progress and they can unlock different content for you. Endgame (8): The game is fairly large, and there are a lot of extra things to collect and areas to explore. You will notice as you travel many areas are off-limits at first but open up later. Overall Nintendo did a pretty good job bringing us back DK and his friends. I personally prefer DK in a 3D platform enviroment, but if you like open world exploring games such as Mario 64 or Banjo Kazooie, this games absolutely worth a shot. Overall: 8 Expand
  5. May 27, 2014
    9
    Graphics: 10 Sound: 10 Gameplay: 9 Fun/Story: 9

    Another great game and a fine graphics example of N64 capacities. Although not being a DK fan, this game really made me fun and smile.
  6. May 29, 2012
    8
    Pretty good platform arcade game. Although it shares some Super Mario 64 mechanics, having 5 characters at our disposal assures lots of hours of fun. Every map has hidden and hard to reach areas. Using one character or another will allow the player to access the new zones. The game is very fun because of the huge number of mini games included. Every character have its own little secrets and way of playing. On the downside, the game can be frustrating at some times because of the mini games difficulty and the amount of tasks. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Still worth playing today! I loved the Donkey Kong Country series but this took it and advanced it to a whole new level. I still enjoy playing Donkey Kong Country 2 and Donkey Kong 64 today. This is a great franchise that I hope can continue to put good games together.
  8. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Eh el mejor juego que he jugado, me encanta, este juego para es como un tesoro.. me enamora...........................................................................
  9. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    There is no game I know of in the last few years that match up to this masterpiece. The music is memorable and catchy, the characters varied, the collectibles in large number and a joy to collect (especially when you feel like a god when you know where everything is on familiar levels). The graphics were great for the time and really there needs to be more games like it - a horde of collectibles that you can take your time with and enjoy instead of rushing to get to the top of a leaderboard and not truly taking in the sensation. Expand
  10. May 28, 2011
    6
    This is a far cry from the Donkey Kong Country series for the SNES. The game is too much a collect-a-thon, a problem exacerbated by the fact that you have replay through each level with five different characters, which is a cheap way of lengthening the game and only serves to make a repetitive game even more repetitive. The sluggish controls are a further example of how much this game strayed from the series platforming roots. Expand
  11. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Donkey Kong 64 is literally the best game that I will ever play. Everything in this game is perfect. All of the collectables in this game will keep you busy for weeks and weeks. After every golden banana or blueprint you collect is rewarding in every way. This game makes you work hard to collect everything, which is something that modern games don't make you do. The music in this game is also some of the greatest in video-game history. It really amps up the gameplay experience to a great extent. This game could get repetitive to some, but to me, this game is perfect. The difficulty, though, can make it tough to collect everything and get a 101% in this game, but when you finally collect everything, the challenge was well worth the rewarding feeling you get. I couldn't possibly find a fault in this game if you paid me and I will always love this game. To me, this game is a pure masterpiece! Expand
  12. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I dont get why so many people are giving this game a low score and saying its too difficult i could beat this game when i was 10 and its one of the best games ever.
  13. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    I do agree trying to collect everything and be a completionist is VERY OVERWHELMING. I never knew where to start. BUT it is self awarding. The game is very nostalgic (at least for me) I remember watching my nephew play it when I was little and having a blast. A couple flaws, the camera is frustrating, and hard to get used to, plus, I felt the combat wasn't as good as it could be, things re-spawned 5 seconds after you kill them, so there's no point to killing enemies, really. Expand
  14. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best game ever
    I love Collecting everything and the music is awesome
  15. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    This game is the best game of all! I have an old Nintendo 64, my parents gave it to me as a Christmas gift when I was just 3 years old, and this game is the first video game I played in my life. Of course I could not beat this game when I was 3 years old, but recently I decided to try to beat this game and I finally did it. The Music in this game is the best game music ever. An interesting plot, some levels are quite hard, but all you need to beat this game is perseverance. Best game ever! Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Rewarding gameplay, extremely deep control mechanics, beautiful graphics and sheer gameplay variety are just some of the elements that make this game a triumph.
  2. Though some view this as just Banjo-Kazooie with some minor improvements, take it from me, it is far from that. Definitely a candidate that is well deserving of being this years "Game of the Year".
  3. There is so much to do in this enormous, indepth game that you could get sucked into its fantastically animated absorbing world and stay there for weeks. Donkey Kong 64 deseves the fanfare of being the most eagerly-awaited game since Zelda.