Mario Kart 64 Nintendo 64

Mario Kart 64 Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three... Two... One... GO! The signal light changes and you drop the pedal to the metal. Take on up to three friends in the split-screen VS games, or race solo in the Mario GP. Tell your friends to bring it on in the highly competitive Battle mode. Advanced features allow you to race withThree... Two... One... GO! The signal light changes and you drop the pedal to the metal. Take on up to three friends in the split-screen VS games, or race solo in the Mario GP. Tell your friends to bring it on in the highly competitive Battle mode. Advanced features allow you to race with your "Ghost". The driving data from your best run appears as a transparent character on the screen. No longer must you simply race against the clock - you can actually race against yourself! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    If you’ve experienced Super Mario Kart on the SNES, this game will feel like a grand homecoming. New players of all skill levels will instantly pick up on the fun.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    93
    And on the eighth day, God created Mario Kart. He saw it, and it was good. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  3. Although it doesn't break any new grounds in originality (like Mario 64), Mario Kart 64 is a great addition to the N64 line-up. The solid graphics, good sound, and addictive gameplay--coupled with features like being able to race yourself (from a former race) in a special ghost mode--make you want to play it forever.
  4. A weak one player game, Mario Kart 64 excels in the multiplayer arena, and that alone is worth the cost of admission. Few titles can come close to this one in terms of party games.
  5. 81
    Single-player mode gets old pretty fast, but the game's multiplayer mode is forever brilliant.
  6. It's the most beautiful thing that I've ever seen! An incredible game for racing and Mario fans that is the best of both catagories (that's right, better than Mario 64)!
  7. I'm off to Mario Kart on my SNES to reminisce about the good old days, and dream of what this cartridge could have been.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Maybe not the best version of Mario Kart out there, but probably the most sheer fun. Possibly the best multiplayer avaliable in video games,Maybe not the best version of Mario Kart out there, but probably the most sheer fun. Possibly the best multiplayer avaliable in video games, great maps, free-for-all battle mode... who am I kidding, it IS the best Mario Kart out there. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Mario Kart 64 is THE definitive kart racing game. Power-ups are a great addition to a racing game and this game paved the way for games over aMario Kart 64 is THE definitive kart racing game. Power-ups are a great addition to a racing game and this game paved the way for games over a decade after it's release. If you even call yourself a gamer, this should be somewhere in your collection. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2016
    10
    The best overall racing game EVER made. Period. I can't help but remember the joy I felt everytime I played this game with family and friends,The best overall racing game EVER made. Period. I can't help but remember the joy I felt everytime I played this game with family and friends, the level of joy was just over 9000. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    Loved this game it was amazing to play with friends. Easily spent metric ton of hours playing this at my house and over at friends houses. TheLoved this game it was amazing to play with friends. Easily spent metric ton of hours playing this at my house and over at friends houses. The only downside? only four players could play at a time! Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    When this game came out I firmly believe it was better than the SNES version, even though that was great too, and the 64 version still holdsWhen this game came out I firmly believe it was better than the SNES version, even though that was great too, and the 64 version still holds water to this day. This game was literally one of the funnest multiplayer games ever, whether you were racing or battling each other. This game is just a classic plain and simple and that is why the predecessors to this game took so many ideas from it. Another great game linked to childhood memories! Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    Mario Kart 64 is a classic racing game, however I don't get how so many people say this is their favorite game in the franchise. I mean it'sMario Kart 64 is a classic racing game, however I don't get how so many people say this is their favorite game in the franchise. I mean it's fun and enjoyable, but I find that I have a lot more fun with some of the later titles due to them having more features and stuff (Please don't hate me for saying that).

    Pros:
    -Nice fun and traditional Mario Kart gameplay.
    -Good tracks and items.
    -Good character line up.
    -Excellent Multiplayer.
    -Good Nostalgia.
    -Nice cheerful music.

    Cons:
    -Time Trials are too sensitive and will not save the ghosts just by getting hit by something simple or even from just pausing!!
    -Features felt lacking after a while.
    -CPU AI was not generated well and they can even be frustrating on 50cc.
    -Some of the menus and screens look almost tech-demo-ish.

    Despite it not being my favorite, if you want just a nice and not overly complex racing game, then Mario Kart 64 is a good one for sure.
    Expand
  7. KramerC.
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    Purelly awsome, packed with fun, adventure, ocassional obastacles, racing, battle, anthing else? No, thats all there is really, nothing Purelly awsome, packed with fun, adventure, ocassional obastacles, racing, battle, anthing else? No, thats all there is really, nothing special. A letdwon. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1997
#3 Most Shared N64 Game of 1997