Mario Party 3 Nintendo 64

Mario Party 3 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario and friends are throwing a party and you're invited. It's their biggest bash yet, with seventy totally new Mini-Games and five brand new adventure boards. You'll be the life of the party as you punch, pound and stampede right over your opponents in a multiplayer melee or goMario and friends are throwing a party and you're invited. It's their biggest bash yet, with seventy totally new Mini-Games and five brand new adventure boards. You'll be the life of the party as you punch, pound and stampede right over your opponents in a multiplayer melee or go head-to-head in the new two-player duel mode. You can even unlock new characters in the one-player challenge. With so much fun and excitement, this is a bash you'll just have to crash! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    Don’t get rid of your N64 yet—Mario Party is one of the last and best games you can play on the system with up to three buddies.
  2. Da Gameboyz
    89
    Colorful environments and entertaining animations complete with Nintendo's patented stable of sounds ensure repeat enjoyment and lasting value.
  3. MP3 retains all of the wonderfully simplistic features that made its predecessors easy to pick up and tough to put down, while adding a ton of new mini-games to the mix.
  4. There isn’t a single satisfying mode you can play Mario Party 3 in, and the sad thing is, all of this boredom could have been solved with one very, very simple option; let the player set the level of game animations they desire.
  5. After spending solo time with the game, I've decided that Mario Party 3 is like that last guest who refuses to accept that the party is over.
  6. 64
    I made the fatal mistake of trying to give the single-player story mode a chance. It's a decent way to practice, but it's INSANE as to how much watching you do.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Classic game. I remember playing this as a kid this is the best series of any game in the world i would trade my Xbox 360 for a N64 & everyClassic game. I remember playing this as a kid this is the best series of any game in the world i would trade my Xbox 360 for a N64 & every mario game for it if you hate this game you had a horrible childhood Expand
  2. Steven
    Feb 5, 2002
    10
    This game is phat! I know it sounds crazy, but I'm so addicted to this game!!!!
  3. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    this game is a master piece . The History is very cool and amazing,the characters is a best cast Mario Party in the history . Is a debut thethis game is a master piece . The History is very cool and amazing,the characters is a best cast Mario Party in the history . Is a debut the Waluigi and the Daisy .It´s Incredible Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2016
    9
    2000-2001 were the years when Mario Party games were at their peak. Mario Party 3 is a worthy sequel to Mario Party 2, with plenty of new2000-2001 were the years when Mario Party games were at their peak. Mario Party 3 is a worthy sequel to Mario Party 2, with plenty of new elements to keep the series fresh. Aside from the all-new mini games and maps, there are two new playable characters: Waluigi and Daisy. The graphics are slightly improved from the last game as well. Perhaps the biggest addition to this game is the story mode. You play through a series of games and duels against other opponents. The mini games are really fun and imaginative. This is the very best Mario Party game, and it is worth a try if you haven't played an N64-era Mario Party game. Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    As a fan of the series is hard to decide which Mario Party is my favorite, but Mario Party 3 may very well be it. The reason? It perfects theAs a fan of the series is hard to decide which Mario Party is my favorite, but Mario Party 3 may very well be it. The reason? It perfects the formula that 1 and 2 had established and makes for the most competitive, strategic and funniest party game around. I absolutely adore playing this game with friends when the chance finally comes around. Theres simply no better game in my mind to play with people(known or not), than Mario Party, and this 3rd installment solidifies on the fundamentals the series was build upon squishing every bit of the unique pleasure the series is known to provide. Armistices, betrayal, revenge, all is here and pushed to maximum heights. This is one N64 game I have not been able to let go, for its memorable boards, minigames, music, and overall joy when played with 3 other people! One of my favorite multiplayer games for sure! Expand
  6. TrevorT.
    Feb 18, 2002
    8
    I really would have gavin it an 8.5. I got addicted but only for 40 minutes. Battle mode is the best! But I like "Mario Party 2" better.
  7. MichelleP.
    Feb 21, 2003
    0
    After playing this game, I felt... well, cheated, annoyed and 100% ticked off. I was hoping for an updated version that was better than the After playing this game, I felt... well, cheated, annoyed and 100% ticked off. I was hoping for an updated version that was better than the first two. Well, thank god I didn't BUY this game. The first one was fun, and had excellent music, the second one was fun, had excellent music, and was adventurous. The third one was none of these. What a disgrace to nintendo. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed N64 Game of 2001
#3 Most Shared N64 Game of 2001