• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 31, 1998
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2015
    9
    One of my top 10 N64 games of all time is right here!

    The soundtrack, the whacky Japanese humor, the beautifully solid gameplay filled with plentiful mini-games and hidden collectables, the ability to man your own Robot who is also a famous Hollywood star, along with his kick-butt opening theme. This game might not translate well to some, seeing as how it is extremely Japanese-y with
    One of my top 10 N64 games of all time is right here!

    The soundtrack, the whacky Japanese humor, the beautifully solid gameplay filled with plentiful mini-games and hidden collectables, the ability to man your own Robot who is also a famous Hollywood star, along with his kick-butt opening theme. This game might not translate well to some, seeing as how it is extremely Japanese-y with it's references it makes but it's the odd charm to all of this that makes the game so much more memorable and entertaining. You also aren't limited to 1 character either, there are 4 in total, with two being playable from the get go, who are Goemon and Ebisumaru, both with unique attacks, abilities, and... in Ebisumaru's case "quirks",

    With all the fun I've had ever since I was about 9-10 years old with this game, I always remember the music above all else. It's soundtrack is just wonderful. I cannot recommend this game enough.
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2014
    7
    This is my go-to game for nostalgic pleasure. Though the platforming-heavy sections are quite average, the Zelda-like dungeons are hugely enjoyable. The impressive boss battles, quirky presentation and fantastic music also help to make this a really fun experience.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    For a game that was launched in 1998, along with classics such as Metal Gear Solid and Ocarina of Time, Mystical Ninja stood (and still does) by its own merits. This is a very underrated game, as has been stated by other users. The soundtrack is just amazing, one of the best on the N64. Minor problems such as camera angles and bad framerate can be annoying sometimes, but they sure don'tFor a game that was launched in 1998, along with classics such as Metal Gear Solid and Ocarina of Time, Mystical Ninja stood (and still does) by its own merits. This is a very underrated game, as has been stated by other users. The soundtrack is just amazing, one of the best on the N64. Minor problems such as camera angles and bad framerate can be annoying sometimes, but they sure don't take away from the immersive experience Mystical Ninja delivers. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    i dont undrstand bad reviews i actually liked this game its pretty weird but is a japanese style rpg adventure plataformer and its fun which is the most important thing i loved goemon turning into super sayan and giant robot battle
  5. LemonDrank
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    One of the most original quirky and whimsical games I've ever played. The dialogue alone is enough to play this game the entire way through. Only negative is the camera is cobis satisfactory as certain points
  6. GarethD
    Nov 18, 2009
    8
    Absorutely amazing; incredibly Japanese, and great fun for those of us who can stomach some of the stuff that didn't translate well over to the states.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    This is one of the most original games out there, but it is not quite perfect. The gameplay is very simple, there are plenty of WTF moments that will keep you laughing, the story is just as odd... I could go on for ages. However, there is one downside: It's a bit too easy (see also: Bioshock). Luckily, it's still fun and it is necessary to try it at least one. In fact, if This is one of the most original games out there, but it is not quite perfect. The gameplay is very simple, there are plenty of WTF moments that will keep you laughing, the story is just as odd... I could go on for ages. However, there is one downside: It's a bit too easy (see also: Bioshock). Luckily, it's still fun and it is necessary to try it at least one. In fact, if somebody was selling this game with an N64 for 90 dollars, I'd seriously consider buying it. Expand
  8. EricT.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    This is the best game on the 64, it is like a Japaneses Zelda with great music and you really get into it. The people who don't like it must be on drugs.
  9. AnthonyB.
    Aug 24, 2007
    7
    This game is perfect.The things that ruin it are the extremely slow frame-rate and the camera problems.
  10. AndrewK.
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    Great game, incredible scenario, music and characters.
  11. Arnout
    Aug 21, 2006
    6
    Not a bad game I guess, but I found it rather boring. The level design is empty...wel in the beginning of the game for sure, the ugly music, graphics - there wasn't anything I liked in the beginning of the game while I didn't get used and wasn't intrigued by the world I visited And finally I didn't have the patience to talk to the folks in town. so I got stuck very Not a bad game I guess, but I found it rather boring. The level design is empty...wel in the beginning of the game for sure, the ugly music, graphics - there wasn't anything I liked in the beginning of the game while I didn't get used and wasn't intrigued by the world I visited And finally I didn't have the patience to talk to the folks in town. so I got stuck very soon, not knowing what to do next, but I didn't care: a reason enough to stop playing. Expand
  12. RobertA.
    Jul 15, 2004
    7
    Yes. this was a fun one. i got stuck in the middle of the game though. :( never attempted to finish it.
  13. RobertC.
    Feb 22, 2004
    10
    Probably the most underrated game in video game history. This is game had action, RPG-elements, strange humor, and an expansive level format that made it truly seem like it's own living, breathing world. I would recommened Goemon to ANYONE.
  14. JasonS.
    Sep 9, 2003
    8
    It was pretty good...not too great but it has very good moments i still wanna try the 2nd one.
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. In conclusion, this is a pretty good game, but I doubt I'll add it to my library since it isn't that difficult and doesn't have any lasting value.
  2. An enjoyable, fun-filled game which should keep you puzzling for a long time to come.
  3. Mystical Ninja had a nation of young adults spiking and dying their hair. Or not. [Jan 2004, p.189]