Mario Kart 64 Nintendo 64
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 144

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Maybe not the best version of Mario Kart out there, but probably the most sheer fun. Possibly the best multiplayer avaliable in video games, great maps, free-for-all battle mode... who am I kidding, it IS the best Mario Kart out there.
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    7
    Mario Kart 64 was an absolute fantastic title, don't get me wrong! I merely found that by today's standards, it is on nostalgic stilts and it doesn't quite stand up very well when we have such gems as Mario Kart Wii and Mario Kart: Double Dash!!. It still has great tracks, good music, and is still a fun time, but now seems to have gotten dusty. Furthermore, many of the tracks (especially the good ones) are in current Mario Kart titles. Overall, this Mario Kart 64 is a short, fun little title, but is sadly, overrated when compared to its own evolution. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    A classic kart racing game that's essential to anyone's N64, if you still play it. Pros: It's shrouded in charm and originality; a small, but satisfying variety of unforgettable characters and weapons; multi-player mode is an endless amount of fun. Cons: The single-player mode is tiresome after awhile; it's not the best looking Mario game on the N64.
  4. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Wow this game is AMAZING! I don't have it on the original N64 console,but who needs it! I got the Virtual Console service by my side!Anyway this is the only racing game I play, no other. And it has my favorite plummer...MARIO! Soooo, in conclusion i love this game and it's a masterpiece to me.
  5. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    Loved this game it was amazing to play with friends. Easily spent metric ton of hours playing this at my house and over at friends houses. The only downside? only four players could play at a time!
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Mario Kart 64 was mi first game ever. When you play this game today it wil be stil fun. The gameplay is fantastic and the soundtrack is awesome. The only bad thing is that nothing is perfect.
  7. Dec 16, 2010
    8
    Sorry, I make a other review because I forgot to rate the other(damn!).You know...Good game, kinda hard.So that's MK64, racing!GOOD!In this case I will give it 8, because i doesn't suck, but compared to other MK games is not VERY VERY AMAZING!Note:Here MK is Mario Kart, not Mortal Kombat!LOL
  8. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Out of all the Mario Kart games , in top of my list comes Mario Kart 64 definitely , the major improvement comes in the gameplay and graphics. Goofy, fun addicting and bizarre.
  9. Mar 4, 2013
    7
    In Single player i did not like that now matter how fast or how slow you are, there is still someone near yourself. To it the SP gets boring pretty fast. The MP is fun but there are better fun racing games on the N64
  10. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    This game is **** awesome. **** **** I am in 2012 now and still play this game a lot! **** awesome game, all of my friends love to play it in multi-player when they come over my house for a all night game session!
  11. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    Mario Kart 64 was an amazing racing game for its time. It still has 8 playable characters like the SNES mario kart, but the graphics and gameplay are improved.
  12. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    Game: Mario Kart 64 Genre: Racing Developer: Nintendo System: Nintendo DS (NDS) Total Score: 94/100 Value Score: 9.4/10 • Story: */10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 8/10 • Graphics: 8/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 8/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Great gameplay mechanics compared to Super Mario Kart +A decent roster of characters
    +Great new additions to the item arsenal
    +Stages are well made and a lot longer
    +Stages have more depth to them with multiple pathways
    +Multiplayer modes enhanced

