Kirby 64: The Crystal Shards Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dart past enemies, soar the skies and swim the depths of the ocean as Kirby takes on Dark Matter in an all-new adventure. Inhale, exhale and swallow your enemies, then copy and combine their abilities and use them as your own! Team up with familiar friends and foes - like Waddle Dee and King Dedede - as you travel through dreamy worlds in search of the lost Crystal Shards. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. With fantastic level designs, great enemies and power-ups, as well as the addition of some fun and entertaining multiplayer modes, Kirby is a must have.
  2. 90
    He may be a pink puffball, but he's also an enemy-eating, power-stealing, fire-breathing bad ass.
  3. Shouts of "Who’s that bloody pink blob that keeps nicking my fruit?" rang across the office long after we should’ve all been hard at work on other things and it’s safe to say that Kirby 64 is going to be a game that will get a lot of use in the coming months.
  4. It's about as difficult as fighting your way out of a ripped paper bag.
  5. As revoltingly adorable as he is, Kirby can be quite a badass, and--if you give it a chance--you'll see that his new N64 adventure is pretty hardcore as well.
  6. Simple, enemy-inhaling fun that's accessible but won't hold your attention for very long.
  7. It took forever for Kirby to make it to Nintendo 64 but truth be told, after this formulaic and instantly forgettable cartridge, nobody’s likely to start whining about how long it takes for the ol’ pink pudge to make his return. Pass on this one.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. SarahC.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    N64 is the only game system I own (besides GBA) and Kirby64 - The Crystal Shards is the best N64 game I have, so I give it a ten. (and people who object please don't think I'm stupid because I am only ten years old.) Collapse
  2. WIlliam
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    This game rocks.
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Haters aside, a side-scroller Kirby game is one of the best games available for the N64. As someone with limited experience with the Kirby franchise, I was really surprised by this game. The power-up system is pretty awesome and the game has decent graphics for a game on this platform. Over, this is an experience worth having. Expand
  4. KurtH.
    Aug 24, 2006
    9
    The graphics in this game may be a little childish, but it looks so clear and sharp that you just have to love them. The gameplay itself is simply AMAZING with the 7 combineable copy abilities. It doesn't last forever, though, which is a shame. Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Game: Kirby 64 The Crystal Shards Genre: Adventure/Platformer Developer: HAL/Nintendo System: Nintendo 64 (N64) Total Score: 78/100 Value Score: 7.8/10

    • Story: 8/10
    • Characters: 7/10
    • GamePlay: 7/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 9/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 4/10
    • Replay Value: 7/10
    • Player Value: 7/10

    Pros
    +Combo Abilities and Powers are a nice addition
    +Allies having their own portion in the level design is nice and unique
    +Crystal Shards add a new level of challenge and may increase length value
    +Many old elements from past Kirby titles used which is great for nostalgic fans
    +Keeps the same formula in design and UI as past Kirby games.
    +Level design is well done
    +Bosses have two life bar phases now which add more length to boss fights
    +Storyline now is more detailed through cutscenes and characters have more personality shown.

    Cons
    -The lack of some notable abilities is a bit saddening (such as the Hammer and Sword abilities)
    -Some of the crystal shards will make you go to another level to achieve a ability instead of being able to get the ability you need in their respected levels - thus causing confusion on which ability you need.
    -Enemy characters are bland compared to previous Kirby games.
    -Mini boss fights are joke fights with stationary enemies unlike past Kirby games.
    -Gameplay and pace feels sluggish compared to past Kirby games.
    -Delays on certain ability attacks will leave players frustrated as some can lead to one's death or unnecessary damage
    Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    To be honest, this is the only Kirby game I have ever played aside Kirby's Adventure. Kirby 64 can be difficult at times, but it is enjoyable for everyone. Score: 4/5. Expand
  7. Bob
    May 2, 2003
    0
    This game is possibly the worst thing I have ever played. Don't buy it ever. It is just a piece of crap. I still wonder why people pay so much for it on Ebay. I burned mine in a bonfire. NEVER EVER PLAY THIS GAME. its just dumb. Who wants a side-scroller on a 3-D system?? Expand

See all 20 User Reviews