    Cons
    -AI racers are overpowered with the thanks to instant recovery time
    -AI can be really aggressive at times more than they should be
    -Character modes look like they were paper cut out models (highly pixilated too)
    Expand
  13. May 29, 2012
    9
    True classic, the first game in its genre. Just take your kart, catch some power-ups and destroy your enemies. The one player mode was great and long, but this game shines at multi player. You can spend all night playing with your friends (and laughing to tears).
  14. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    One the one hand a very fun and exciting racing game, that doesnt take things too serious. Funny, creative and mystery racing tracks. On the other hand a pretty bad AI in single game mode, where skill sometimes doesnt help you too much, AI racers catching and speeding up too easily, even after playing them out.
  15. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    This game has held up well, in my opinion, and is one of the very few N64 games I've continued to play years and years later. While it has it's flaws (e.g. no bots in 3/4 player mode, no additional single player content), it is a solid game that continues to be fun long after you've beat it. Mario Kart 64 is really a multiplayer game: play it with some friends and you'll have hours and hours of fun, especially in battle mode! Expand
  16. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Mario Kart 64 is THE definitive kart racing game. Power-ups are a great addition to a racing game and this game paved the way for games over a decade after it's release. If you even call yourself a gamer, this should be somewhere in your collection.
  17. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    When this game came out I firmly believe it was better than the SNES version, even though that was great too, and the 64 version still holds water to this day. This game was literally one of the funnest multiplayer games ever, whether you were racing or battling each other. This game is just a classic plain and simple and that is why the predecessors to this game took so many ideas from it. Another great game linked to childhood memories! Expand
  18. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    One of the best n64 games of all time without a doubt and it never gets old sometimes u cant beat the classics. The game will always be a good game for sure
  19. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    This game is still pretty good after all these years in spite of the worst rubber banding AI in Mario Kart (it's worse than Wii), a somewhat pointless single player mode (no unlockable characters?), and the controls being a bit slippery. However, the strong points are the awesome multiplayer action, impressive sound, and the graphics. While this title has not aged as well as other Mario Kart games (or even other N64 racing games for that matter), it is still great to pick up and play with your friends, just not by yourself. One last thing though: I actually thought the sense of speed was very nice not only for a Mario Kart game, but for a racing game in general. Expand
  20. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    Back in the day, this game was awesome. However, playing it today, I can see how poorly it's aged. The controls feel slippery, the courses aren't as cool, and it just doesn't have the same level of polish as later games. It's a good game, it just isn't as great as it used to be.
  21. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    BEST COURSES EVER! A very fun game, but the items leave a little to be desired. I recommend it to people who don't normally enjoy racing games, but like super mario
  22. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    The items are very unbalanced and some items like mushrooms or red shells don't work. Although I have to give it credit for having some of the most unique tracks in Mario Kart history.
  23. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    The best Mario Kart of all time! HANDS DOWN!

    Best of all: No blue shells being used by the computer!

    This is a great classic game in the Mario Kart franchise and I think the very best in the series.
  24. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    Mario and his friends challenge each other in a whacky racing competition on go-karts.

    In this lovable classic the game introduces you to a variety of colorful characters from the Mario franchise and a variety of unique maps. The controls are smooth even with the analog control design, and the game is overall fast and fun during its time. The only major issue this game has is the
    balancing, and you can easily cheat through some tracks. But overall it's still a joyful and entertaining experience.

    4.8/5
    Expand
  25. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    Mario Kart 64 is a great game to play with your friends. It brings together some good characters from few franchises. Though this game can be very fun, if you play it alone, it can be frustrating. The Rubber-Banding in this game is horrendous. You can throw everything in the game at the CPU racers, and, without fail, at least 2 of the CPUs will be right there by your side. Playing with your friends is definitely the way to go. With that said, there character selection is not bad, with 8 characters to choose from. The Track list is very good, 4 cups with 4 tracks to each cup. You can also unlock Mirrored versions of each track too, for an added challenge. The multiplayer challenge maps are fun too, but can get stale after playing them for a while. Expand
  26. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Mario kart 64 single player is decent but the multiplayer is brilliant and that's where you'll spend most of your time in .theres time trial where you race the clock And balloon battle which you fight till the end Buy it now
  27. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    Great game and all, but just not as much depth as I would hope. I mean this game is all about the multiplayer, of which is done really well, but is lacking in the single player department. There should be an adventure mode or something of the sort.
  28. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    A great kart racing game. I always remembered this as my favourite. It was my first Mario Kart game, and playing it today definately brings back memories. However, what leaves this at 9 rather than 10 is that a few weeks ago replaying the game, I came across a glitch in Rainbow Road, and the music stopped. The whole race then felt lonely. Seriously, if you can, just find a version without music but with the sound effects, its just lonely. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. It's the most beautiful thing that I've ever seen! An incredible game for racing and Mario fans that is the best of both catagories (that's right, better than Mario 64)!
  2. And on the eighth day, God created Mario Kart. He saw it, and it was good. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  3. Although it doesn't break any new grounds in originality (like Mario 64), Mario Kart 64 is a great addition to the N64 line-up. The solid graphics, good sound, and addictive gameplay--coupled with features like being able to race yourself (from a former race) in a special ghost mode--make you want to play it forever.